5/8 Annie PMPS 324, +2-290

Status
Not open for further replies.

RockStar033

Member Since 2012
Still high preshot numbers... i don't get it!

She threw up at 9am this morning, but it was just a drop of liquid. unlike yesterday. Gave her the 1.25mg prednisolone. And once again, vet has not returned my calls.
what gives? i've called and talked to the reception, they keep saying he'll call back but it's been 6 days now since i first asked him if Annie could come off the prednisolone.

here's Annie's condo from yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70465
 
Re: 5/8 Annie AMPS 356

Morning Star

I'm sorry to hear Annie had a little pukus again today but glad it was only a little. Hmmm...maybe it's time to find a new vet :?: :roll:

It looks to me like Annie decided to start a bounce yesterday after her tippy toe into blue. She was actually very flat last night. Her +11 and AMPS are almost the same number. But also, if you look at 20% of 356, you'll fine that 295 also lies within that variance....that's why I say she has been pretty flat.

Okay Miss Annie...time to come down off that pink floor. Can you let your mamabean do a +2 for us today? We love to see +2 numbers!

Have a great day, Star.
 
Re: 5/8 Annie AMPS 356

she's been on the 1.25u for 8 cull cycles, she is in her 9th now. Does she deserve a small increase yet?
 
Re: 5/8 Annie AMPS 356

oops! just saw your post.

ok... i thought it might be a bounce, but wasn't certain. so another 6 cycles?
 
Re: 5/8 Annie AMPS 356

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me .. I'm sorry to hear your vet has not called you back yet .. unless this vet is phenomenal when you do see/talk to him, I'd say it's time for a new vet as well .. I'm also sorry to hear annie is not feeling great .. hope others stop by with more dosing advice for you .. hang in there, it does get better!
 
Re: 5/8 Annie AMPS 356

Thanks, everytime we have went to see him he as been amazing! he's a very recommended vet in my area. But i don't understand why he hasn't contacted me back in this much time.... i know vets are busy, but he hasn't had 10 minutes to spare in 6 days? i wonder if i've scared him from all my knowledge, haha. :-D he was shocked the first time we went in, that we knew as much as we did.
 
Re: 5/8 Annie AMPS 356

Not when she's bouncing. It can take up to 6 cycles to clear a bounce. Once she clears the bounce, then we should see where she is and it might be that she will need an increase at that time. The other issue here is that as you decrease her pred, her numbers might come down so we need to be careful about increases in the dose although it takes time to slowly get them off the pred and she "might" need more insulin in the interim but we don't want her to get too high on dose, finish the pred, and have her come crashing down on you. Baby steps....

When do you know the bounce is clearing? When she comes down into lower numbers....even a lower yellow number could indicate the bounce is clearing. An example of a day when she was clearing a bounce is the a.m. cycle of 5/4. That's what we are looking for before you increase the dose. That's just an example so you can see what it looks like but we still need to think about the pred when we are deciding on an increase.
 
Re: 5/8 Annie AMPS 356, +2-335

+2 335

So by seeing this number can I guess that she will probably stay high most of the day?
 
Re: 5/8 Annie AMPS 356, +2-335

6 days and the vet has STILL not called you back? The vet NEEDS to return your calls when you have questions about the medications they prescribed. If they are unavailable, then they should have someone else (a tech or different vet) call you back within 24hrs of your first phone call. I seriously find this unacceptable. Both you and Annie deserve better, especially for all the money you pay them.

I would recommend looking for another vet, setting an appt, and calling to tell the old vet you will be in to pick up copies of all Annie's records in 24-48hr.

So sorry to hear this is happening. I would not reduce the steroid anymore until you are able to speak to a vet. You may have to do e/o day for a while, then every few days, etc.
 
Re: 5/8 Annie AMPS 356, +2-335

I know! I'm so angry. But I can't afford a new vet right now starter checkups etc. I'm flat broke.
 
Re: 5/8 Annie AMPS 356, +2-335

How about calling and telling them you suspect Annie is having an adverse reaction to the prednisolone, and you do not know what to do. Tell them you need to speak to A VET asap.

This would not be a lie, since one adverse reaction of prednisolone in cats is increased BG's. And that, she is likely having. Since she is already diabetic, you want them to know how concerned you are about it making her diabetes worse.

ETA: You could also leave a message that you are thinking about stopping the pred cold turkey (even though you are not). That might raise a flag to call you, since they know it could be unsafe to do so.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top