5/5 Bubu AMPS 339, +3 242, +5 280 KETONES 3.9, PMPS 278

Yanna

Active Member
Last post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-1-bubu-amps-hi-1-5-373-ketones-1-6.289472/


@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom


Bubu feels better and better since she started eating snacks mixed with water throughout the day. Rea upped the quantity of food to 1 3/4 cans a day and Bubu gained 0.5 kg after a few days. Now she's trying to feed her 2 cans a day.

Rea still needs time to join the forum and start posting. I still have one week off work so I can post instead of her. Then I'm afraid she will have to make an effort and overcome the barrier of language and familiarize herself with how the forum works.


Just realized today that she increased by 0.5 instead of 0.25 . she went from 1.5 u to 2 u.

I've explained both dosing methods to her. she will start the SLGS method.

Today is 7 days after the increase to 2 u. she tests enough. Does she need to do a curve?
What about the dose? Should she keep it or increase?

(Bubu's tests are at the end of Naomi's ss)

Rea & Bubu, 11 yo, 2.7kg, Dx: October 2023, LC wet, human meter, bood ketone meter, DKA Jan 2024, chronic pancreatitis, hepatic lipidosis
 
Last edited:
I’m concerned with the ketone reading. Look at this which says if 2.55+ more likely fur DKA. If not eating any dry it would be better to follow TR at least until that changes.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...oacidosis-dka-and-blood-ketone-meters.135952/
Thanks Elise for your reply!

Most of the members from Greece in this forum who started with SLGS had to switch to TR in the end. Their cats are doing fantastic on it. Rea is very reluctant because although she tests enough some days can do a +2 and then a +6. She's afraid of Bubu going low when she's at work.

I'll ask her to increase to 2.25 as of tonight
 
Agree with Elise. It would be good for Rea to switch to TR to get Bubu regulated faster - especially with ketones in the picture. That way she can increase the dose every 3-5 days depending on the numbers. Rea is testing enough for TR.

Can I help set up a new SS for Bubu?
 
Agree with Elise. It would be good for Rea to switch to TR to get Bubu regulated faster - especially with ketones in the picture. That way she can increase the dose every 3-5 days depending on the numbers. Rea is testing enough for TR.

Can I help set up a new SS for Bubu?
Thank you Bhooma!

Yes, please. If you could that would be awesome! They tried to set up an ss for her on the fb team but something was wrong with her Google account. So another member created a new account just for Rea and her ss. I'll get back to you with details.

So you think she's testing enough for TR? I'll tell her.

There will be no tests from +2 until +6 on most days in the AM cycle. Isn't this time crucial?
 
So you think she's testing enough for TR? I'll tell her.

There will be no tests from +2 until +6 on most days in the AM cycle. Isn't this time crucial?
Yes. TR requires a minimum of 2 tests per cycle - PS and 1 mid cycle. If she can test at +2 and +6 on days she is working, that's more than enough. The +2 will give her an indication of whether it's going to be an active cycle and she can feed/ leave food accordingly.

TR will help her get Bubu regulated faster. With ketones in the picture that is important.
 
Yes. TR requires a minimum of 2 tests per cycle - PS and 1 mid cycle. If she can test at +2 and +6 on days she is working, that's more than enough. The +2 will give her an indication of whether it's going to be an active cycle and she can feed/ leave food accordingly.

TR will help her get Bubu regulated faster. With ketones in the picture that is important.
ΟΚ, Rea icreased in PMPS tonight. hopefully, she understands soon how much TR will help Bubu.

The new e-mail that was created for Bubu's ss is bubucatrea@gmail.com
Dx Date: October 2023
Date testing started: October2023
Lantus
Human meter: Free Style Lite

Thank you Bhooma!
 
Is she adding some warm water to the snacks (about a teaspoon?). With the increase in ketones I would suggest she also tries adding the water and to increase the amount of food a bit. I’m glad she has increased the insulin.
 
Is she adding some warm water to the snacks (about a teaspoon?). With the increase in ketones I would suggest she also tries adding the water and to increase the amount of food a bit. I’m glad she has increased the insulin.
Yes, she adds 4tsps warm water to 2tsps wet food for snacks and more water in the main meals. she noticed sometimes Bubu was breathing fast after eating. no heart issues known. Maybe she's giving too much water?She's trying to increase to 2 cans a day from 1 3/4 that she's giving now. if she cut down a little bit on water maybe Bubu wouldn't feel so full. This way Rea could add more meals. I don't know. just a thought.
Bubu is happily eating her food whenever this is offered. This is really encouraging.
 
Back
Top