5/4: Sammy - AMPS 64; +2 72; +4 76; +7 72; PMPS 69; +73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

I did now expect the 50's last night. I had planned on not getting up for a check until +8, but woke up on my own at +6.5, and since I was a wake I decided to go ahead and get a quick check, and Sammy gave me a 56. He didn't seem interested in food, so I ended up opening several cans of food to entice him, and finally found a flavor that he wanted to eat a bit of. I also gave him a Famotidine at that time as well. This morning he seems a little more interested in food, but not his normal self.

I did SKINNY up his dose by a very small drop this morning, just a tiny bit closer to the Zero line, because I am off to work this morning and won't be able to monitor as closely. DH will be home to test but he wouldn't keep the eagle eye on Sammy like I would. LOL! I will see how he does today to determine if I will go back to the regular .1u dose. But technically we are on dose 17 of all normal numbers and really could have decreased a few doses ago. I just don't want to rush it, because we know what happened a few weeks ago when we tried to rush it, and there is a possibility he is lower because he isn't eating normally.

Hope everyone has a fabulous day.
 
Sammy is a bit higher at +2, but I am pretty sure that has a lot to do with the 8% carb food I gave him at PS. We will see where he is at +4. Hopefully he will eat some more before then.
 
Sammy didn't eat between PS and +4, but DH got him to eat a bit at +4 and I just went home and got the +7 and got him to eat a bit more. He still isn't eating his normal amount. I might have to give some other food again tonight to get him to eat a bit more. Which means a stop at the Pet Supply store for some more Fancy Feast.

For those of you who have sugar kitties that also have CRF or higher Kidney values, what do you give your kitties when they won't eat. I know the Fancy Feast has much higher Phosphorus and I don't really like giving it to Sammy, but something is better than nothing when they just aren't eating. I just wonder if there is a better option with a lower phosphorus value.
 
Eat your fuds please Sammy! His numbers do look great in spite of the skinny.

Have you see the list of low phos/low carb foods the Ann compiled on Tess's SS? I think you just have to keep trying to find what he likes. Does he like his food with freeze dried meat sprinkles on top? Sometimes I have to resort to freeze dried chicken bits on my civie's fuds, though lately just a different feeding location has done the trick. Sometimes elevating the plate can help too.
 
Eat your fuds please Sammy! His numbers do look great in spite of the skinny.

Have you see the list of low phos/low carb foods the Ann compiled on Tess's SS? I think you just have to keep trying to find what he likes. Does he like his food with freeze dried meat sprinkles on top? Sometimes I have to resort to freeze dried chicken bits on my civie's fuds, though lately just a different feeding location has done the trick. Sometimes elevating the plate can help too.

Yes, I have seen the list, but I might have to look it over again. And yes, I typically start with Orijen Cat Treats Wild Boar sprinkled on top as my first defense. When that fails I break out the other food.
 
Looking great today Sammy! :D Keep up the good work!! :D :D

Neither of my 2 eat well in hot weather - they never have. I think, like with some people, the heat makes them less hungry so it could be that his lack of appetite is linked to the weather. I hope it's as simple an explanation as that for Sammy. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top