5/6 Harley PMPS 368

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/6 Harley AMPS 343 - Fur shot!

actually, pattie, i think it looks like harley is bouncing from the 174 night before last. he hit that and went straight to yellows and then pinks - and he's still in the pinks now. i think i'd wait for the bounce to clear before increasing his overall dose, but you could use a little R to bring him down some.

have you ever used R at +9 or +10? Libby mentioned at one point that she liked using it then, and i started trying it on punkin. just enough to hold him flat rather than to bring his numbers down any. in punkin, i use .25uR and it wears off before the lantus onsets - i don't know what harley's duration is with the R, but i know with iaa it can last longer. you know him best, so of course consider his particular response, but i thought i'd toss the idea out there in case you haven't tried it at that point of the cycle yet.

like with that 174 at +9 - i think if he'd had a touch of R in the second half of the next cycle to just hold him flat until the next L shot took effect, it might've kept him out of the pinks. if his R duration is 6 hours (i'm just using an example) you could've given the R around +6-+8 to hold him flat until the L kicked in.

anyway, just an idea.
 
Re: 5/6 Harley AMPS 343 - Fur shot!

Ok Julie, you got me to think about when Harley got R at the U. Usually it was given about +9 and they always said that there would be no problems giving it at that time. Guess I forgot about that. I think I will give him a bit of R about 2:00 (+9) and see what happens. I will wait out this bounce - and fur shot.

Thanks.

pat
 
Re: 5/6 Harley AMPS 343 - Fur shot!

as long as you time it so you don't have coinciding nadirs, it should be ok. i know i can give it to punkin with his L shot, but i don't like to because then i see a steeper drop. i like using it anytime past the nadir to just hold him down.

yes, cycle count re-starts with the fur shot. but maybe a little bit of R will make it more survivable! :lol:

you're welcome!
 
Re: 5/6 Harley AMPS 343 - Fur shot!

Pattie, just remember you don't want to give him too much. You just want enough to bring him slowly down about 150 points or so. I'm at work, so don't have time to study your ss to see what was a good dose of R in the past, but I would think of what is the smallest dose of R that would acheive this purpose. Also, if he is coming down from this bounce, then don't give R. I just don't want him to bounce from the added R. You know what to do.
 
Re: 5/6 Harley AMPS 343 - Fur shot!

In the past year, Harley has been very sensitive to R. In the past, I was able to give 0.5-0.25 with no problem but now I am only giving 0.1u and he falls. Hard to believe that before he was dx with IAA, I was giving 2-3u R with little success.

pattie
 
Re: 5/6 Harley AMPS 343 - Fur shot!

i don't think i'd give enough to really bring down numbers - just enough to hold it flat. i agree that you don't want to cause an R bounce cycle.
 
Re: 5/6 Harley AMPS 343, 406/+9 - Fur shot!

Gave very little R. Plunger barely went down, so maybe a drop. I am 3 hours before PMPS so the R will be gone (mostly) before the lantus kicks in.

pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top