5/5 Orange PMPS 97, +1 149, +4 82

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70254


Orange had a strange cycle last night. PMPS of 118, +2 136, +3 148. At that point I went to bed thinking maybe I gave him a furshot and didn't notice or maybe he got into some forbidden carbs somewhere. Either way he was rising and I expected him to be high this morning. Nope! We woke up to a beautiful AMPS of 136. I wonder what was going on last night?
 
Re: 5/5 Orange AMPS 136, +3 60

WOOHOO!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just look at that pretty +3!!!

nice going, Orange!

BTW, Binks is the king of sneaking the forbidden foods...
Orange- we do NOT want you to join his little crew of Contrabandanistas!!

celi & binks
 
Re: 5/5 Orange AMPS 136, +3 60, +6 54

surfcat72.jpg
 
Re: 5/5 Orange AMPS 136, +3 60, +6 54 +10 76 - PM shot quest

He is sure liking these greens today!

+10 at 76 - wow!

So... if he doesn't come up before his PM shot time what should I do with him?

We've had a bunch of low PS blues recently, and he very well might go back up to there in the next 2 hrs and I don't need to worry. I've never shot green though, so I wanted to get the question out there early.

The only time I have seen a green PS was 4/23 - he was at 97 then I waited an hour (I had to leave the house and couldn't get back for an earlier check). He was at 198 and I shot him then. His numbers are looking much different then they were a few weeks ago though, so I don't know if any of that data is still very relevant.

The way I understand it, my options are:
-skip
-shoot a reduced dose = 0.25 (he did hit 50 in his cycle today, 1 more point and that would have been a reduction anyway, right?)
-stall, monitor, shoot when rising
-shoot his full dose of 0.5 at his regular time

I certainly don't want to skip. I'll be here to monitor all night. I'm open to any of the other 3 options. Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks!
 
Re: 5/5 Orange AMPS 136, +3 60, +6 54 +10 76 - PM shot quest

I think you should get a +11 or +11.5 and see where Orange's numbers are sitting. You can then compare to the +12 to see what directions numbers are heading.
 
Re: 5/5 Orange AMPS 136, +3 60, +6 54 +10 76 - PM shot quest

Hi Sienne,

+11 = 90

I'm thinking he'll be good to shoot, but this might be his lowest one yet!

At what number for the PMPS would you say we're good to go shoot the full dose?
 
Re: 5/5 Orange AMPS 136, +6 54 +10 76, +11 90, PMPS 97 - Sho

PMPS 97.

Should I shoot?

I'm going to wait 5 min - then shoot is full dose if noone tells me thats a really bad idea!
 
Re: 5/5 Orange PMPS 97 - First time shooting green!

Since he has been rising (although slowly) I shot his full dose.

Will get a +1 reading.

Let's see if I get to sleep tonight :-D
 
Re: 5/5 Orange PMPS 97 - First time shooting green!

That was the right call Julie - got to shoot low to stay low - well done :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Definitely get your +1 and +2 tonight and have your ~O) ready :lol:
 
Re: 5/5 Orange PMPS 97 - First time shooting green!

Thanks guys. Glad to hear that it wasn't crazy of me to give him the full dose!

haha.... I don't drink coffee but the past couple of weeks have got me thinking that I need to start!

Stay tuned for a +1
 
Re: 5/5 Orange PMPS 97 - First time shooting green!

Nice cycle today for Orange. Yes, you need to start drinking coffee or something with caffeine.
 
Re: 5/5 Orange PMPS 97 - First time shooting green!

+1 = 149

What sort of info do we get from +1s? I know that they are usually higher than the PS since he just had food and the shot hasn't really kicked in yet. Can we tell something more about the cycle from him going from 97 to 149? I know I have heard if the +2 isn't lower than the PS then they usually won't dive.
 
Re: 5/5 Orange PMPS 97, +1 149 - First time shooting green!

On a side note - my civie Charlie just caught a fly. Seriously, how do you even do that?
 
Re: 5/5 Orange PMPS 97, +1 149 - First time shooting green!

Lovely green shoot! Safe beautiful surf Orange!
 
Re: 5/5 Orange PMPS 97, +1 149 - First time shooting green!

wonderful! the yellow starred sticky "how to handle low numbers" is the guideline on either shooting numbers lower than you are used to or dealing with low numbers during the cycle. i'd print it out - you never know when the server's going to go down or something.

experienced people shoot down into the 50's - it seems crazy, but it flattens out the cycle and you can end up with a line of flat BG numbers instead of a curve. that's fantastic. the more time orange spends in green numbers, the greater the time for his pancreas to kick back into gear.

the +1 tells you if orange got a food spike. he did - which is normal and good. if the number had gone down instead of up, say he'd been at 70 at +1, we'd have been alerted to the possibility of him going low and your need to monitor even more.

i think it all looks great tonight. way to go!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top