5/6 Champ AMPS 417,+6 138, +8.5 180, PMPS 371, +2 317,+4 283

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Visit with new vet today. Funny thing, the whole reason I'm going to a new vet is because my old vet never returned my phone calls so I could touch base with her about Champ. Guess who called last night? It was definitely a miscommunication and she apologized profusely. The new vet (who is the head vet in my old vet's clinic) said he would talk to her about not calling me back so many times, but he apparently never did talk to her because she didn't know until we were talking on the phone last night that I was going to see him today. Awkward!! And now I'm left to wonder why he never talked to her about the whole situation. Oh well, we'll see how it goes.

I hope everyone's Friday is spectacular. I, for one, am exhausted and cannot WAIT for the weekend to start! :lol:
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417

Patty,

Good luck with the vet today. I can understand how you are left feeling unsure at this point with the old vet apologizing and the new vet not doing what he said he would do. Plus, with them being in the same office, I can imagine that is a little tough. Maybe, they will work together to help Champ, now wouldn't that be nice? Two vets calling and confirming that you are doing ok, and making sure the other vet called and gave you test results, etc. Never wondering what's happening or if they got your message....who am I kidding? Does that really happen in real life?

Sorry Champ is in the Red this am, but he's got company :? ! Hope both our boths are back in the yellow, blue and green soon. Have a good day!
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417

Hi guys .. sorry to see champ up on the red floor today .. hoping he comes down for you by the time you need to go to the vets .. That can be very frustrating dealing with vets who never call back .. but then to have the HEAD vet say he is going to talk to her, but then never does? argggh! I'm hoping that it all get's worked out so champ has the best care ever .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417, +3 239

I'm surprised Champ didn't get a nosebleed with the dive he took in his BGs this morning!! Guess the bounce isn't over yet!
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417, +3 239

Nice to see Champ back in the yellows. Well, that bounce is over, but watch out. That kind of dive often triggers another one. :roll:
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417, +3 239, +6 138, +8.5 180-NEW VET VIS

Wow...I LOVE this new vet. He had studied the protocol and Champ's spreadsheet before I got there. He said he has no problem with the protocol at all and will leave the dosing to me, just shoot him an email once in a while asking him to look over Champ's spreadsheet. He was actually able to open Champ's mouth without Champ struggling AT ALL. Champ just sat there and let him show me all Champ's teeth. He said Champ's teeth are actually really good, very little tartar or gingivitis. He said maybe in a year or two he might need it. I'm already planning on getting a toothbrush to brush his teeth so hopefully we can hold it at bay for a little while. He said just looking at Champ's spreadsheet shows I'm doing fine and for me to carry on!!! And then, to top it all off, he didn't charge me for the visit!!! Saved me $48. I'll take it. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417, +3 239, +6 138, +8.5 180-NEW VET VIS

Hi Patty!! Great news on the vet and I'm so happy for you!!! Also great news on the dental and that you won't have to deal with that for a while. What a super vet to not charge you. The toothbrush Sienne gave you the link to is the same I use with our cats.

Sorry I am just responding to you now regarding your SS. I'm certainly no expert at reading these and you might want to get input from those that are. IMHO, looks like Champ may just need a little bit more juice to get him into green. Looks like he might be bouncing from the blues into those red numbers. Also looks to me like he *might* be clearing a bounce today. You've been at this dose for some time now and so you might very well have room to increase him. I would be most comfortable if you would get some other thoughts before doing so.
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417, +3 239, +6 138, +8.5 180-NEW VET VIS

Hi Champ great numbers this afternoon and great news about your new vet :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417, +3 239, +6 138, +8.5 180-NEW VET VIS

I'm happy that you had a good vet visit nad the price was right!! Way to go :-D . Great news about Champ's teeth. I know you were worried about that. If I tried to brush Gus; teeth, I'd need a suture kit close by. No way with that boy. Can you believe what he did today with his #s? Want to cry, but won't. Have a good night, Patty.
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417,+6 138, +8.5 180, PMPS 371-NEW VET VI

Sienne, thanks for the link. That is my very next purchase. I have a rubber-tipped hairbrush I use to brush Champ and he LOVES it when I brush his gumline. If I hold the brush still, he will rub his mouth all over it. He just loves the massage of his gums I guess!! I figure I might as well get him a toothbrush and hope he likes that just as much.

Bev, Gus really is a two steps forward, three steps back kind of guy, isn't he? I really think a steady breakthrough is coming. He's just been at those crazy high numbers for so long, he just can't let himself believe he's not supposed to be there. When Champ had that 450 last night, I had a very emotional night. In my head, I knew he wasn't in a serious situation, but he acts so different at that high number, I was concerned nonetheless. I didn't want him out of my site "just in case." I really don't know how you emotionally deal with Gus' high numbers. You're one strong mama jama, that's for sure. Gus is so very lucky to have you because you refuse to give up on him. :-D

Marje, no problem on the timeframe you got back with me. I was taking a wee nap, and it felt FABulous. :lol: :lol: I think I'll cut and paste that same question to Sienne and see if she's able to answer. I hate to bother her because of her sis. I don't know if she's traveled back to her own home or not. But, I value your opinion which is why I asked. :-D
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417,+6 138, +8.5 180, PMPS 371-NEW VET VI

I agree with Marjorie that you have room to increase. Champ is getting closer to a good dose, I think, but he's not there yet.

I'm jealous of your no-charge vet visit. I took the day off today just to get three of mine in for checkups, bloodwork, etc. My "day off" cost almost $500!
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417,+6 138, +8.5 180, PMPS 371- SS QUESTI

I had posed this question to Marje and she suggested I put it out there for others to give me an answer. Here's the question:

In looking at Champ's spreadsheet, it seems to me that he's trying really hard to work with this dose. I don't know if it's just wishful thinking on my part or not. It looks like he's really trying to hit those blues, but then will spike a red, and then repeat that cycle. Can anyone give me some insight as to what's going on? Also, if there's a dosing expert out there, I've been holding this dose longer than normal because I've been waiting for the bounce to clear, but it seriously looks to me like he's bouncing high right below shot time and then getting back down to good numbers which, in turn, makes him bounce high before his next shot, and then repeating this. Any idea when I should increase or should I just float with this dose until I see a nice gentle curve again, whatever the numbers end up being?
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417,+6 138, +8.5 180, PMPS 371- SS QUESTI

Hi Patty. I'm not an advice giver, just stopped b to say "hello" and bump up your question. :smile:
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417,+6 138, +8.5 180, PMPS 371- SS QUESTI

Hi Patty,

Great news about your vet visit, sounds like he's onboard with the protocol and with you taking care of dosing. And i'm with Libby as well....jealous that you didn't get charged! I was thinking about "interviewing" some vets next week about Leo, the protocol and his teeth as well.

Good numbers from Champers today, you must be happy that he's finally coming into some blues during the day.....hooray!
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417,+6 138, +8.5 180, PMPS 371- SS QUESTI

Hi Tracy, yes...love the blues, but his curve is way ugly!! Too big of a drop which, of course, makes him bounce like he's made out of rubber! :lol:
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417,+6 138, +8.5 180, PMPS 371- SS QUESTI

Hey Patty!!! Looks like you and Libby cross posted. Here's what she said:

I agree with Marjorie that you have room to increase. Champ is getting closer to a good dose, I think, but he's not there yet.

Good luck with the dosecrease girlfriend!! WOO HOO.....next we'll see GREEN!!!! And since you'll increase in the morning, then you won't be up late :lol: :lol: And thank you for your trust :-D
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417,+6 138, +8.5 180, PMPS 371- SS QUESTI

Patty, first off I am completely jealous that you possibly found a vet that will listen and truly believes you know what you are doing for Champ isn't going to harm him. :-D FREE Vet visit... unheard of but i'm glad for you!
What's up with mid cycle numbers? Champ is trying hard. Libbys right you know, you just aren't quite there yet with the dose, but it will come.. Patience, oh that lovely word Patience :evil:
I'm glad you got to take a wee nap today also, I bet it was some of the best sleep you've had in a while..
Champ~~~~ good numbers for your bean you hear me~~Tommy!
Have a good night Patty,
Squirrel & Tommy ;-)
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417,+6 138, +8.5 180, PMPS 371- SS QUESTI

I'm another one without specific suggestions! but I'll ask a question: Have you tried feeding a snack around +9? A lot of us have found that a late snack smoothes out wobbles. (You like that technical term?? :lol: )
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417,+6 138, +8.5 180, PMPS 371- SS QUESTI

Hi Patty - wow - so sorry I am so late in visiting you today. Time just keeps getting away from me.

I am thrilled that you have a vet you like - and one that is tuned into what we do here. AWESOME! love the price - I was in the same boat as Libby - took all three of mine and well... over $500.00.... Very nice too that Champ can forgo a dental for a while. What I would give to have that be Mannie's case - crikes!: we are in twice a year for that. You are lucky that Champ lets you "brush" his teeth - i am sure once you have the toothbrush it will be piece of cake for you both. No way would Mannie ever let me do that: forbidden territory with him.

Good luck with the dosecrease - I would have said the same thing, though an expert I am not.. You just need to find the right dose - hope the new one will be it, will lower things over all for Champ.

have a great evening!

Hey Champ - midnight pool party at Gracie's!! See you there! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 5/6 Champ AMPS 417,+6 138, +8.5 180, PMPS 371- SS QUESTI

Great news on the new vet! Ans I'm really glad Champ doesn't need a dental yet. I use the same toothbrush that Sienne suggested, it's the on that they use in the video from Cornell. It 's really helpful, although it sounds like champ may just fine with it. I got mine from Medi-Vet for only $7.84 .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top