5/5 punkin amps 195 +3/213 +6/147 pmps 258 +3/217

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42638

he is his usual happy purry self this morning. gobbled down breakfast & now is finishing anya's. i'm sure bath to follow.

Vacation question - my thought is to go down .25 to 7.0 for the vet tech to give while we're gone this weekend. we leave very early (pre shot) tomorrow morning. I did just raise it last night to 7.25 because he was spending all the time in the 200's. Does that sound about right for a vacation dose? not low enough that he soars but enough that he doesn't go in the 100's?

he'll eat while we're gone, so i'm not worried about that. i think he'll be relatively unaffected by it.


i asked about dose yesterday, so more discussion on it is in that condo.
 
Re: 5/5 punkin amps 195 Vacation Dose?

Same for me Julie. It might be tough to get an answer today. Jill's DGS is in the hospital; Sienne is with her DS after surgery. Libby works and I know Laurie has been super busy with her birds. Not sure if Miriam or Ronnie are on much but just leave that subject title like it is and hopefully someone will bop in. I don't know if it will help because ECID but you can look at Gabby's SS and see what Sienne just did for her as she has a DPS at her house. But again....that's Gabby and not Punkin and they are very different.
 
Re: 5/5 punkin amps 195 Vacation Dose?

Julie, I don't have an answer for you either, but wanted to drop by and say "way to go Punkin" :-D starting out in the blue at least.
I believe your thinking on what you want to do is correct, but i'm sure some one with more expertise will drop by with an answer before you head
out..
I hope that you have a wonderful day!!
Squirrel & Tommy ;-)
 
Re: 5/5 punkin amps 195 Vacation Dose?

thanks all - yes i realize all the regulars who answer dosing q's are out . . . but i'm still leaving at 5am-ish and have to do something! so i'll cast it out there and see what floats back in!
 
Re: 5/5 punkin amps 195 +3/213 +6/147 Vacation Dose?

i saw sienne reduced gabby's dose by .25 the day before she left and another .25 for the pet sitter . . . just not sure if that's what i should do or not. so i'll bump again, just in case someone sees it - evening shot 30 minutes from now.
 
Re: 5/5 punkin amps 195 +3/213 +6/147 Vacation Dose?

I reduced Gabby's dose by 0.25 initially to drain her shed a bit because I was going out to dinner on Sun. night AND because Gabby has this nasty tendency of nose diving as I'm getting ready to leave for the airport. The intent was to get her to 0,5u. Usually, I've dropped her dose by about 1/3 but that's also based on what I'm shooting and that my DPS has to shoot blind.

Will Punkin let your vet tech test? Is anyone able to check on Punkin during the day or is the only monitoring going to be at shot times?
 
Re: 5/5 punkin amps 195 +3/213 +6/147 Vacation Dose?

sorry, i sent some of the info in the pm - yes, the vet tech is going to come about +5-+6 and test mid cycle. she's also testing pre-shot both am & pm.
 
Re: 5/5 punkin amps 195 +3/213 +6/147 Vacation Dose?

pmps 258 - also sienne - i increased his dose last night from 7.0 to 7.25 - libby suggested it and even though we're leaving tomorrow early his numbers had been constantly in the 200's, so i went ahead. not sure if that matters in your decision or not.

should i make any change in tonight's dose?
 
Re: 5/5 punkin amps 195 +3/213 +6/147 pmps 258 Vacation Dose

Even with a vet tech, we try to set-up the dose so it's easy to measure -- on either a full or half unit syringe line. I would either go with 7.0 or 6.5u depending on where your comfort level is. Also, I would give your DPS a "no shoot" number. Some cats become picky eaters or won't eat well when their bean isn't home. I would suggest that you have your DPS skip the shot if Punkin's pre-shot is under 150.
 
Re: 5/5 punkin amps 195 +3/213 +6/147 pmps 258 thanks sienne

Julie,I just caught up on all the do's and dont's of punkins dosing.. I would come take care of him in a heartbeat if i could..(road trip)

I'm so glad things got squared away, once again expert advise to the rescue :-D Nice numbers for Punkin today also!!
Have a wonderful time on your vacation.
Ni Ni I-)
Squirrel & Tommy
 
thanks - it's ridiculously rushed because i didn't want to be too long away from the punkin boy. leaving friday morning from oregon for a saturday morning graduation in virginia and returning hom on sunday night. crazy.

you all have a great weekend too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top