5/5 Shadow AMPS High +4 357

Status
Not open for further replies.

BradB

Member Since 2012
Hey guys,

I have started regulating shadows food more and only giving him a can at shot time, and at +4. His numbers still seem the same, he has been staying out of the dog food as well. He is up to 4 units, and has been on that for 6 days now. What should I increase his dose to? 4.5? Thanks for the advice.

-Brad
 
Hi Brad, I was looking at your ss this morning.
I think I would go with the 4.5 units. Let's see what others have to say about it, so check back to this condo before you shoot tonight. I would make sure you're home to monitor, when you do the increase. Good luck with it, when you do.

I'm glad you're regulating when he gets his food more, but didn't he used to eat a lot more than that? He was skinny wasn't he? I wouldn't want him to loose weight. How many cans of food was he eating before in 24 hours? I use an infant scale to weigh J.D., but you could use a human scale, and weigh yourself with him in your arms and then subtract your weight.
 
Hey Dyana,

I will be sure to check back before shot time. He gets it in about 5 hours. I will be home to monitor so that isn't an issue.

He did used to eat a lot more than that but maybe I was just overfeeding him. He seems to be fine with getting this much. He doesn't seem skinny today or feel bony anymore. But in 24 hours he was eating probably 7-9 cans or so. The food sure does get expensive.
 
Any suggestions what i should feed him then? This is all turning into one big hassle, can't seem to do anything right and the numbers aren't even staying down. :-|
 
With food, it's not so much quantity that's an issue as it is calories. Lisa Pierson, DVM has a formula for calculating calories per day on her website on feline nutrition.
Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70​
Some brands of cat food are higher in calories than others so it's helpful if you know the calories in what you're feeding and how much Shadow should be getting. Dr. Lisa notes that her formula is "generous" so you may need to shave some calories but at least it's a place to start.

If you are trying to adjust dose and change up the food, dose may be a moving target. I would stick with what you're feeding Shadow. If you need to decrease the amount, do it slowly. Also, as his numbers start to come down and as he's better regulated, his appetite will begin to diminish.
 
don't be hard on yourself brad - there is a TON to learn about all of this. i don't mean to make it more difficult than it is, sometimes i can't tell what you're understanding. a lot of people need to hear things more than one time because there is so much to learn and you can only absorb so much at once. you're doing fine - just keep on plugging.

i think feeding him in the first 4 hours of each cycle is a good change, and increasing his dose to 4.5u is a good idea.
 
Hi Brad.
I think you're doing a fine job in helping Shadow. I would increase tonight, if you're going to be around to monitor him, and I wouldn't feed him less, if he's maintaining his weight, just try to feed him mostly between PS time and about +4
like Julie said.
Eventually, when his numbers are more controlled, he won't eat as much, and it will be less expensive to feed him.
Hang in there.
 
Brad - can you clarify a little more about shadow's food? is the current plan of 4 cans of food per day a dramatic drop? it wasn't too long ago that you'd mentioned 7-9 cans, but we're fuzzy on if this is a sudden change or if it's been a gradual change. if he's at a good weight, we want him to stay there, not lose weight. so if it takes more than 4 cans for him to be stable, that's ok, we just want the food to be stable so the dose can get worked around it. i'm not suggesting he go on a diet.

can you let us know about that? thanks!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top