5/5 Merlin AMPS 381, PMPS 395

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Very Active Member
5/5
AMPS 381

Off to the vet this am with my SS, list of foods and to get the Clavamox refilled. Will give you an update later today.
 
Re: 5/5 Merlin AMPS 381

Good luck with the vet visit and tell Merlin to quit copying Lucian's numbers, they aren't healthy. :lol:
 
Re: 5/5 Merlin AMPS 381

Thanks for all the "good lucks" this morning.

I dropped off the spreadsheet and list of foods with all the %'s (protein, carb, phos dm, etc.). He said the list that I had highlighted is good (I highlighted about ten of them that had low carb, somewhat medium protein i.e. 30's-40's, and low phos dm). He told me to aim for 25% (give or take) in protein, low carbs (of course) and no more than 2% in phosphorous. So basically what I have been feeding Merlin has been just fine.

Regarding the insulin dose, I suggested a .2U increase and he suggested a .5U increase. I then suggested a compromise of .4U since the conversion table for the U40 to U100 syringes only was good in increments of .2. He agreed. Regardless, he would like for the doses to be consistent all week again and for me to do another BG curve next Monday. I asked if I should change the dose to 1U if I should get mid 200's for pre-shot and he said that I should continue to give 1.4U. He said that he wants to see consistency so Merlin isn't bouncing and felt that we accomplished it this week with the 1U but should increase so we can try to get the numbers lower and no bounce.

Depending how this next week of test goes, he then would like to test his kidneys again to see if there are any improvements so he can get in there to clean his teeth. Also he would like to see a fructosamine test done possibly after a couple more weeks.

I really like the fact that I can send him the information, he then calls me with his input; hence no office visit for Merlin. So that is the update.
 
Re: 5/5 Merlin AMPS 381

I think it sounds good, Cindi. I like the compromised dose (you can always increase if it is too little; you have to deal with a hypo if it is too much. :mrgreen: ) I don't like the idea of giving 1.5 if he tests 200 or under. It's clear that he can drop quite a bit. I would err on the side of caution if you start seeing lower preshots. It doesn't make sense to me that giving 1.5 on a 338 and the same dose on 200 would be safe, but you can wait to see what happens. You could either try it once and plan to bring him up if he drops low, or you can tell the vet you were afraid to give him that dose.
 
Re: 5/5 Merlin AMPS 381

Cindi,

For what it's worth, I think your proposal for a 1.2u would have been good to try for maybe 6 cycles to see if you can bring Merlin a bit flatter. However, I also think, in the bigger scheme of things, if you are willing to do as advised by the vet to his satisfaction, hopefully, he will clear Merlin to get the dental done. Hugs for you and Merlin!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top