5/5 Sebastian AMPS 346 +3 275 +6 234 +9 284 PMPS 291 +2 228 +5 201 +10 245

Justin & Sebastian

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

AMPS 346. Blood ketones: 0.8. Little bit of late night vomit with a small amount of fur in it. He's not even throwing up solid hairballs anymore, just trace amounts of fur so I think that's getting better. BG pretty high, looking like a combination of a bounce and no shot last night. Blood ketones building up a tiny amount, most likely because of the high BG. He showed a little bit of appetite this morning, took a few licks of the syringe at least. Got 30ml of food in him right off the bat and then 2u, so hopefully we can get both those numbers down today. I'll want to keep an eye on the ketones and test him again at PMPS to make sure that's not getting out of control. This is really just shaping up to look like another p'titis flare up, which we know how to handle, so we'll just keep doing what we're doing and weather it out.
 
Hi Justin,
I'd been looking out for you, was anxious to see how your boy was doing. I sure hope that he is getting over this vomiting he's been getting, poor guy. I'm glad @Jill & Alex (GA) posted and offered you the benefit of her experience.

I'll want to keep an eye on the ketones and test him again at PMPS to make sure that's not getting out of control.
Great idea. I hope he recovers from the skipped shot soon and we see his BG come down a bit, but with a better margin. You quite rightly note that you'll need to monitor those ketones, and BG especially if this is another P'titis flare, reassessing the dose if the numbers don't come down to a good level especially if ketones rise.

Tag me if you need to bounce your thoughts on dosing.
I haven't been round much lately, as I've had trouble with my eyes, and can't spend to long on the screen, as they get painful, but I would be notified of a tag.

Thanks for Adding the IAA to the sig block.
 
234@+6. Drop is slowing. Will be interested to see if he continues to drop or if he's going to start to rise. His weight is down quite a bit today too, which I was hoping wouldn't happen but kind of suspected would. He's been keeping the food down for them most part, really only the little bit of vomit at night but during the day everything stays down, though he's had diarrhea so I know he hasn't been fully utilizing the food. I'm going to give him a couple extra syringes each meal to try and offset what he's losing.
 
He's been keeping the food down for them most part, really only the little bit of vomit at night but during the day everything stays down,
That's better,
though he's had diarrhea so I know he hasn't been fully utilizing the food.
I found that George would get diarrhea after I had to steer his numbers with HC food in particular, I always figured it was likely the cornstarch in the HC food that caused him the problem. I wonder if something like that could be happening???
 
But he's been drinking water on his own, I check his skin and gums, and I've got a bag of sub-q on hand if needed.
That's great that you are checking and have the means to re hydrate him if there's a problem.

Hope the ketones are back down when you check again later today, and that his BG keeps coming down gently.
 
So far it's looking like a pretty defined curve for the cycle. Nice to see a predictable curve, just don't want it to be so high. I don't really want to wait the full 6 cycles before an adjustment, so I want to start planning now. Just based on this cycle, if these numbers hold, do an increase of .5 after 4 cycles on 5/7 AM. Of course this is just brainstorming and we'll need to see what happens when the depot settles.
 
So far it's looking like a pretty defined curve for the cycle.
I always find it's harder to tell for sure if they are running in higher numbers. Why? Well given that there can be 20% meter variance that 234 and 284 are about the same.
I don't really want to wait the full 6 cycles before an adjustment, so I want to start planning now.
Good to be thinking ahead.
I think it is likely that you will need to come up some in dose, but remember you need to be pretty certain, that he is not seeing lower numbers, so especially in the pm cycle it will be important to follow up that just before bed test if you find he is dropping significantly. You don't need to wait a prescribed number of cycles with a failed reduction, but with the skip, it will be difficult to see what the dose is doing until the depot is full, so look at the trend, in recent past it's taken just about 3 cycles for him to get back to it.
Taking him up to 2.5u seems sensible enough, though he may even need a little more, when deciding it will also be important to see how those ketones are doing, I do think it's a good idea to check them again this evening as you suggested, given the reduced insulin, he's not feeling well and his numbers are up. If ketones are going up you might need to take the dose up sooner.
 
PMPS 291. Not much change from +8. Blood ketones: 0.7, slightly less than this morning. He also showed a bit of improvement with appetite, licked up 20ml of slurry on his own and then ate almost 1/8can of solid Wellness Core. So some positive signs all around.

I want to get a firm handle on what his numbers are doing right now so I'm going to get a +3, +6, +9 tonight also.
 
Definitely much improved appetite. He's licked up 6 of the 7 syringes. So seeing as he's eating a bit more readily and I don't have to spend as much time on it, I'm going to modify the plan a bit for tonight and get a +2 here in a bit, sleep for a few hours, wake up and get a +5, feed him second meal over that hour then get a +6, then sleep for a bit more and shoot for a +10
 
I like that +5,
90point drop from PMPS so a definite dip in numbers, paws crossed he cruises to amps.
Ketones holding steady so that's all good too. Let's hope they come down a bit more by amps.
I'm glad to hear that he ate a bit on his own, and had a bit more appetite overall, all positive signs.

I will likely not be around for your amps, but I'll stop by later.
FWIW, given how this evening cycle has panned out, ketones, improved appy, I think your plan to hold for 4 cycles is looking like a good one so far. He's shown some good downward movement with his BG, and we're only a couple of cycles in on the 2u, so it will be interesting to see where he goes as the depot builds a bit further. If you start to see blue, you may even want to hold the dose the full 6 cycles, but wait and see how the cycles pan out before making any definite decisions.
 
Back
Top