5/6 Eleanor +9.5 133 SLGS Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70344

There's absolutely no pleasing some people. I didn't like her 305 PS, now I don't like her 9.5 133.
Actually it isn't so much that I don't like it, I'm just.....confused.
Her PS was 307
+5 253
I fed her at +5, I thought I got the usual amount down her...ordinarily I would have fed her again at +7 or +8 but I went to sleep and did not wake up until +9.5. I syringe fed her at that time.
I'm not sure what to do, I realize she could come up a lot between now and shot time, but I know I'm going to be worried even if she is high enough for me to shoot.

The past couple days I've been pondering the wisdom of continuing to increase her dose when she isn't eating much on her own, firstly, something is causing this, a flare up of pancreatitis or something, when the stress of that subsides, couldn't her bg drop? And too, it is at this point totally unpredictable how much food I'm going to be able to get down her because she is fighting me, what if her numbers come down and I can't get food in?
Then I get a 133 at +9.5.
I guess there is a question in here somewhere, but I don't know what it is.... if she's below my do not shoot PS of 200 or so I'm not shooting, if she's slightly higher, I'm lost.

She actually did something similar on 2/20, and that's when she was still eating like a pig.

She's clunking around in the water bowl, something she only does when she's high. I'm sure the 133 was accurate, I retested and got 132, I did a control test, plus her blood was hard to get which means she's in the lower numbers.
I guess I'm overthinking again. Maybe she just thought she'd give me a good jolt :-D
It's coming up on +10.5 now. I'll see if I can catch her and test. I'm really, really dizzy today. It messes my brain up, nothing seems quite real and I can't think properly.
 
+10.5 an hour after food 161. Hope she pops up nice and high by shot time so I won't be too scared to shoot. If she does, should I shoot 3u or cut back...ponder...ponder...
I'm wondering if she may often be lower later, I practically never test after +5 or +6 ....
 
Julie --

I'm really confused. You indicated in your post that Eleanor's pre-shot was 307. It that today? If so, you have 314 on your SS. I'm not sure what your concern is. Seeing Eleanor spend more time in blue numbers is a good thing!

If Eleanor is experiencing a bout of pancreatitis, I'm not sure decreasing her dose would be a good thing. Any time there's an infection or inflammation, there's an increased risk for ketones developing. Infection/inflammation + not eating + not enough insulin is a general recipe for ketones. In most cases, if a cat is sick, BG goes up and you need to increase the dose. You're right in that as antibiotics kick in or the cat is feeling better, less insulin is needed and you need to reduce the dose. The same thing can happen after a dental. All you can do is test and keep an eye on the numbers.

One thing to consider is gradually lowering your "no shot" number. If you've been using 200, maybe it's time to consider dropping to 150, especially if you'll be home to test.

How much less is Eleanor eating? As she becomes better regulated, it's typical that cats eat less.
 
The 307 was last night. I haven't updated her SS because it takes forever to get it to open and work, guess it's my dial-up.

How much she is eating at this point depends on how much I can force into her, it's usually close to her "usual" 6 oz a day. Yesterday it was a bit less, about 5 oz. The thing is, she's only eating a couple bites now and then on her own, and fights me when I syringe.

I don't know what my concern is either. Guess I'll shoot at just whatever number and see what happens.
 
If you have to play catch up with your SS, it's helpful to list out the +time and tests in a column in your first post. There are a number of people here who do that just to recap the previous day.

Will Eleanor graze? There are many people here who let their cat free feed. As long as Eleanor gets in her usual amount of food, it's not crucial that she eat everything within an hour of shot time. For example, I break out Gabby's food over the first 4 hours of her cycle. As long as Eleanor will eat, it's not crucial that she eat all at once.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
If you have to play catch up with your SS, it's helpful to list out the +time and tests in a column in your first post. There are a number of people here who do that just to recap the previous day.

Will Eleanor graze? There are many people here who let their cat free feed. As long as Eleanor gets in her usual amount of food, it's not crucial that she eat everything within an hour of shot time. For example, I break out Gabby's food over the first 4 hours of her cycle. As long as Eleanor will eat, it's not crucial that she eat all at once.

I did list out the tests as PS 307, +5 253. I thought it was clear but obviously I should have put 5/5 PMPS. :oops:

Well yes, Eleanor WAS grazing before she quit eating again last week. The food is down for her, she won't eat. That is why I am syringe feeding her. She is fighting that and it is very hard to get the food into her. That was one of my concerns, as I said, I fed her at +5 and normally I would have fed more at +7 or +8 (or both, depending on how much food went in her), but I did not wake up until +9.5.
I shot her at 191. Will see what happens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top