5/5 Rupert PMPS 487,+1.5 349,+4.5 90,+5.5 97+6.5 111 & AHA!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70246&p=764542#p764542

recap:

AMPS 565.2
+2 478.8
+6 421.2
PMPS 365.4
+2.5 367.2

Rupie beginning to look a little haggard again. Coat is still coat but a little dehydrated. Not as active, sigh. Merrick for dinner and for breakfast this morning. having the usual 'wonder if the insulin is done' thoughts although it was only started on April 14.....

negative for ketones.

Not sure what to do, hate seeing him in these high high numbers. wondering if I should just threaten a dosecrease, or go actually go to the full 2u again. this is the seventh cycle at full 1.75.
 
Re: 5/5 Rupert AMPS 497, +2 493.. Advice/eyes/thoughts??

YIKES, Rupert!!!

Dude, those numbers just can't feel good!

I'm useless with advice on dosing, Pip...
but sending a shout out to your handsome boy to STOP FLYING HIGH, BUDDY!!!

flying+cat.png
 
Re: 5/5 Rupert AMPS 497, +2 493.. Advice/eyes/thoughts??

he's back in a bounce cycle. the last one took 3.5 days to resolve - if he does the same, that would be the sunday night cycle. i think i would call it a failed reduction and increase back up. with a failed reduction, i am uncertain if you need to wait for the bounce to clear, ie at the next yellow or blue preshot number, or if you can just go back up immediately.

let's see what others say on that.

eta - rethinking this - you already went back up in dose for the failed reduction, so i'm thinking it now becomes straightforward in that he needs a dose increase and you wait for the bounce to clear, then increase.
 
Re: 5/5 Rupert AMPS 497, +2 493.. Advice/eyes/thoughts??

tee hee.. okay... so... um.. got a little confused there.

he needs a dose increase. but I wait till the bounce clears? (hope it clears).. or not. Sorry. got a tad muddled when I read it.

thanx for the help. feeling a little lost here.
 
Re: 5/5 Rupert AMPS 497, +2 493.. Advice/eyes/thoughts??

i think i'd wait for the bounce to clear, ie, a blue/yellow preshot and then increase. the protocol would have you increase by .25u, but i know you've been fine-tuning with less than that. i'd probably go with the .25 from the protocol - libby says "keep showing them the greens" to get him to stop bouncing.
 
Re: 5/5 Rupert PMPS 487, +1.5 349, +4.5 90... SERIOUSLY?!

wow +4.5 and we are into the green.. in spectacular diving fashion yet again, sigh!

okay. no complaints, but ick on the dive. guess the threatened dosecrease worked.. question now is.. do I take the dosecrease tomorrow or stay at this level??? start the betting now on how high the bounce will be from this one by tomorrow morning, guess I"m up a little while longer to see how he's doing.
 
Re: 5/5 Rupert PMPS 487, +1.5 349, +4.5 90... SERIOUSLY?!

Pip & Rupert said:
wow +4.5 and we are into the green.. in spectacular diving fashion yet again, sigh!

okay. no complaints, but ick on the dive. guess the threatened dosecrease worked.. question now is.. do I take the dosecrease tomorrow or stay at this level??? start the betting now on how high the bounce will be from this one by tomorrow morning, guess I"m up a little while longer to see how he's doing.


Rupie surf! More green tonight!
 
Re: 5/5 Rupert PMPS 487, +1.5 349, +4.5 90,+5.5 97. SERIOUSL

Glad there is some company up tonight. Rupie wins the diving crown tonight.
 
Re: 5/5 Rupert PMPS 487+1.5 349,+4.5 90,+5.5 97,+6.5 111 & A

aha moment. it's late. I"m heading to bed shortly after one more test on Rupie. but I *think* I may have realized something!!! ohmygod_smile

Vet gave us this stuf called Happy Mouth - a sort of 'mouth wash' for cats/dogs. green liquid. add to their water. helps with bacterial infections in the mouth blah blah blah, good for after dental work etc. Rupie didn't like it much to start with so didn't drink much of it. lately he seems fine with it, drinking quite a bit.. I asked vet when she gave it to us if it was okay for diabetics and she assured us it was. I finally had a'thought' this evenng and double checked the label.. then did a bunch of research. got some conflicting info.. but... the first ingredient is GLYCERIN???????????????? now some studies say it has no effect on BG levels, a lot of others say it does. I finally poked my own finger to get some blood, put some of the Healthy/Happy Mouth in with the blood and tested it... came back HI on the meter............

?????? could poor Rupie's body really be trying to do the right thing and then blammo he goes for a drink of sugar water and up go his levels.

DOH!!!!!!!!!!! have cleaned out his bowl, replaced with fresh water. will conduct further research over the next few days. Course he just had a fairly decent drink before I cleaned it out... dammit...

could it be that? maybe I'm grasping at straws. Still.. could explain the boucing.. although Rupert WAS getting good numbers for a while there after his dental...

experimentation/research will progress. Anyone have thoughts re Glycerin?????????? and if it is bad for diabetics I'm gonna be mighty pissed at my vet.
 
Re: 5/5 Rupert PMPS 487,+1.5 349,+4.5 90,+5.5 97+6.5 111 & A

Poor Rupie! So mummy found the culprit forcing all that bounce, finally! Good for you Pip! Throw away that mouth wash! Seriously, mouth wash for our kitties? They always smells great!
 
Re: 5/5 Rupert PMPS 487,+1.5 349,+4.5 90,+5.5 97+6.5 111 & A

From what I could find, both the American Dietetic Association and the U.S. Food & Drug Administration classify glycerin as a carb.

I also found something that says glycerine doesn't raise blood sugars in people who are not on low-carb diets.
Here is the link:
http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=147338

Of course it relates to people not cats.
 
Re: 5/5 Rupert PMPS 487,+1.5 349,+4.5 90,+5.5 97+6.5 111 & A

From what I can tell, there's no consistent information about the effect of glycerin on BG. I think eliminating the product and seeing what's happening with Rupert's numbers is the best way to know. It may also be that Rupert is one of those bouncy kitties.

You want to wait until the bounce clears before changing the dose.
 
Re: 5/5 Rupert PMPS 487,+1.5 349,+4.5 90,+5.5 97+6.5 111 & A

Oy vey, Rupert! You have to stop this dive/bounce thing! Poor Pip must be getting worn out.

I hope the glycerine is the culprit in this nonsense and he'll even out a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top