5/6 Ivy Ambg 252, +2 280, +5 400, +8 332, Pmps 389, +3 348, +4 246 Libre

5/5/24
AMBG 252 Libre
Skipped insulin shot for vet appointment at +3.
Ivy has been sedated and is very sleepy. (If only she remained as calm as she is now at the vet). Poor, scared girl. :(

Thank you for all of your good wishes and support for today. Will update later. :)

Safe surfing today to all :bighug::bighug:

I keep all my fingers crossed, that sweet Ivy will manage well and that her appetite is good after coming home! Big hugs for you Staci, I know today is nerve-wrecking for sure. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Everyone, thanks so much for all your support of me and Ivy today. ❤️
We are home and she did much better than expected (thank goodness, I’m sure all of your support and all the good vibes we took with us carried us through). :bighug:

They didn’t have to further sedate her and that was wonderful news.
They commented that she’s really a “less is more” kind of girl. Less handling is better. Less restraint works better on her. :facepalm:
They covered her with a towel and managed her that way (who knows if anything else was done, she was taken to another room).

Since I fasted her, I’m trying to slowly give her the meal she missed to try to get calories into her. Feeding 2 tablespoons an hour just to make sure she’s not eating too fast and doesn’t puke.
I’ll stop feeding before +10.

Of course her bg is through the roof with the skip this morning. Hoping she eats at dinner so I can get insulin in her and back on track.

The vet did comment that she’s on a rather large dose of insulin (4.5 units). I explained that my goal is to try to keep her under the renal threshold.

Ivy is napping in a dark corner under a table trying to forget about today and being handled. She’s not as out if it as you would think from the gaba and trazodone.

Will update more later :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Everyone, thanks so much for all your support of me and Ivy today. ❤️
We are home and she did much better than expected (thank goodness, I’m sure all of your support and all the good vibes we took with us carried us through). :bighug:

They didn’t have to further sedate her and that was wonderful news.
They commented that she’s really a “less is more” kind of girl. Less handling is better. Less restraint works better on her. :facepalm:
They covered her with a towel and managed her that way (who knows if anything else was done, she was taken to another room).

Since I fasted her, I’m trying to slowly give her the meal she missed to try to get calories into her. Feeding 2 tablespoons an hour just to make sure she’s not eating too fast and doesn’t puke.
I’ll stop feeding before +10.

Of course her bg is through the roof with the skip this morning. Hoping she eats at dinner so I can get insulin in her and back on track.

The vet did comment that she’s on a rather large dose of insulin (4.5 units). I explained that my goal is to try to keep her under the renal threshold.

Ivy is napping in a dark corner under a table trying to forget about today and being handled. She’s not as out if it as you would think from the gaba and trazodone.

Will update more later :bighug::bighug::bighug:


Ohhhhhh Staci! That sounds purrfect!!! :cat: You must be so relieved!!! I am so happy they used a towel. That is also the only thing which works on Binie. If she gets restraint, she is freaking out and fighting for her life. Than they call her "difficult to deal with" or "not cooperative". After I saw what my vet can do with her without violence, I believe that all this "She is so difficult"-talk is victim blaming. I hope she continues to eat well and I am sure she forgets the day pretty fast. Now I hope you can relax in the evening and I am praying for good results form the bloodwork. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I keep all my fingers crossed, that sweet Ivy will manage well and that her appetite is good after coming home! Big hugs for you Staci, I know today is nerve-wrecking for sure. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Heike! I’m so happy today is done. Now I need to wait for the results.
Ohhhhhh Staci! That sounds purrfect!!! :cat: You must be so relieved!!! I am so happy they used a towel. That is also the only thing which works on Binie. If she gets restraint, she is freaking out and fighting for her life. Than they call her "difficult to deal with" or "not cooperative". After I saw what my vet can do with her without violence, I believe that all this "She is so difficult"-talk is victim blaming. I hope she continues to eat well and I am sure she forgets the day pretty fast. Now I hope you can relax in the evening and I am praying for good results form the bloodwork. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you so much, Heike. I very much appreciate your kind support. :)
I agree they like to blame Ivy. Although she is very difficult. I know that first hand.
However, they should be trained how to properly handle more challenging animals. Unfortunately, Not every animal is docile.
I’m sorry Binie also has to deal with similar handling. I know Ivy is scared and she reacts badly.

We now wait for the results so that’s the next stressful waiting period to see what happens next.
Hoping we can have a calmer night and she eats well and has a good sleep tonight (and me, too).

Wishing you and Binie a calm and peaceful sleep, too :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you, Heike! I’m so happy today is done. Now I need to wait for the results.

Thank you so much, Heike. I very much appreciate your kind support. :)
I agree they like to blame Ivy. Although she is very difficult. I know that first hand.
However, they should be trained how to properly handle more challenging animals. Unfortunately, Not every animal is docile.
I’m sorry Binie also has to deal with similar handling. I know Ivy is scared and she reacts badly.

We now wait for the results so that’s the next stressful waiting period to see what happens next.
Hoping we can have a calmer night and she eats well and has a good sleep tonight (and me, too).

Wishing you and Binie a calm and peaceful sleep, too :bighug::bighug::bighug:

You are so much right Staci, that they should be better trained. I can see that it is also a stressful situation for the vets. They can make it easier for themselves too, if they learn to handle cats like Ivy and Binie with empathy and kindness. And I also hope that all four of us are having a good nights sleep and peaceful dreams! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’m glad it went well and she didn’t need the extra drugs. Her BG may be high but I think this way caused you less stress and she will get back on track in a cycle or two.
Me, too, Marje! I was soooo relieved as you know!
Now for her BG to come back down. A much better plan overall :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You are so much right Staci, that they should be better trained. I can see that it is also a stressful situation for the vets. They can make it easier for themselves too, if they learn to handle cats like Ivy and Binie with empathy and kindness. And I also hope that all four of us are having a good nights sleep and peaceful dreams! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
You are so right on, Heike. Once they seemed to have a plan, they did much better today. I’m so relieved it worked out better this time.
Sweet dreams :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yes, Diane. We now wait to see what the T4 result and kidney values show for the dose of methimazole. I’m hoping her dose is the right one. :bighug::bighug:
All paws crossed for a good report :cat:
Blue-Mitted-Ragdoll-Cat-Bailey-20200111_164220-469x625.jpg
 
Oh, I am glad all went well! And she is beautiful :kiss:
Bella too was labeled difficult after a tech put her in restraint and a muzzle. I would be difficult too if they did that to me.
 
Oh, I am glad all went well! And she is beautiful :kiss:
Bella too was labeled difficult after a tech put her in restraint and a muzzle. I would be difficult too if they did that to me.
Hi Cecile, I was so relieved. And yes, you are right, they label them difficult and then just don’t even try to come up with a plan how to best work with the cat. It’s not good.

That picture posted above by Diane is not Ivy (although a beautiful cat, I agree) :p
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Pmps 389 Libre
Well Ivy ate her am meal over several hours this afternoon. I fed her small amounts at a time and she happily ate it.
When I gave her dinner, she had no interest whatsoever and I ended up having to syringe feed her.
I’m not sure if she was just full from eating all afternoon or the sedatives just caught up with her and she just wasn’t really interested in dinner.
Now I just have to get her snacks in her over the next couple hours as the insulin starts to kick in.

I have a feeling it’s gonna be a slightly challenging night since she doesn’t really want to eat on her own. :arghh:
Hope everyone is having a calm night :bighug::bighug:
 
Such good news that the vet visit went much better this time! I hope it's an easy night for the two of you. :bighug:
Thanks, Janet. It was better than I expected. She’s not eating on her own tonight. Hoping tomorrow is better in that area!

I hope you have a nice night :)
 
Back
Top