5/5 Maggie PMPS 137; +3 118; +4 129 AT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70233

Friday, 5-4
AMPS 153
+3 104
+5 104
PMPS 136
+3 105
+4 88 :mrgreen: Free feeds overnight

Morning ~O) I think today Maggie is really teasing me for a dosecrease. This is the lowest AMPS she's had in a long, long time. Maggie had an almost CPC with her overnight fuds. She is full of p & v and is so playful this morning. Whenever I get a low number on the AT, I do another check on my backup Relion Micro just to keep in sync with all of you and see how low it would read on the hm. It tested the same, 109! This was with another poke and drop of blood, sorry Maggie's ear! Do any of you replace your meter after so many years? I've had this Relion Micro for three and a half years and never even replaced a battery, so I'm wondering if it's a little off. The Relion Micro is known for reading low in comparison to other meters, or so I thought.
Have a nice day everyone. I need to run some errands today and wanted to meet a friend for coffee, so we'll see where the spirit leads me today, or should I say depends on Maggie's run.[*]
 
Re: 5/5 Maggie AMPS 109; +2 77 AT

+2 77 AT :mrgreen:

+2 86 Relion Micro

Oh gosh, I'm glad I got that +2! Maggie was extra hungry and chatty, so I knew something was up!
This is even stranger than the above reading with my back-up. My Relion Micro gave me an 86 reading. I did the poke with the same spot of blood as the Relion sucks up the smallest drop.
 
Re: 5/5 Maggie AMPS 109; +2 77; +3 66 AT

+3 66 :mrgreen:

Thanks Angela! Maggie is a happy camper, as she just got fed a tsp. of FF Turkey & Giblets which acts a a mc/hc on her being very carb sensitive. This will bring her up.
Maggie just earned dosecrease with the 66 as I'm following the modified protocol by giving Maggie a reducie when she gets one under 70. Just so it won't be too confusing, as there was a long discussion about a month ago on Maggie, and this is what I was advised regarding her dosing. Mags is a long term diabetic kitty and also a returning from the Falls kitty is the reason she's following the modified protocol. Maggie is presently on 4 drops, so I'll reduce her to three drops. With that low a dose with the 4 drops, to reduce to three drops would be just like a .25 reduction. I guess I'll take the three drops tonight unless anyone has any other thoughts. Per Jill on Maggie's dosing:


Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107; +3 80; +4 88 FOUND IT
by Jill & Alex » Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:45 pm

because maggie (long term diabetic) is down to only 5 drops of insulin you might want to follow the modified version by shaving her dose every time she drops below 70 (AT) or 40 (human meter)... and forgetting about the dropping 3 times below 80 (AT) or 50 (human meter) mentioned in the formal TR protocol. that's just what i would do since she has a history of not holding reductions...
Jill & Alex
DX: 07/05/2006 with DKA
PROFILE ~ 2006 LANTUS and 2009, 2010, 2011, & 2012 LEVEMIR DATA
LANTUS & LEVEMIR: WHAT'S THE DIFFERENCE? ~ LANTUS & LEVEMIR: MORE INFO
FDMB member since 2006
 
Re: 5/5 Maggie AMPS 109; +2 77; +3 66 AT

WOW! What a wonderful morning! Congrats on the dosecrease - that was has been brewing for a bit, I think you were right this AM when you said she has been working on this. Way to go Mags!! I agree with the reduction from 4 to 3 drops, and 'd take it with the PM cycle: IMHO.

I've had my meters for a long time too, replaced batteries now and then. Sometimes I get one that just stops working, and out it goes. That has happened once. Maybe replace the battery in your back up one, see if the inconsistency of this morning disappears?

Enjoy the rest of your day today. I hope you will be able to meet with your friend. Always a fun thing to do. :-D
 
Re: 5/5 Maggie AMPS 109; +2 77; +3 66 AT

Good Morning Ann & Maggie, and congrats on the dose reduction! It is now time for one!

I think that the life of meter batteries is based on the number of tests, not months or years. But in order to be sure, I would replace the battery in your ReliOn Micro since it is more than 3 years old. I haven't heard that the Relion Micro reads lower than other human meters (I think you may have it confused with the FreeStyleLite). In any event, I think that in the lower numbers there would be less than a 30-point difference between the AT and a human meter. I agree that you should stick with the relevant numbers on the AT when determining when to take a dosecrease.

Have a great day. Happy Cinco de Mayo and Full Flower Moon!

Ella & Rusty

Hi Maggie, I'll see you on the beach in Florida this afternoon. We're going to have a great party!
Rusty
 
Re: 5/5 Maggie AMPS 109; +2 77; +3 66; +4 72 AT

+4 72

Up a little, more FF T&G for Maggie. It's hard to judge how much with her.

Thanks Michelle. I had a feeling today was the day, as she's never been that low with her AMPS in a long time. Good idea with the battery in the Relion Micro.

Ella, thanks on the reducie! I think I may have the Relion Micro confused with the Freestyle Lite now that you mention it. I will get another battery. I think last time I found them at Radio Shack.
Rusty, yes, I'm ready for the beach in Fla, Mags
 
Re: 5/5 Maggie AMPS 109; +2 77; +3 66; +4 72 AT

The teasing stopped, and she got downright SERIOUS!!!!!!!!!!

CONGRATS ON THE REDUCIE, MIZ MANXIE!!!!!!

serious-cat.jpg
 
Re: 5/5 Maggie AMPS 109; +2 77; +3 66; +4 72; +5 111 AT

+5 111

Perfect!!! Just a little over a tsp of the FF T&G & gravy brought Mags up to a normal range. She may even spike more.

Thanks Celi, she sure was teasing all week but never quite got there! I'm glad she picked a day when I'm home in the morning.
I love the pic of the sweet kitty. Kitty reminds me of my GA kitty (Mikey). I think somewhere on my computer I have a pic of him. I'll post if I do.
 
Re: 5/5 Maggie AMPS 109; +2 77; +3 66; +4 72; +5 111 AT

FWIW, I always tended to get a lower reading on the Relion Micro than I did on the Nova Max Plus-
so I went with the Relion since i'd rather think he was too low than to not realize how low he actually was!

I did worry for a while that i might be giving him reductions he hadn't actually earned, but turns out he kicked the habit anyway :-D

Hope you can find the Mikey pic...
he must've been a doll!!
 
Re: 5/5 Maggie AMPS 109; +2 77; +3 66; +4 72; +5 111 AT

FWIW, I always tended to get a lower reading on the Relion Micro than I did on the Nova Max Plus-

Celi, thanks for clarifying that re the meters. I thought some time ago there was a discussin on it. I agree it is better to go with the one that reads lower.
Yes, Mikey was a doll. I'll keep looking.
 
Re: 5/5 Maggie PMPS 137

AMPS 109
+2 77 :mrgreen:
+3 66 FF T&G :mrgreen:
+4 72 FFT&G :mrgreen:
+5 111 Wellness Turkey mini
+7 123
+10 116 Snack Wellness Turkey
PMPS 137

Maggie kept her low numbers even with the FF T&G which she loved, btw! The FF T&G seems to give her just enough of s spike to get back to normal range. I'll give her the dosecrease for the pm cycle.
 
Re: 5/5 Maggie PMPS 137

Go Maggie Go



I think you can just call the manufacturer and they'll send you a new battery for free :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Only 3 drops away from movin in with me Mags, Ize excited - love Vyktor xxx
 

Attachments

  • Geen Kitty.jpg
    Geen Kitty.jpg
    4.4 KB · Views: 322
Re: 5/5 Maggie PMPS 137; +3 118 AT

+3 118

Maggie's doing great in spite of the FF T&G mc! I started her reducie of three drops at the pm cycle.

Serryn, I love the pic of the green kitty. It looks like Maggie's shape/figure! :lol:
Vyktor, that's right, just three drops away from you know what! Luvs, Mags

Hi Anne, yes, she has kept it going. I expected a spike, but nice PMPS.

Thanks Becky & Morlei; she's been on a roll today. She normally doesn't bounce, but we'll see what happens tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top