5/7 Robbie almost amps and 219

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Member Since 2010
OK here we are basically at amps (although I'm trying to move that forward in 15 minute increments if possible so I don't have to wake up at 5:30am) and Robbie is 219, acting very normal and happy watching birds - had a snack at 3am. NO idea what to shoot - I'm going to wait till 6am and test again. If anyone is awake feel free to comment - he has been getting 5.5 as long as he's over 300 and he got his shot last night at 5:30pm on the DOT so his 12 hour window is good and over now and normally the insulin has jumped ship before now.
 
well, once again no need to fear - his early amps was 219 but 25 minutes later it was 255 and by 6am sharp (amps +.5) he was screaming for food - so he got his full breakfast and his full shot - seems like the 5.5 lasts a bit longer in his system so maybe it's closer to what he needs? I am loath to go to 6.0 but I have to keep remembering before finding this forum 2.5 years ago when he was first DX I was shooting 8u's without even blinking and he was fine for a good month on that dose. I guess we'll see how this week goes. Last few Ketone tests have all been negative too so that's good news.
 
I agree with Sue, great amps there and not too much more insulin might leave you too low to shoot on 12/12. Give it a week before thinking about changing it unless he gets too low.
 
Thanks guys that's the plan gonna sit here for a bit and see what happens. It's crazy that minutes before his 12 hours he's at 219 and than 15 minutes past amps he's at 295 - I now with the 20% differential that's not a big deal but I KNOW he's climbing at that point and than after breakfast at +3 he's at 319.
 
It can be the variance. Or it can be that with Robbie right now, when the insulin is gone, it is gone and he will immediately start to climb. Regardless, neither number is bad.
 
I guess not so bad Sue - I'm just really hoping to see some at least BLUE action at 5.5 units. Today he's not moving as much - I probably should have shot that 219 but it does kind of scare me to shoot 5.5 that low but maybe I need to move my numbers and shoot 5.5 as long as he's above 200? I don't want to TEST that till a day I know someone will be home to watch him.
 
As long as it is above 200 and rising. That's the kicker. You never want to shoot a number that is still going down. And you don't want to mess your schedule up for the pm shot.
 
he was 272 at 5:30 pm so we went with the earlier PMPS - I'd dearly love to move him to 6am/6pm or later but no such luck rightnow it seems - It's 8pm and he's all ready for a SNACK - I wanted to test him at 8:30 (pmps +3) and see where he is but I know he's gonna get nuts about the food soon and I do have that he can get a 1/4 can between 8 and 8:30.... sigh....
 
Awesome, I see a blue number! What I find encouraging and interesting is that his cycles on the 5.5 seem to be running longer than they were on lower doses. Plus there is an overall improvement to his PS numbers, so I think the dose is working better.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top