5/7 Jinx AMPS 419, +5.75 125, +11 421, PMPS 459, +2 445

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe and Jinx

Member Since 2012
Hoping Jinx's recent bounce has cleared and I can start him on 1.25u tonight. Will post at +6 and go from there.
 
Re: 5/7 Jinx AMPS 419

Hi guys .. don't think I've been in Jinx's condo before, so welcome from us! I hope that Jinx's bounce clears quickly for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/7 Jinx AMPS 419

Julie and Marjorie,

Thanks for checking in. Are there guidelines on what constitutes a "bounce" and how that affects the dosing protocol? Or can you just tell by the disparity between the pre-shot numbers and the nadir, that he still hasn't adjusted properly to 1u?



Thanks,


Joe

good morning!

Here is a post on 2 things that can affect numbers - one is New Dose Wonkiness, which we've named the phenomena that happens when a dose is increased and for whatever reason, the cat's numbers go higher for a day or so before the dose really kicks in and begins to lower the blood glucose numbers. the second thing is Bouncing, which is described about 1/2 way down the posts. Bouncing happens when the cat's BG gets lower than it's used to, or drops too fast for the liver's comfort. We don't increase on a bounce, because when it resolves the dose may be too high and then the cat's BGs fall too low. so we wait out bounces.

think of it like a pendulum swinging. the "right" numbers are in the 6:00 position - he hits it and then if he's not used to it, he'll bounce, his numbers will swing wildly from one side to the other. when his liver gets used to that range, the pendulum stops swinging wildly.

he'll get there.
 
Re: 5/7 Jinx AMPS 419

Joe, I was catching up on your posts from the weekend and just wanted to make a comment regarding the runny stools. Bandit has mild IBD and can't tolerate foods that are very high in fat, like Wellness or EVO. They caused runny stool issues. He does handle Fancy feast fine, which has an ok fat content. We haven't had a single runny poo problem since we switched to the low-fat Merricks.

Runny stools can also could be a result the diet change, and if that's the case it should settle itself in about a week. Probiotics help a great deal with that.

It also could be a food intolerance as Sienne suggested. If a week goes by and you still have a problem, you might want to try food with a novel protein source to see if that helps. You'll have to pick what you want to experiment with first, because there are low carb/low fat foods and low carb/novel protein source foods but there aren't really any that are both.
 
Re: 5/7 Jinx AMPS 419

Thanks everyone. I'll keep you all posted on Jinx's numbers today.

He's been on Fancy Feast Classic for at least a week now so hopefully he's stomach will start taking to it. I ordered Fortiflora and Pet Dophilus and will have both tomorrow. In the meantime, I picked up a probiotic yesterday and put a little bit in his food last night and this morning so we'll see if that helps. I'm also picking up some Metrinidazole from the vets today in case the problem persists.

Julie, did you mean to attach a longer post or hyperlink? If so, I'm not seeing it. Really appreciate the help and info from all of you.


Joe
 
Re: 5/7 Jinx AMPS 419, +5.75 at 125

Am so disappointed to see Jinx drop so much today. Are these numbers uncommon? Considering he's on his fifth cycle at 1u. I take it we remain at 1u until this bounce clears, right? If anyone thinks a reading a +11 will be helpful, let me know. Otherwise, I'll just plan on the usual PMPS.
 
Re: 5/7 Jinx AMPS 419, +5.75 at 125

Quite a drop there! :shock: I'd say the bounce has cleared, but another one is probably in the works! A +10 or +11 test can give you a heads up on what to expect at preshot, it shows which way the numbers are headed.
 
Re: 5/7 Jinx AMPS 419, +5.75 at 125

Ann, if I take one at +11, provided it's not real low, do you think it will be ok to skip the pre-shot?
 
Re: 5/7 Jinx AMPS 419, +5.75 at 125

i put the link in the post right before your last one. i did forget to include it on the earlier post. just scroll up to look again.

you need to always get a preshot, even if you got a +11. one good reason for getting a +11 is to compare it to the preshot so you see a trend.

it's actually great to see him in the 100's in that last test. we want to move him into a lower range. the drop isn't the bounce, although if it happens a little slower they are less likely to react from it - the speed of a drop can cause the bounce. the bounce is the high number they go into.

given that 125, i think i would hold the 1.0 dose longer still.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 5/7 Jinx AMPS 419, +5.75 at 125

Just out of curiosity, are you around to get a +2 test? I really like a +2. If Jinx is following the "rules," a +1 should be higher than your pre-shot due to the influence of food and the +2 should be about the same as your pre-shot number. I would bet that today, Jinx's +2 was considerably lower than your AMPS. Having gotten that result, you could then have given a snack of LC to help slow things down a bit and, hopefully, avoid a big bounce.

It may also help to give a bigger picture of Jinx's cycle if you test at various times. The nadir isn't always at +6. By testing at various times, you will do almost as well as when you get a curve.
 
Re: 5/7 Jinx AMPS 419, +5.75 at 125

Sienne, I can be around to do a +2 on most days so I'll start doing that from time to time. I'll also start test at various times, rather than +5, +6 like I have been. Just out of curiosity, are there some times that generally more useful than others to test at?
 
Re: 5/7 Jinx AMPS 419, +5.75 at 125

Question, how often is Jinx getting prednisolone?

Also, for future reference, when you see a lower number like that in the middle of the cycle it is a good idea to get another test after that. Getting a +7 would have shown you whether Jinx was still going down and at what point he turned around. There are a couple of hints on your spreadsheet from when Jinx was on higher doses that hint that he might have a nadir later than +6.
 
Re: 5/7 Jinx AMPS 419, +5.75 at 125

Thanks, Libby. I will definitely take that into account if/when it happens again.

I'm giving him prednisolone every other day. I have it to him last night around +6 but I've been trying to give it to him at +4 based on member recommendations.
 
Re: 5/7 Jinx AMPS 419, +5.75 at 125, +11 421

Just took a +11. Will take pre-shot in addition to one at +2.

He seems really tired today. Feel so bad for him...
 
Re: 5/7 Jinx AMPS 419, +5.75 125, +11 421, PMPS 459

Going to see what his number is at +2 and will post.

Sienne (and everyone), you mentioned taking a +2 to see if it's much lower than the pre-shot. If it is, you said giving him an LC snack will help slow things down. Would his Fancy Feast Classic suffice for a low-carb snack or would you suggest something else?

Also, I've been giving him very small pieces of Whisker Lickin's moist treats after I take his BG. I know there has to be better treats out there. Does anyone have a recommendation/s?
 
Sienne, his +2 was very close the pre-shot tonight. Hopefully that's a sign he won't have as significant a drop as earlier.
 
Joe

Thanks for getting the +2. I'm also a big believer in that number to let you see where the cycle "may" be going. We can't predict for certain, but overall, if it's this close, we wouldn't expect an active cycle
like you had this morning. Yes....if the +2 is alot lower than the PS, then you might want to feed some LC and see if you can catch the drop before it happens.

Good job today!!!
 
There's no guarantee there won't be a drop. I tend to look at the +2 as an indication of whether there will be an early drop. If you tend to test only around mid-point of the cycle, you can be surprised by a low numbers. A test earlier, may give you a clue as to whether the numbers are coming down and will allow you to make decisions about testing, how to use food, etc. Nadirs can move around so it's helpful to know when the nadir may usually fall but to always keep in mind that just when you think you know your cat's cycle, they will throw a monkey wrench into the works. Gabby is one of those cats with an early onset and who typically has an early nadir (usually at +3 or +4). However, on 5/5, her nadir was at +7 (or maybe later) and she dipped at PMPS. I test to accommodate her ability to surprise me. Much of this is getting to know your cat since every cat is different (ECID).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top