Skyynett
Member Since 2022
5/6 - https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-6-nellie-amps-86-1-100-2-88-3-91-4-76.262961/#post-2946645
Hi all! have a question about TR. On the sticky it mentions:
I guess I'm wondering per the sticky rules, are you trying to increase until you earn a reduction? Or are you trying to do as Tilly's protocol says and keep them in the normal range as much as possible?
Just trying to decide what the next best move is for Nellie. At 3 units, her appetite is for sure returning back to pre-diabetes days (which at times can be unnerving), she isn't showing any excessive thirst or peeing anymore, and she is holding her ideal weight. Her pre-shot numbers are still mostly blues however her nadir's are typically in the high 70's and 80's. Just wondering if she needs an increase to get her to be mostly under 100 or keep plugging along at this dose and see if she starts seeing even more greens. To be honest I would prefer the latter given that she is now at her normal/pre diabetic appetite which is more grazing/not as predictable and I worry with an increase I'd need her to keep reliably eating from getting too low, but ultimately just want to do what is best for her. Thank you for any and all advice!
Hi all! have a question about TR. On the sticky it mentions:
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
I guess I'm wondering per the sticky rules, are you trying to increase until you earn a reduction? Or are you trying to do as Tilly's protocol says and keep them in the normal range as much as possible?
Just trying to decide what the next best move is for Nellie. At 3 units, her appetite is for sure returning back to pre-diabetes days (which at times can be unnerving), she isn't showing any excessive thirst or peeing anymore, and she is holding her ideal weight. Her pre-shot numbers are still mostly blues however her nadir's are typically in the high 70's and 80's. Just wondering if she needs an increase to get her to be mostly under 100 or keep plugging along at this dose and see if she starts seeing even more greens. To be honest I would prefer the latter given that she is now at her normal/pre diabetic appetite which is more grazing/not as predictable and I worry with an increase I'd need her to keep reliably eating from getting too low, but ultimately just want to do what is best for her. Thank you for any and all advice!