5/4 Silver AMPS 347 PMPS 83 +1=146 +3=155

Status
Not open for further replies.

Juliet

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-he-ate-momma-bean-happy.195037/#post-2183520

Not so happy with the high preshot but he woke me up at 2:30am wanting food so that's good. He got half a can of FF in gravy. Now at 5:30am he only had about a third of his can (I gave him his regular FF). So I have just left him in the bedroom again for the day with the rest of the can and another can. Seems right now he is a grazer. Not ideal. But if they have to get used to being separated for the day I guess that's what we have to do. Will see how the weekend goes - will let him be a grazer and forget the curve for tomorrow. Will just grab a few extra tests but they likely will be food influenced.
 
Last edited:
I know the AMPS is high, but at least you know why. What is important is that he is eating. Wait until tomorrow to see where he is in the morning to decide on testing. Since you did increase the dose, you may want to get a few more tests in than you are thinking of to make sure Silver is staying safe and things haven't changed with how his numbers are with everything he has been through. Cats can change their patterns. I hope you got some sleep last night. Sending more prayers. :bighug::bighug:
 
I know the AMPS is high, but at least you know why. What is important is that he is eating. Wait until tomorrow to see where he is in the morning to decide on testing. Since you did increase the dose, you may want to get a few more tests in than you are thinking of to make sure Silver is staying safe and things haven't changed with how his numbers are with everything he has been through. Cats can change their patterns. I hope you got some sleep last night. Sending more prayers. :bighug::bighug:
Not a lot of extra sleep as Silver was active and I am aware of his every movement right now. He seems so much better. See how much he eats today.
 
Active and eating are really good signs. Hang in there!
0145F0B8-EB96-4453-8727-801919D30E03.jpeg
 
Sounds like he is making good steps to recover. I would stay up on his numbers and ketone levels.

I am so glad he is on the mend.

Continued healing vines for Silver.
 
Sounds like he is making good steps to recover. I would stay up on his numbers and ketone levels.

I am so glad he is on the mend.

Continued healing vines for Silver.
Yes I'm not sure how to get the numbers down or how to dose right now as he seems to be a grazer since he came home. So I don't really know when he last ate when I test him. I left food with him today too. I removed the high carb food and just left the regular FF. It's also a new Freestyle meter (see red line in his ss).

May have to let him graze until he's used to eating a regular meal again.
 
Jones is a grazer. Always has been. I just dose around the numbers I see as that is what is happening in his body.
How do you dose around the numbers? I mean how will I ever know nadir with a grazer? Hoping his habits get back to normal so I'm not shutting him in my room every day.
 
How do you dose around the numbers? I mean how will I ever know nadir with a grazer? Hoping his habits get back to normal so I'm not shutting him in my room every day.

His nadir is the lowest number I catch in a cycle. Look at his sheet...there is a definite curve in there..there is the odd - oh man just ate one....but I am aware of that. Plus I have watched his eating habit when I am home. Eats a few bites all morning till about +4. Then may or may not come back till around +6. Then he will eat around +9/+10. If he still has food in the bowl he has confounded me with a few bits just before PMPS. But I don't get home till a half hour before his shot...so I acknowledge that and if he is low I will shoot knowing I need to monitor.

I am lucky in that DS does a mid-cycle for me when he gets home...so I know if in general he is going up or down.
 
His nadir is the lowest number I catch in a cycle. Look at his sheet...there is a definite curve in there..there is the odd - oh man just ate one....but I am aware of that. Plus I have watched his eating habit when I am home. Eats a few bites all morning till about +4. Then may or may not come back till around +6. Then he will eat around +9/+10. If he still has food in the bowl he has confounded me with a few bits just before PMPS. But I don't get home till a half hour before his shot...so I acknowledge that and if he is low I will shoot knowing I need to monitor.

I am lucky in that DS does a mid-cycle for me when he gets home...so I know if in general he is going up or down.
Hard to know how low a dose is taking him tho when the tests are likely food influenced. That's my concern. Hoping Silver will not turn into a grazer.
 
Hard to know how low a dose is taking him tho when the tests are likely food influenced. That's my concern. Hoping Silver will not turn into a grazer.

To me it is the same. You take the insulin to bring you into a normal BG zone based upon eating habits. His is to graze...Silver is to get all his food at once.

Cats are pretty habitual....so I am pretty confidant that the pattern over time is fairly consistent.
 
Aw, his little bandage! :p

I’m glad you got a new meter, as ugly as those pinks are, they look to be more in line with the numbers the vet was getting so hopefully it will paint a clearer picture. I hope he’s feeling good and eating well today. I’m sure you’re glad it’s Friday! I hope it’s a cuddle filled and restful weekend for you 3. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Woohoo on ketones low! :woot:

Since it’s the weekend and you’ve upped his dose a good bit, I would try to stall for 30 minutes as long as you can get back on schedule and see if his numbers are rising or falling. I think you should shoot something given his recent issues, but I don’t know how much. It will be an easier call to make if you know his numbers are on their way up.
 
Woohoo on ketones low! :woot:

Since it’s the weekend and you’ve upped his dose a good bit, I would try to stall for 30 minutes as long as you can get back on schedule and see if his numbers are rising or falling. I think you should shoot something given his recent issues, but I don’t know how much. It will be an easier call to make if you know his numbers are on their way up.
Thanks. I am actually home early so stalling won't knock me off schedule much. I think if his numbers are coming up I will go back to the 5.25 he had been on. He hasn't had any high carb treats today, just one full can of FF.
 
Woohoo on ketones low! :woot:

Since it’s the weekend and you’ve upped his dose a good bit, I would try to stall for 30 minutes as long as you can get back on schedule and see if his numbers are rising or falling. I think you should shoot something given his recent issues, but I don’t know how much. It will be an easier call to make if you know his numbers are on their way up.
Okay so 30 mins later - just the same. So I gave 5u - a little nervous as I can't guarantee he will eat for me right now - but I can always fall back on Temptations. I left him in the kitchen to eat in peace and the little bugger jumped on the table and ate his antibiotic hidden in pill pocket that I had prepared for the am. So he has had a double antibiotic dose tonight - how bad is that? I take it no dose tomorrow am?

I will test in an hour as I will be interested in seeing the food spike - he has polished off 3/4 of a can of FF. Along with the TWO cans he ate when I was at work.

Technically - if he was still on the 5.25u (I bounced up to 7.5 when on the high carb food) - tonight would have earned him a reduction anyways so 5u he got.
 
Yay for no ketones! Great the he ate during the day. I hope he continues to eat tonight. I think you should skip the AM antibiotic.
 
Ok I am liking these numbers - no massive food spike but then he didnt eat a huge dinner. I know eating smaller meals in the day does work - but I am not sure how happy Silver and Sasha will be if I permanently keep them in separate rooms all day.

Silver is being a fussy pants. I took a can of FF, split it in two between them both for their supper. He turned his nose up at it. Not a good sign when I am not yet breathing at ease yet about him eating/not eating. So I waited a bit. Sasha didnt want much as she has overeaten the past couple days on his leftovers. So what does Silver do - go and polish off hers. Of course her half of the tin WOULD taste better than the half he got right? So I snuck his dish beside hers and now he is alternating between the two.

OKAY - I am off for I truly hope - a restful 8 hours sleep - what is that again?

It is my birthday on Sunday - and my treat to myself? A day at home with the kitties, in front of the tv and cuddling my boy - grateful he is still alive, gaining strength and getting good numbers. Maybe he will get to OTJ in time for my September trip? Anything is possible. Anyway, it is also HIS and Sasha's birthday on Sunday as I got them at 5 weeks old in the second week of June so I say we share the day. The only sad thing about my birthday this year - I don't think my mom will remember its my birthday so I wont get the early morning birthday phone call. Such is life - it is fragile and changes up by the minute.
 
Ok I am liking these numbers - no massive food spike but then he didnt eat a huge dinner. I know eating smaller meals in the day does work - but I am not sure how happy Silver and Sasha will be if I permanently keep them in separate rooms all day.

Silver is being a fussy pants. I took a can of FF, split it in two between them both for their supper. He turned his nose up at it. Not a good sign when I am not yet breathing at ease yet about him eating/not eating. So I waited a bit. Sasha didnt want much as she has overeaten the past couple days on his leftovers. So what does Silver do - go and polish off hers. Of course her half of the tin WOULD taste better than the half he got right? So I snuck his dish beside hers and now he is alternating between the two.

OKAY - I am off for I truly hope - a restful 8 hours sleep - what is that again?

It is my birthday on Sunday - and my treat to myself? A day at home with the kitties, in front of the tv and cuddling my boy - grateful he is still alive, gaining strength and getting good numbers. Maybe he will get to OTJ in time for my September trip? Anything is possible. Anyway, it is also HIS and Sasha's birthday on Sunday as I got them at 5 weeks old in the second week of June so I say we share the day. The only sad thing about my birthday this year - I don't think my mom will remember its my birthday so I wont get the early morning birthday phone call. Such is life - it is fragile and changes up by the minute.
Have a very restful weekend with your kitties. :)
 
Of course her half of the tin WOULD taste better than the half he got right?

Sounds about right! :joyful:

9C9D368B-BBAA-4375-8937-598F6B40AC33.jpeg


That sounds like a nice birthday to me!

I’m sorry to hear about your mom, maybe you can just call her this year if she doesn’t remember? My grandma passed many years ago but was the only person who ever sent me a birthday card every year in the mail and I still think for a second it will be in my mailbox each birthday. :bighug:
 
Sounds about right! :joyful:

View attachment 35926

That sounds like a nice birthday to me!

I’m sorry to hear about your mom, maybe you can just call her this year if she doesn’t remember? My grandma passed many years ago but was the only person who ever sent me a birthday card every year in the mail and I still think for a second it will be in my mailbox each birthday. :bighug:
Like with Silver - I'm grateful my mom is still here, alive and doing amazingly well if not quite the same as she was. A massive stroke followed by a brain bleed has done a bit of damage but not so much that's she's not still my mom. I miss my grandma to bits. She was the only relative that wrote me and she sealed them with sealing wax and her signet ring. I loved it!
 
Yayyyyyy lo ketones!! And early Happy Birthday! I love the sound of your birthday plan. Sounds like a perfect day. Sending appy vines for Silver!
 
The only sad thing about my birthday this year - I don't think my mom will remember its my birthday so I wont get the early morning birthday phone call.

I understand this completely....I haven't gotten the Happy Birthday call from my mom for the last 3 years.....and even when we happened to be together this year and I mentioned it was my birthday, still nothing. I don't think it even registered.

Dementia, Alzheimers and other brain diseases that effect memory can't be cured fast enough for me. They are cruel to the people they leave behind. I am thankful she still knows who I am though

Sending many hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That is fan-flippin-tastic!

Technically - if he was still on the 5.25u (I bounced up to 7.5 when on the high carb food) - tonight would have earned him a reduction anyways so 5u he got.
Careful with the quick dose changes, particularly reducing. You must remain vigilant.
It’s a delicate balance - you don’t want to inadvertently tip the scales in favor of ketone development.

How far under his ideal weight is he?
 
Very happy that Silver is settling in and has expanded his interpretation of “smorgasbord.”;) Good thing Sasha is willing to share and reciprocate. :bighug:Hope you all have a restful and continuing healing weekend.
Happy early birthday, as bittersweet as it is with your mom’s memory. Your idea to call her is ❤️❤️. I miss my mother every day. ❤️
Vines galore. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That is fan-flippin-tastic!


Careful with the quick dose changes, particularly reducing. You must remain vigilant.
It’s a delicate balance - you don’t want to inadvertently tip the scales in favor of ketone development.

How far under his ideal weight is he?
I don't know what his ideal weight is or what he is now. He was 12lb when he was at the hospital a month ago but he's lost a bit of weight with this latest episode. @Tracey&Jones did a calculation for me but I can't find it.

Curve today so we'll see where he's at. The increase to 7.5 was only temporary while on the high carb food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top