5/4-Scratchie-AMPS-421,+3.5-413

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

Yesterday

Morning everyone, a little after 5 here, should be a pretty day according to the weather man. He's down a bit from that horrible bounce yesterday and I increased his dose to 4.5u. Hopefully that was the right thing to do. I seem to be questioning my judgment - wonder why?? ;-). Restless night for me last night going over the days activities - Scratchie slept in my arms most of the night, he was content. Think out of the 6 hours I was in bed, maybe slept for 3.

Thanks to Jill, Mel and Deb for keeping me going and not letting me get too down. Your support is/was awesome! Not going to test him much today as I don't really expect to see much change especially with an increase. Do have some errands to run with DH so I'll get a test before we leave and when we return. Hopefully he'll come down some more.

Wishing everyone beautiful numbers, safe surfs, a fabulous Saturday - and of course sending healing vines to all who need them.

Jo
 
Re: 5/4-Scratchie-AMPS-421

Good morning, Jo! I hope you're able to fit a nap in some time today. It's so important to take care of yourself, too.

I understand wanting to add more insulin into the mix when you see high numbers. It's a natural inclination. All of us do it at one time or another during this sugar dance. However, chasing numbers opens the door to the possibility of kitty becoming over dose. We already know the 4.25u dose has the ability to drop Scratchie into the low 100s. It would probably be a good idea to stick with it a little longer. Since one dose builds upon the next with the long-acting insulins, I'm not so sure we've seen all of what the 4.25u dose can do since a shot was skipped. We might be pleasantly surprised! KWIM?

I don't know if this will help you or not, but when I finally realized I had to look at Alex's data in terms of "waves of action" instead of looking at individual cycles... it helped immensely. What I mean by that... I focused on the cycles that actually told me what a particular dose was capable of and ignored the bounce cycles. I know the bounce cycles are hard to ignore because they're ugly, but they're to be expected at this stage of Scratchie's treatment. Adding the use of R to your toolbox can be a lot of help if administered at the very beginning of a bounce. I know I'm being repetitious, but when using R it's important to use it in small amounts. Using too much R will only set him up for another bounce. All we want R to do is take the edge off the numbers. In addition, we don't want to use R as the bounce is breaking.

I hope this makes sense. I slept in this morning and haven't had any coffee yet!

We have a full day planned so I won't be back on the board til much later.
Hope you have a great day! :-D
 
Thanks Jill, I'll take his dose back down tonight. Haven't used R today as I remembered what you said about a bounce breaking and not to use it. His +3.5 number does have food as he just finished eating again - not sure how much of that is food though. At least he's heading in the right direction albeit slowly.

Jo
 
Nice blues yesterday morning. I hope Scratchie clears the bounce soon and gives you some more blue. That's great he is feeling so much better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top