5/7 Rupert PMPS 403,+2 376,+3.5 291,+4.5 340 AM dose??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
No clue what to say at this point. Truly sux. He's lethargic. No ketones, but his coat looking 'dusty' again. I'm told to hold the dosecrease thru the bounce... not sure really what to thik at this point. His trend chart shows a very steady and pretty rapid increase in BG over time, it used to show a nice slow decline or at the very least a flat line. now we just continual increases. Will possibly start new vial tonight even though current one should be good for another week, and I'm sure it's fine given that he'll dip now and then when he's on it. Feel uncomfortable leaving him in these high numbers so long and wondering if I should be being more aggressive with this.


yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70162

numbers:
AMPS 565.2
+2 478.8
+6 486
PMPS 478.8
+2 405
+4 406.8
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert AMPS 439, +2 505

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me .. I sure hope rupert decides to come down for you, and stay down .. I know it's discouraging and frustrating .. and I'm sure you've been told this 1000 times over now, but hang in there .. things WILL get better! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert AMPS 439, +2 505

Serryn suggested a liver transplant for Zener, thinking the threat may do the trick. :smile: I wish I had some answers for your. How is DH's trip?
Liz
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert AMPS 439, +2 505

i understand why you're discouraged. this is a very hard part. the thing is there aren't really many choices, as lousy as it seems. he got to 45 on sk1.75 a couple of weeks ago and you've got him at 1.75 now. it's not like it would be a good idea to increase even if we disregarded the whole "don't increase on a bounce" plan.

the thing i would concentrate on is trying to carb him when you see a good number at preshot to prevent too fast of a drop and the ensuing bounce - feeding the curve. i'd put notes in your comments section on what you are doing so that you can look and see what works/doesn't work over time.

just keep on plugging. as i've heard many times that jojo used to say - be the tank. a tank always gets where it's going.
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert AMPS 439, +2 505

he seems to give me no warnings of his dives though, or i would carb load him at PS time.. sometimes he'll be in the 400's and dip massively within an hour, other times he'll give me a 400+ number and then stay there all day. challenging boy.

sigh. I do okay with this when he looks good, but he's beginning to look a little haggard (as I think *I* am too!)... and I hate to think that he feels awful and I can't do anything. sigh. Still, given his 'sort of' pattern, if he follows it, we'll get reds for most of today and possibly tonight or tomorrow we'll see action for about three hours and then another massive rocket up again. Just can't seem to figure out how to catch him. really hoping that these bounces give up in the end, but how long do i wait before considering switching insulin. are there ANY success stories out there with cats that bounced as much as this? I keep wondering if i'm doing something wrong, the insulin is bad, that I'm screwing up the shot, that I'm feeding the wrong thing, blah blah blah. sigh.

patience.. I WANT IT NOW! I think Rupert would like a tank....

funny-pictures-cat-gives-dog-war.jpg
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert AMPS 439, +2 505

Aww...Pip! I share your feeling when kitties giving us those numbers. If Rupert had a body checked which showed nothing wrong, all the criteria is there to treat the DM, you have to accept the pattern. It is frustrating because it feels so out of control to help him. But I think we need to dance to the rhythm. Hugs!
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert AMPS 439, +2 505

So sorry Pip! This is the very hardest part of all of it. We've all been there and understand your frustrations. ((((Hugs))))
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert AMPS 439, +2 505

laurie/mr tinkles got him off of insulin at 21 months, and i think she said he was a bounce/diver.

i think devon has said the mocha was one was well - he took 20 months. both of those were on lantus.

the basic tactic is keep "showing them the greens" to get them to stop reacting to it.

the guideline i've heard to really give an insulin a try is give it one year before switching. i'm sure it feels like you've been doing this forever, but it's been less than 3 months. there isn't a magic bullet - cats are simply hard to regulate - and it seems to me (very unscientific, but just what i'm observing) that the sooner cats get diagnosed, on lantus and back into green numbers the less bouncy they are. just my perception, but the cats who've been in higher numbers for longer before getting with the program often seem extra bouncy. i may be wrong on that, and it could just be a difference in cats, but that's how it seems to me.

did you see jaclyn/jetta switching a couple of weeks ago - jetta is bouncy on lantus and still bouncy on lev. ann/tess - same thing. switching to lev isn't an automatic "now my cat won't be bouncy anymore." marje has gotten gracie flattened out by using food carbs to manipulate her cycle. she's done much better on lev, but i don't think it's only the switch, it's because of the whole package deal.

if i were you, i think i'd study rupert's ss and try to predict when you think the bounce might be about to end, then i'd start carbing, even if it was with a high number. if we could just head off that dive that rupert does when the bounce "collapses" it might really improve things.
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert AMPS 439, +2 505+6 439 PMPS 403

thanx Julie for the words of encouragement. it's actually been just over 4 months so I guess not that long, just hard when we had some brief moments of success.. still. fingers crossed. I bet Rupert will do something crazy tomorrow night, when the new horsie arrives and I want to be outside playing! Hubby currently overnighting in Junction City, Oregon - once he gets there. had TWO Tires blow out on the horses trailer in Grants Pass, he's fine, horse is perfectly fine (apparently an absolute rock star, trailers really well, doesn't bat an eyelid at anything).... got four new tires in Grants Pass ($$$?! still, we obviously needed them, even though Stu went over the trailer from stem to stern before he left and checked everything!)....so got set back about and hour and a half. Hoping the border isn't too busy tomorrow and he doesn't get stuck with a stupid border crossing guy to slow things down. Nothing more annoying that getting held up at customs an extra five minutes and then having to wait two hours for the ferry you JUST missed!
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert AMPS 439, +2 505+6 439 PMPS 403

Pip, you had Rupert at 2.5 units and now he is 1.75 so he is definitely improving. You are doing a great job with Mr. Bouncer/Diver. I'm still climbing the mountain, trying to find the right dose for Neko. Each cat does their own thing in their own time. Julie has great advice about studying the spreadsheets. I think I've got a reasonable idea how long Neko will take to clear the mega bounce she is currently experiencing.

Good news that the horse is so calm about traveling and will be home soon. Rupert seems to be coming down slowly, so maybe he'll get his action over tomorrow during the day for you.
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert AMPS 439, +2 505+6 439 PMPS 403

Pip, I would never ever presume to give any kind of dosing advice!!!........ but since you mention the insulin, and you don't think it's toast, because Rupert had good numbers recently on it, I feel the need to tell you that I went through the very same thoughts with Checkers last week.
I was suspicious of the last vial, but because he had some action on it, I thought it must be okay. Well, it wasn't.
Checkers dropped imm. on the new stuff.
All that doesn' t really matter I guess, since you said you used the new one tonight, right?

I really really hope that was the answer. It's so disheartening to see these high numbers; oh how I know.

I'm crossing all fingers and toes for better numbers for Rupie tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert AMPS 439, +2 505+6 439 PMPS 403

I stuck with the old vial for tonights shot.. BUT.. if nothing tonight.. then tomorrow we'll switch! thanx for the info!!!
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert AMPS 439, +2 505+6 439 PMPS 403,+2 376

Rupert. how about something completely different, a nice, slow slide to yellow? Wow, two blowouts? I'm glad everyone is ok. Junction City isn't very big. Where does one stay overnight with a horse anyway?
Liz
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert PMPS 403,+2 376,+3.5 291

yay Anne and Zener, Rupert heard you and did a not bad slide (for him) into yellow. lets hope he just is satisfied with a bit of a surf there for a while.

Junction City is just outsideEugene, We have a friend, Doug Stewart, arabian horse trainer there, has a big barn and kindly offered to overnight us. Stu just called. He got in at 9pm, horse all settled and fine and happy. Stu heading out to find something to eat! he's pretty beat!!! Says Doug is wonderful (internet friend and someone we know vaguely in passing from horse shows but never met in person!) and Doug actually has a nice buckskin horse there... might even be for sale... I'm hoping that Stu being around all of this stuff again will 'reboot' him. As it is, he sounds totally impressed with Rojo (new horse) and says he's incredibly calm and well behaved. I think they might be 'bonding' on this adventure. Although, ahem, of course this horse for me, and not for Stu. ahem. shh!!!
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert PMPS 403,+2 376,+3.5 291

I have to say that it did occur to me that Stu and the horse might become buddies. That would be too bad if you lost your horse, Pip, before you ever got to meet him. :-D very cool to have a place to stay with Doug. I imagine Stu is incredibly wiped out. What a stressful day! Good luck with the rest of the trip and crossing the border. I was in Vancouver for fall 2010 and saw what a hassle that is.

If that were Zener, we would probably give him some extra carbs to try to slow down that drop. We give him zobaline in a pill pocket every day and we try to use it when he needs a little braking. Just a suggestion.
Liz
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert PMPS 403,+2 376,+3.5 291

am feeding him Friskies pate (seafood supreme) tsp mixed with his Cowboy Cookout. He's had a snack each hour this evening. hoping he'll use it wisely.

re the horse becoming Stu's before I even see him..... shhhhh..... that was my cunning plan all along. or at the very least that we'll share. It's the plan to get him back into the 'groove' again. Seems like this little horse has a great personality. It's not the type of horse that Stu would want.. but it might just be the type of horse he needs. And if he doesn't want to get too attached, or work too much with him, it's fine because I can work with him no problem. So it's a win win situation all around. fingers crossed it works out and new horse fits in with the gang!

was planning to head to bed but I think I"ll try to stay up one more hour and get another test on Rupert to see where he's heading for 'statistical' purposes!
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert PMPS 403,+2 376,+3.5 291

Hi Pip, I've been having a hard time with my Jinx too and I just wanted you to know that you and Rupert are in my thoughts. I keep thinking I'm doing something wrong too, but the better part of me knows I'm not and I'm doing everything I can for him. I know you are too. I really believe it will get better for both of our little friends here really soon!
 
Re: 5/7 Rupert PMPS 403,+2 376,+3.5 291,+4.5 340

well, the yellow was short lived but at least it happened. sigh.

so... now. do I consider that a bounce cleared and go for dosecrease tomorrow?? or stick with the 1.75 in the am??? advice appreciated. Am thinking of starting new vial tomorrow anyway. I"m heading to bed. seriously tired tonight, at least I don't have to stay up all night. Hopefully he'll give me a nicer colour tomorrow morning. Thanx everyone. Thoughts re dosecrease appreciated? having a hard time figure out when a bounce clears or not?!!!
 
Pip

He did come down about 100 mg/dl but I think he's still bouncing....possibly from the greens on 5/5 pm cycle. This would only be his fourth bounce cycle tonight. I would hold his dose especially if you want to start a new vial. I like
to make changes one at a time so you know what the result is attributable to. But I do think he's still bouncing so I would not increase yet.

Hang in there!!! I know the high numbers are difficult to take but he'll find a good dose. Hugs and get some rest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top