Ziggy's Mom (GA)
Member Since 2017
I'm sorry for the lack of AMPS and spreadsheet. We know how important it is, but it's very stressful for Ziggy and us to measure his BG levels, so we don't usually pinch him all the time. I'm always home, so we take his BG levels about once a week for control, and any time we see something slightly different on his behavior, or make any diet changes etc.
Less than an hour ago (+8 from his AM shot), Ziggy fell down from the surface he was standing. I didn't see it happen, but I heard it and immediately saw him on the floor, struggling to get up. His back legs were failing. My first response was to feed him dry food, then take his BG level. While eating, his back legs were working again, when we got to pinch him his BG was 133. He's been fine now. Is there any chance it was a hypo episode and stress or dry food made it immediately higher? We will take his BG before his PM shot.
For the past weeks, his levels are getting lower and, after a week of +11 levels around 60-80 (and no PM shots!) we lowered his insulin, from 2 units twice a day to 1 unit twice a day. His normal +11 levels are now around 120-140, with the insulin.
Less than an hour ago (+8 from his AM shot), Ziggy fell down from the surface he was standing. I didn't see it happen, but I heard it and immediately saw him on the floor, struggling to get up. His back legs were failing. My first response was to feed him dry food, then take his BG level. While eating, his back legs were working again, when we got to pinch him his BG was 133. He's been fine now. Is there any chance it was a hypo episode and stress or dry food made it immediately higher? We will take his BG before his PM shot.
For the past weeks, his levels are getting lower and, after a week of +11 levels around 60-80 (and no PM shots!) we lowered his insulin, from 2 units twice a day to 1 unit twice a day. His normal +11 levels are now around 120-140, with the insulin.