5/7 Kasha AMPS 482 PMPS 356 f.5 - dosecrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Very Active Member
Ate well this morning - for Kasha. Meaning, she sat in one place and ate about 1 Tbsp without me bugging her (she did eat more a little later, off a spoon).

Ok - I didn't check her +6 last night cuz I was just too tired. But her +5 was 224, so I think it's time for a dose increase. I'm really bad at measuring the in-between numbers (between lines - yes, I KNOW there are pictures online, but my brain just doesn't work that way). I'm wondering if I should attempt .75 units tonight - does that sound like a good number? Advice? please?

Yesterday's condo
 
Re: 5/7 Kasha AMPS 482 Dosing Advice Please!

I am not awake yet but will come back a little later and try to help.
 
Re: 5/7 Kasha AMPS 482 Dosing Advice Please!

Good morning......do you have syringes with 1/2 unit markings so the measuring will be easier? I need a magnifying glass to measure those small doses so maybe that would help if you had one.
It does look like Kasha needs an increase but I will let others chime in on the dose.

Does Kasha eat on her own or only when you hand feed her?
 
Re: 5/7 Kasha AMPS 482 Dosing Advice Please!

I agree that an increase is looking good. I also think waiting until closer to PMPS is in order though. You're still seeing some red which may be a bounce from last night -- it's possible that Kasha saw some blue and zoomed up to the reds. With those blue nadirs, we generally hold the dose a little longer. See what D thinks, though.
 
Re: 5/7 Kasha AMPS 482 Dosing Advice Please!

I guess my concern is that I can only monitor her well on weekends - and actually only Fri night and some of Sunday morning this weekend. So, if I'm increasing, it's the best time. I hate seeing her numbers so high - but yesterday it looked like she went from 400s to 200s (if she touched on the blues, I doubt it was much - her numbers were still running slightly higher than the night before).

I'm getting home tonight basically just in time to do her PMPS and shoot - no +11 today cuz I have too much to do at work and will have to leave late.
 
Re: 5/7 Kasha AMPS 482 Dosing Advice Please!

BTW: I do have syringes with 1/2 unit markings, but although I can try to be consistent, I just don't measure well amounts between lines. I can look at pics all day of what it should look like, but when I look at my own syringe, it's another story. I use a magnifying glass every day to make sure of my measures, but I am fundamentally incapable of measuring halfway between 2 points, apparently. I find other little points of reference on the syringes when I can.

Kasha eats little bits at a time - we're talking like maybe a tsp her, a tsp there. In her old life, she would eat a little, maybe a little more a few hours later, some days a lot, some days not much at all. But not good enough for this - she won't eat every 2 hours or anything - she may eat 4 or 5 hours later at will... I leave shredded turkey or chicken out for her to graze on as well (about 2 Tbsp twice a day - 4 Tbsp total), and she will nibble on that throughout the day (other cats won't eat it, so I know it's her). Before insulin -the best way to get her to stop being finicky was just to let her get good and hungry - she would eventually eat and stop being picky, but she might eat lightly for a few days to a week first. I'm not comfortable using that strategy with insulin involved.

Update on my other cats in case anyone is interested: Big White Cat started on prednisone yesterday. The strategy is just to make him comfortable at this point. He did perk up a little yesterday (maybe even before the pred) and several times he was in the food bowl eating little bits of food - which is great cuz he hasn't had an appetite in weeks and low carb isn't usually very interesting to him. He also jumped up on the couch with me and curled up on the arm of it by my head which he hasn't done in weeks either - not since his last prednisone injection.
 
Re: 5/7 Kasha AMPS 482 Dosing Advice for PM???

Ok - I have to get her PMPS and shoot in about 1 1/2 hours - any dosing advice? I'm considering either a fat .5 or .75... I just want to get some advice as to what I should do cuz I'll get home just in time to feed and shoot. I know a lot's going in the forums today, but anyone?
 
Re: 5/7 Kasha AMPS 482 Dosing Advice for PM???

kryskat said:
Ok - I have to get her PMPS and shoot in about 1 1/2 hours - any dosing advice? I'm considering either a fat .5 or .75... I just want to get some advice as to what I should do cuz I'll get home just in time to feed and shoot. I know a lot's going in the forums today, but anyone?
well, if it were me, i'd take the dose up to 0.75 unit. however, 0.75u previously dropped kasha into some pretty low numbers. you've mentioned not being able to monitor much and we have no way of knowing if 0.75u will once again drop her into lower numbers. it's a tough call. your decision.
 
Re: 5/7 Kasha AMPS 482 Dosing Advice for PM???

Ok - her PMPS was a little better than the last few days, so I chickened out - sort of. I upped her dose to a whopping f.5. Actually, you might call it a skinny fat .5 - basically (for my reference) - I positioned the little black stopper thing at the end of the plunger so that it rested on the 1 unit mark and the front (leading edge) was at the .5 marker (just the slightest bit below what I'd been giving - meaning the slightest bit more, if you can understand that). I can monitor her tonight (better run out and get dinner now!) and in the morning. Probably tomorrow night and Sunday morning as well. Because I am her servant and this is what I do.

FYI - part of the reason I didn't want to go to .75 was because if you look at the notes on the spreadsheet, you'll see that what I was estimating as .75 (which drove Kasha to some pretty low numbers, as Jill pointed out) seemed more like a fat .5 (maybe .6) when I measured the same way I had been measuring but used syringes with 1/2 unit markings. Figured I'd play it safe and watch the numbers with this dose for a few days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top