5/6 Ella pmps 374 +2=389

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70289

Good morning to my LL family:)

Thanks to everyone who offered their advice regarding how to administer micro doses. Your tips were helpful and all went well today:)
Ella has a good appetite this morning and seems content. I'm hoping the insulin will start to have some effect on her so we know what to expect during the week:)

I hope everyone has a beautiful Sunday with their kitters and families:)
 
Re: 5/6 Ella amps 421 +2=391

Ughh..I'm feeling discouraged seeing all these pinks and no action:( I'm worried about her health being so high for this long.
Could my insulin be compromised?
 
Re: 5/6 Ella amps 421 +2=391

Do you see any specs or white flecks floating around in your insulin? How old is it? Usually, Lantus will last quite a while if it has been kept refrigerated, not frozen, and handled gently. Way back when before I found this board, I used to use a vial for 6 months, but I didn't know any better then. After I found the board, I used to start a new pen after about 30 days or so, basically when I thought J.D.'s numbers were becoming wonky. A lot of people get a lot longer than 30 days out of their Lantus, some all the way to the last drop. You can always start a new pen, if you are suspicous.

As far as her numbers. These are just my thoughts for what they're worth. Ella started on a fairly high dose, and I think it was too high for her. You reduced her from 3.00 units to 1.00, and for 3 days she stayed in the pinks, and so the dose was raised. I think she holds on to her shed for a long time, and when she went to 1.25, the shed from the 3.00 was still somehow there or something, and she started diving and bouncing. Or maybe that's all wrong and/or it was a combination of her not eating much, or enough. With all the skipped shots, and dose reductions so close in a row, I think we finally depleted her shed, and she's kind of starting over again. When first starting insulin, it can take 5 to 7 days to fill the shed. Maybe that's what's happening. I don't know if any of this is correct. I know, it takes lots of patience.

Keep getting the ketone tests, and keep encouraging her to eat her meals. Hopefully, she'll get into a habit of eating when you want her to, so she doesn't cause you worrys when you have go to work during the week. Hugs.
 
Re: 5/6 Ella amps 421 +2=391

Thanks for you sharing your thoughts Dyana:)
I have been taking ketone tests and she has been negative. She ate her first brekky well but I had to encourage her to eat at +2 and she didn't quite finish even when I tried to assist her. This is a bit strange as she has been eating a little too well since her numbers have been high. She also vomitted after one of her meals yesterday but has eaten since so I'm hoping it was just a one off.
Her vial is about 5 months old. It is totally clear. Before joining the group I would syringe insulin back into the bottle if I pulled too much but that didn't seem to effect it as we saw good numbers.
I realize I have to have my patient pants on but I'm concerned about her being in the reds and pinks. I hope something works out for her soon.
 
Re: 5/6 Ella amps 421 +2=391

Tamara, I also use the vial, and I am starting my 4th month. I've wasted a lot counting drops and trying to be exact. You've gotten some good advice from Dyana on what to check with the vial. I haven't always gotten that length on the vials mainly as I would forget to leave on the counter or accidentally drop it. Have a nice Sunday, and you're doing a great job with Ella. Scritches to Ella.
 
Re: 5/6 Ella amps 421 +2=391

Thanks Ann:)

I left the vial out once for 12 hours in the first couple weeks of starting her on treatment. My vet wasn't concerned and by looking at how effective it was only a week ago, I'm hoping it hasn't been compromised. I'm willing to get a new one if we think it might be a possibility though:)
 
Re: 5/6 Ella amps 421 +2=391 +4=340

+4=340
She's gone down a smidge.
 
Re: 5/6 Ella amps 421 +2=391 +4=340

what you're describing would make me want to replace the insulin - left out, insulin see-sawed back and forth - BUT, given how dramatic she was less than one week ago, i don't think i'd blame the insulin. i think, as dyana said, we're just seeing the results of a reduced dose and perhaps a mostly empty shed that is refilling.

just remember that you don't want big drops. she's dropped 81 points from preshot - slow, yes, but at least it's slow enough to not get into a bounce low and zoom high cycle. we're trying to avoid that. i think you've gotta give this new dose 6 cycles to see what it does before deciding that it's not enough insulin.

hang in there! It's a marathon, not a sprint! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/6 Ella amps 421 +2=391 +4=340

Thanks for helping keep things in perspective:) You're right, I have to remember it's a marathon. I'll cheer her on with the hopes of hitting a yellow late afternoon. That would match the gorgeous sunshine we're having here today:)
 
Re: 5/6 Ella pmps 374

PMPS 374

Ella ate well and had neg ketones. She spent some time cleaning herself in the sun and seems ok. I have decided to eye out the insulin as opposed to counting drops. I feel it's difficult to be accurate with both methods so will just try my best to be as consistent as possible.
 
Re: 5/6 Ella pmps 374

Hi Tamara! What a rollercoaster of a ride you've been on eh? Hope this dose manages to bring down Ella's numbers a bit - but nice and slowly this time around :) Hope everything is going well these days - the countdown to summer is on! (Who am I kidding, it's been on since January for me lol).

Keep up all the great work! You're doing fantastic!
 
Hey Lil!!

Thanks for visiting with your well wishes:) The countdown is definitely on!! I can hardly keep my excitement at bay.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top