5/5 Pumbaa AMPS/392 +3/324 +6/288 +9/310 PMPS/346

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Had to decide whether to increase Pumbaa's dose this morning or start a new Lantus pen.

I opted to start the new pen, leave the dose at 1.00U, and see what happens with his numbers.

Logic says that after he cleared that 508 bounce, he should have settled down into yellow/200 numbers, like he did on 4/28. But that's not what happened...he settled into pink. :roll: I thought only my clients played the "Confuse-a-Suze" game.

He was being feisty/Mr. Wiggle Butt for his test and injection this morning, so I will probably only test him at 3/6/9 today, and maybe try and do a curve tomorrow.

And Larry, the civvie, has turned into klepto-kitty overnight! Pumbaa used to be the one who would swipe things from me/my desk, etc., and go hide them. Yesterday, Larry stole the cover to the lancet right from under my nose, and this morning he tried stealing a pencil, an eraser and a practice syringe out of a container on my desk. What's up with THIS new behavior?

Suze

UPDATE: Okay! Now he's doing what he should have been doing yesterday, as in having numbers decline. Is it the new insulin pen I started this morning? Is it taking him off the FF Classics again? I don't know, but I'm sure happy to see the numbers declining again!!!!!!

PMPS UPDATE: Comparing yesterdays a.m. numbers and today's a.m. numbers, it doesn't look like there is much of a difference opening a new pen. I didn't do a +6 yesterday in the morning cycle, and Pumbaa very well could have dropped down into the 200's for a short time without my knowing it. In any case, looks like he's going up to 1.25U in the morning. Then again, per "start low-go slow": If the lowest point of the curve is above 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.5 unit. So I will muddle over this tonight and decide if I am going to increase by .25U or by .50U. In either case, I expect some bounces from my bouncy boy, so I might just opt for increasing by .50U and not waste time with clearing the bounces on the .25U increase. Then again, previously when I upped him to 1.25U, his lowest point was 140, after which he started hitting the reds and blacks and those never really did clear before I bumped him up to 1.50U. So, prudence tells me to take him up to 1.25U in the morning, and, again, wait patiently for ALL bounces to clear before I do anything else.
 
Happy that you went with the 1.25U :) Now Pumbaa, seriously, enough with the red...blue is just so much nicer on a handsome boy like you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top