5/6 Willow AMPS~379, Starting Levemir this week

Status
Not open for further replies.

Complick8d

Member Since 2009
WCR: He's missed me all week, since I've been sleeping at my boss' house watching their dog while they're on vacation. I'm supposed to be enjoying my time off, but it's hard to do when I'm having to sleep in someone else's bed, with someone else's dog, away from my own furrbabies. Having to scramble home to test/shoot Willow. Looks like working this job is going to mean I never get to enjoy my time off since any time they leave, I'll be watching their dog. Ugh.

Okay, enough venting. We have Levemir in hand and will be starting tonight. I've read the stickies. Starting dose of .5?
 
Can't your boss's dog stay at your house? Poor Willow cat_pet_icon and other furbabies.

I was told to do a 30% reduction when switching to Lev. We were on 2.50 units of Lantus at the time. 70 percent of 2.50 is 1.75 units, and we chose to start at 2.00 units and were soon reduced to the 1.75 anyway.
If you're shooting 2.00 units of Lantus now, I would start with 1.75 or 1.50 of Lev. Let's see what others have to say. I know there are varying opinions of the need to reduce the dose when doing the switch.

I wish you the best of luck with Levemir, and I hope you get to enjoy your Sunday.

Don't be a stranger, k? I know, you're busy :sad:
 
There is going to be some overlap on his shot tonight since his shot time got all screwed up while I watched the dog, so the lower the dose tonight, the better. He'll be back to normal shot time tomorrow. Maybe I should just skip tonights shot and go back to normal shot time tomorrow AM? With my schedule, I don't have time to gradually go back to normal time, so he either gets an early shot tonight or none. I'll definitely wait for more opinions though.

I could've had the dog here, but my parents weren't thrilled with the idea since I have three dogs of my own, plus it would make Willow and the other cats unhappy, and we weren't sure how the dog does with cats since she's a rescue with unknown background. Next time, I may try her here though.
 
What is Willow's current dose? (SS isn't up to date!)

Like Dyana said, it's recommended that you reduce by 30%. I'd be much more comfortable with your switching when you're going to be around to monitor given Willow's ability to drop like a rock.
 
Hi - just wanted to wish you luck with the Lev - I hope that the switch goes well. Sounds like you have good advice on the dose - I am clueless on that....
 
Good luck with the lev, Jordan. Gracie has really, really liked it and is doing great on it. I agree with Sienne and Dyana on the starting dose. I believe I read somewhere in a condo that it's not the best thing to stop one insulin and then start the other one so I would agree that you should leave him on lantus until you are able to be at home to monitor when you switch to lev.

When we switched, we were told that although Gracie might come down quickly, that it might take weeks or months to see true progress so please be patient and remember that was a "might"...ECID ;-)

Good luck!!
 
Thanks for the advice. Updating SS now. So we missed tonights shot because I got home so late. I'll stick with Lantus this week and switch him to lev on friday night. I think I'm off Saturday and Sunday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top