Lisa & Oberon
Member Since 2020
last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-2-oberon-amps-313-6-260.289539/
Seems like he settled into a nice pattern over the past few days, but I suspect we're about to disrupt it because (a) we're going to start doing the pred twice a day (½ tab) instead of 1 tab once a day and (b) he got his first chemo treatment today and I have no idea how that's going to affect things.
We saw the oncologist today and he laid out all the options; basically it was what I'd already read online. Standard of care for lymphoma is the CHOP treatment, rotating through several different drugs (and continuing the pred). Second option was an oral med (forgot the name) that's ok for cats who can't tolerate the CHOP meds, but it's less effective. Third option is palliative care- pred only. We're going to try the CHOP protocol and see how he does with it. The one dicey thing is that it can cause nausea and diarrhea, which could affect BG, but they sent us home with Cerenia and Metronidazole just in case. Also gabapentin for before his next visit; apparently the IV/restraint was stressful and they'd like him to be calmer. All of this will hopefully get us at least several more months; apparently some cats do actually go into remission for a couple of years but it's very rare.
He's still acting fine overall... chasing the other cats, getting into trouble, etc. (A couple of days ago he ate an entire baby spider plant and hacked it up. I suspect either hairball or just general tummy upset.) Ruling the house, as usual.
Seems like he settled into a nice pattern over the past few days, but I suspect we're about to disrupt it because (a) we're going to start doing the pred twice a day (½ tab) instead of 1 tab once a day and (b) he got his first chemo treatment today and I have no idea how that's going to affect things.
We saw the oncologist today and he laid out all the options; basically it was what I'd already read online. Standard of care for lymphoma is the CHOP treatment, rotating through several different drugs (and continuing the pred). Second option was an oral med (forgot the name) that's ok for cats who can't tolerate the CHOP meds, but it's less effective. Third option is palliative care- pred only. We're going to try the CHOP protocol and see how he does with it. The one dicey thing is that it can cause nausea and diarrhea, which could affect BG, but they sent us home with Cerenia and Metronidazole just in case. Also gabapentin for before his next visit; apparently the IV/restraint was stressful and they'd like him to be calmer. All of this will hopefully get us at least several more months; apparently some cats do actually go into remission for a couple of years but it's very rare.
He's still acting fine overall... chasing the other cats, getting into trouble, etc. (A couple of days ago he ate an entire baby spider plant and hacked it up. I suspect either hairball or just general tummy upset.) Ruling the house, as usual.

