5/5 Monkey PMPS 473

PH&MonkeyPenPenFaFaTiger

Member Since 2020
Monkey's BG does not fall a lot today:( Today I followed @Bron and Sheba (GA)'s advice to feed him at the period that BG is likely to fall ( +2 to 4+) to prevent sharp fall. So he eats like 3 meals before +5. After that he eats every 3 hour.

I hope his high BG is because I feed him a lot, not because of serious disease. What should I do next? @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Nan & Amber (GA) . It is hard to see his BG to be that high. It is quite overwhelming to see. Maybe I need to do some meditation. :banghead: I trust that you beautiful people would understand this kind of fatigue.

Also, his poop is watery but also looks concentrated today. I wonder if it is because I feed too much (unlikely since this happen before I adopt the new feeding practice). What should I do.
 
Hi Peter--

He may still be bouncing from the fast drop in the AM cycle yesterday. I do also worry about some underlying issue bumping his numbers up, though. I know you were thinking of bringing him in to the vet earlier, but there was a holiday so you couldn't. Are you still thinking of bringing him in?
 
Hi Peter--

He may still be bouncing from the fast drop in the AM cycle yesterday. I do also worry about some underlying issue bumping his numbers up, though. I know you were thinking of bringing him in to the vet earlier, but there was a holiday so you couldn't. Are you still thinking of bringing him in?

Yes, he will see the vet 12 hours later from now:) What underlying issue?
 
What underlying issue?

I wish I had a specific guess! It's just one possibility with his numbers being so high lately. We did reduce the dose by quite a lot around the same time, though, too, so it might be as simple as that. But you've also report some allergy-like issues, a bloated belly, pica (eating his litter), so there are some hints that there might be something going on that is irritating him and raising his BG.
 
I wish I had a specific guess! It's just one possibility with his numbers being so high lately. We did reduce the dose by quite a lot around the same time, though, too, so it might be as simple as that. But you've also report some allergy-like issues, a bloated belly, pica (eating his litter), so there are some hints that there might be something going on that is irritating him and raising his BG.

Update: Monkey's BG is 500 at +4:arghh::arghh::arghh:.

Yes, it may be simple as not enough insulin, should we increase his dose @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Nan & Amber (GA)

I always wonder if it is the insulin's problem because they work all the time except the past six days (They are opened for about 20 days)Or I fail to inject or Monkey fail to absorb. Do you think these are possible reasons?
 
Let's see where he is in the morning, but he is really making a case for fast-tracking back up, that's for sure.

20 days should be fine, especially if you are keeping the insulin refrigerated. Excessive heat is a problem, freezing is a problem, and it shouldn't be shaken. If none of those have happened, and the insulin still looks clear (no particles or cloudiness), the insulin is probably OK.

Furshots are always possible, but I doubt you have done so many of them here. I don't think that's a likely cause. I also don't think non-absorption is likely, that's not something I've heard of for this.
 
I’m not convinced it’s lack of insulin. 8 days ago 1 unit was getting Monkey down to 59 and a Preshot of 92.
I think he is definitely bouncing.
Have you done anything else different?. Are you sure he’s not getting into dry food if the others are having it?
 
Back
Top