5/6 Morlei AMPS 175

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Becky!

I'm glad to see Morlei in such great numbers. However, I saw you raised the dose today to 4.5u "because her AMPS was higher" (from your SS). Remember...we don't dose based on the PSs.....dosing is done based on the
nadir with only some consideration given to PS. You can get them in an overdose situation by dosing on the nadir with lantus/levemir. I think Julie's intent was that you hold the 4u dose ;-)
 
Re: 5/6 Morlei AMPS 175 PMPS 185

Oh shoot, I didn't mean 4.5u I meant 4.25u, I just caught that after reading your post. I write my numbers on a notepad then fill it in later so I must have been looking at another day's numbers, who knows, I haven't slept much in the past few days.
I understood Julie's intent of holding the 4u but I knew Morlei was going to go into the 200s when the insulin started to take effect, and her appetite is now back in full force, so I wanted to see if a .25 increase would help take it back down which I believe it did somewhat. She's now back at the 4u dose as Julie recommended. I believe we're in a "trial and error" sort of phase right now (without any errors please!) and I'm taking it cycle by cycle, trying to see what dose is best for her. I only attempted this because I was home to monitor, I would never do it on a day I work or when I wasn't home.
 
just remember that when you change a dose, you want to hold it 6 cycles usually, unless they get low enough at the nadir to cause a dose reduction (ie, below 50.)

you're in a bit of a different situation right now because of the dental, we don't really know what's caused her drop in numbers and if it will go back up to 8.5u or not.

changing the dose can cause wonky numbers, though, so it's better to hold the dose steady unless there's a compelling reason to change it. so hang onto the 4.0 u tomorrow until we see nadir numbers that say to change the dose.

no worries, however! see you in the morning!
 
julie & punkin said:
just remember that when you change a dose, you want to hold it 6 cycles usually, unless they get low enough at the nadir to cause a dose reduction (ie, below 50.)

you're in a bit of a different situation right now because of the dental, we don't really know what's caused her drop in numbers and if it will go back up to 8.5u or not.

changing the dose can cause wonky numbers, though, so it's better to hold the dose steady unless there's a compelling reason to change it. so hang onto the 4.0 u tomorrow until we see nadir numbers that say to change the dose.

no worries, however! see you in the morning!

Ok Julie, yes we'll hold the 4u tomorrow (definitely yes because I have a doctor's appointment tomorrow and DH is doing the morning herd feeding. If we get a drastically lower AMPS I'll have him text me and I'll try to get on here before he shoots).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top