5/6 Fearless PMPS=165 +2(144) +3(91) +4(107) +5(159) +6(198)

Status
Not open for further replies.

fearlessmom

Member Since 2017
Still wondering if 1U, even a fat 1U, is enough for Fearless, who has been bouncing for what I can only assume (based on last night's +5) is several nights.

I can try to keep him in the 100s (if he gets there today) with food, as someone suggested yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-375-2-375-3-336-5-368.177482/#post-1956410 but shouldn't he be able to dip into the green at some point?

Based on his SS, can anyone advise the next step in his dosing? What am I doing wrong?
 
I would say that a fat 1 u counts as a different dose from 1 u so according to TR you should hold it at least 6 cycles. It's only been 3 cycles so far.
 
I can try to keep him in the 100s (if he gets there today) with food, as someone suggested yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-375-2-375-3-336-5-368.177482/#post-1956410 but shouldn't he be able to dip into the green at some point?
To answer the food part of the question, yes, you do want him to be able to get into the greens at some point but, the idea with feeding the curve to flatten out the cycle is to help with the bouncing. Bounces occur when there are fast drops in numbers and numbers that are lower than kitty is used to being in. When they bounce up into pink numbers, the Lantus isn't good at pulling down high numbers so, if you can get a flatter yellow cycle and then evidentially a flatter blue cycle, when Fearless hits the greens the bouncing is at a minimum and then you have a better chance of getting him back into the greens sooner.
 
That makes sense, Bobbie. I'm feeding the blue today.
Beautiful! Keep up the good work Fearless. Now since he has neared or hit nadir, you can ease off the food until his normal time to eat as the insulin will start to lose it's punch. If he were to continue to drop from this point a tsp or so can help him surf.

Good job Fearless's Mom!
 
I fed him 1/8 can on that 131 to keep him in the blues, but he still dropped to 88 in only an hour, so I just fed him another 1/8 can (even though he's likely at nadir). Hopefully he won't bounce off the 88.
 
I fed him 1/8 can on that 131 to keep him in the blues, but he still dropped to 88 in only an hour, so I just fed him another 1/8 can (even though he's likely at nadir). Hopefully he won't bounce off the 88.
What a way to work in Fearless! He could still bounce but, don't worry, he'll come back to the greens again if he hikes. :D
 
OK, if I wanted him to drop down farther, he never would have! Not sure why that food didn't keep him at 88 or higher. Now what do I do? He's bound to bounce again off 67.
 
I just fed him 1/4 can FF plus 1 tsp of gravy from MC food. That should be enough to keep him from dropping anymore, I hope.
 
OK, if I wanted him to drop down farther, he never would have! Not sure why that food didn't keep him at 88 or higher. Now what do I do? He's bound to bounce again off 67.
Apparently, this is a very active cycle and without the food you doled out strategically, he could have nose dived earlier in the cycle and then he would have a big old bounce. Let's see how the PMBG's goes. This is a great cycle! And I am so glad you could be testing as much as you did today.

I just saw your above post and usually this late in the cycle only LC is needed unless they go below 50 but, let's see what it does to his numbers by the next test. All data is good data.
 
I'll get a +10 and see what's up. He's never been this low so late in the day. Especially one that started in the 300s. I don't think I gave him a full tsp of gravy. I just dipped the spoon in the can to get enough to put over his LC food. Maybe 1/2 tsp at most. With small amts of gravy, does it usually make a big difference (between 1/2 tsp and 1 tsp)?
 
I'll get a +10 and see what's up. He's never been this low so late in the day. Especially one that started in the 300s. I don't think I gave him a full tsp of gravy. I just dipped the spoon in the can to get enough to put over his LC food. Maybe 1/2 tsp at most. With small amts of gravy, does it usually make a big difference (between 1/2 tsp and 1 tsp)?
It's hard to know as it depends on his carb sensitivity. As an example a tsp of HC gravy could boost Bubba up by about 20 points during an active cycle. The numbers will give you a indication of how the 1/2 tsp of MC did for him.
 
I'm laying off food until PMPS, which is Fearless's typical feeding time, since by now the AM shot must be wearing off (although nothing else about this cycle has been typical ...)
 
Good decision on not feeding anymore now.

Usually you can use a lighter touch to steer numbers, the later in the cycle you are, I would have probably stuck with just the LC with that 67@+9,
Conversely if he were to drop to 67 @+2 that you would likely need to use a heavier hand to effectively steer his numbers.

Regarding dose, you need to ask yourself ' how low is this dose taking him?' it's the lows that govern the dosing decisions, with that 67 today I think it would be wise to hold the dose for now.
 
165 is the 3rd lowest BG for Fearless @ PMPS. I probably should test every couple hours until +6, right?
 
165 is the 3rd lowest BG for Fearless @ PMPS. I probably should test every couple hours until +6, right?
I would certainly start by getting a +2 and take it from there.

If the +2 is significantly lower than pmps that can be an indication that cyclelr is going to be very active. In that scenario a +3 would advisable., And you might want to start steering with food when you first see the drop.
 
I guess that was too much food. Feeding just 2 tsp LC now to try to keep him in the low blues or high greens.
 
Way to go Fearless!!:D:cool:
That's 15hrs in blue/green, more than likely below the renal threshold, :woot::woot::woot:

With that 198, it seems like he might be headed for a bounce but yesterdays cycles have been the longest period he has spent in that blue/green range without bouncing and that's progress:):):)
They don't stop bouncing overnight, if you look back at Georges SS back at when he was diagnosed in nov 2015, and through to early 2016, you can see that when he first started seeing greens he would bounce, then as I learnt to steer and what worked for him food wise, he started spending longer periods of time in blue/green his bounces got shorter and not as pronounced, and over time he got flatter, until he just stopped bouncing. ECID, and there are plenty of examples of cats that bounce all the way to of the juice, either way it takes time for their bodies to heal and for us to see progress, remember its a marathon not a sprint;), celebrate the small victories along the way, today was progress!!!

Looking at the food choices, I think the only thing I might have done different was the feeding at +4.
At +3 he was 91, +4 101, at that point he was holding flat it looked like he had slowed on the drop, at +4 he had already onset, so I might have been tempted to not feed at all at that point, and see if he would have held his own without food at that point. It looks like the 1/4can bumped him up a bit further than perhaps you would have hoped for.

here are a couple of great and interesting posts on bouncing and feeding the curve, I found them really helpful when I was learning to manage Georges numbers. Hope you enjoy the read.

Bouncing
Feeding the Curve
 
Yes, he bounced this morning. I didn't think he'd bounce that high after still being blue at 1 am, but like you said, I'll take yesterday's progress any day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top