5/6Ravan/amps63/+4 84/+7 88/pmps87/+4 99/+8 73/

JoyBee&Ravan

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-5ravan-amps109-5-98-9-90-pmps85-4-67-8-54.214125/
DANCE IN THE RAIN.jpg
 

Attachments

  • GRATEFUL TUESDAY.jpg
    GRATEFUL TUESDAY.jpg
    13.3 KB · Views: 94
Last edited:
@Tucker's Mama

I couldn't find your Post? Do you post every day?

Did you read about Mirtazapine? It has possible side effects http://veterinarymedicine.dvm360.com/mirtazapine-cats-how-much-too-much These meds are meant for humans they have never been tested on cats or approved for them. The vet prescribes them off label.

How long have you given it to him? Maybe you could try stopping for a while? See if his appetite is any better. I hate to give my animals Pharmaceuticals You never know how they'll react to them.

Here what it says about Cerenia
CERENIA TABLETS = NOT FOR CATS!
According to Cerenia's website, tablets should not be given to cats. Cerenia tablets have only been approved for canines whereas the injection can be used for both cats and dogs. With that said, there are veterinarians who will still prescribe Cerenia tablets for cats. We just want you to be aware of what the actual prescription recommends. At the end of the day, it is your call.

Cerenia Side Effects for Cats
Side effects of Cerenia for cats are comparable to those found in dogs. However, because of the fact that the only kind of Cerenia that is safe for cats is in its injectable form, the leading side effect is a significant amount of pain at the injection site.

side effects
  • Lethargy and drowsiness
  • Lack of appetite
  • Excessive drooling
  • Diarrhea
  • Pain at the injection site (when it comes to the injectable form of Cerenia)
So the Mirtazapine is to increase his appetite but the Cerenia might cause "Lack of appetite???" This is what i mean about giving meds to our small cats! It's meant for Humans but a little 12lb cat is getting it?

You're giving it to him for a month ? It's probably what caused the Diarrhea in April.

Sorry but I get upset about giving different meds to my cats. I has one cat go into respiratory distress from one pill of Bupe. A lot of people here use it for their cats without a problem . I wasn't so Lucky. My kitty (Ravan's brother) died from that one pill.

I don't take any meds at all not even over the counter.
 
@Tucker's Mama

I couldn't find your Post? Do you post every day?

Did you read about Mirtazapine? It has possible side effects http://veterinarymedicine.dvm360.com/mirtazapine-cats-how-much-too-much These meds are meant for humans they have never been tested on cats or approved for them. The vet prescribes them off label.

How long have you given it to him? Maybe you could try stopping for a while? See if his appetite is any better. I hate to give my animals Pharmaceuticals You never know how they'll react to them.

Here what it says about Cerenia
CERENIA TABLETS = NOT FOR CATS!
According to Cerenia's website, tablets should not be given to cats. Cerenia tablets have only been approved for canines whereas the injection can be used for both cats and dogs. With that said, there are veterinarians who will still prescribe Cerenia tablets for cats. We just want you to be aware of what the actual prescription recommends. At the end of the day, it is your call.

Cerenia Side Effects for Cats
Side effects of Cerenia for cats are comparable to those found in dogs. However, because of the fact that the only kind of Cerenia that is safe for cats is in its injectable form, the leading side effect is a significant amount of pain at the injection site.

side effects
  • Lethargy and drowsiness
  • Lack of appetite
  • Excessive drooling
  • Diarrhea
  • Pain at the injection site (when it comes to the injectable form of Cerenia)
So the Mirtazapine is to increase his appetite but the Cerenia might cause "Lack of appetite???" This is what i mean about giving meds to our small cats! It's meant for Humans but a little 12lb cat is getting it?

You're giving it to him for a month ? It's probably what caused the Diarrhea in April.

Sorry but I get upset about giving different meds to my cats. I has one cat go into respiratory distress from one pill of Bupe. A lot of people here use it for their cats without a problem . I wasn't so Lucky. My kitty (Ravan's brother) died from that one pill.

I don't take any meds at all not even over the counter.
@JoyBee&Ravan , I did not create a thread yesterday, but we were talking about the syringes and air in another thread. I am not here every day nor do I post every day. I agree with you about not being pleased to give Tucker these medications, but I have found that when I stop the Mirtazapine, he stops eating. His appetite usually decreases by the time he is due for another dose. I have tried to ween him off it but every time I do, I get concerned that he's not eating. He has actually been on the Mirtzapine for several months, since his hospitalization with severe pancreatitis and DKA. Same with the Cerenia. He was ill this morning so I am going to create another post.
 
Back
Top