5/4 punkin +2/241 +6/249 pmps 288 2nd Q on vacation dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42566

another little gift - my elder daughter is here and is speaking to a women's group about her experiences in Alabama this morning. i thought today might be the day the bounce cleared and punkin started down, but at least not just yet. i'm glad i can go hear her speak without obsessing about him.

happy boy, clean plate club achieved, bath done . . . seems like he's on top of the world. lots of kitty wrestling last night and the rug is covered with cat hair! if only i could make them vacuum it up!
 
Re: 5/4 punkin amps 229

Good morning guys .. glad that punkin gave you permission to go watch your daughter this morning ... sounds like punkin has had a pretty good morning ... that's always nice to hear .. hope you two have a great day!
 
Re: 5/4 punkin amps 229

Not a bad AMPS and you get to go out. :-D Kitty wrestling is a good sign, he's happy! That's the important thing.
 
Re: 5/4 punkin amps 229

Not bad on the AMPS. Nice that you have the opportunity to hear your daughter speak today. Julie, your children sound very interesting and articulate. Good reflection on the Mom that raised 'em up :-D
 
Re: 5/4 punkin amps 229 +2/241 Q on Bounces

Just wondering - does the length of the time it takes the bounce to resolve related to the dose the cat is getting?
 
Re: 5/4 punkin amps 229 +2/241 Q on Bounces

What a great question. I do not know the answer but I will say that it appears to take Gracie a little longer to clear her bounces on this lower dose. No proof....just observation. I'm sure there are others who observe the opposite with their kitties. ECID. But he'll come down....it looks like he wants to!!
 
Re: 5/4 punkin amps 229 +2/241 +6/249Q on Bounces

I haven't noticed a correlation between dose size and the length of a bounce. I *have* noticed a difference in the size of the shed relative to the size of the dose. What I think you are seeing with Punkin is that the first few cycles on 7 units, when he was getting green, probably still had some of the 7.25 and 7.5 unit shed behind them. Once the shed emptied, the green went away. What I'm saying is, if you're asking whether you can raise his dose, I think you can. It looks like the last reduction didn't hold, so I would go back to 7.25 unless he comes back down by shot time.
 
Re: 5/4 punkin amps 229 +2/241 +6/249Q on Bounces

Julie, what great questions you have! This is stuff I am wondering a lot about too!

I am glad you get to hear your daughter speak, I'm sure she appreciates it too.
 
Re: 5/4 punkin amps 229 +2/241 +6/249 2nd Q on vacation dosi

I wasn't asking that, libby, but glad you volunteered it. I was wondering about the bounce - i have a lot of trouble seeing it on a spreadsheet. like today - he's all inverted, going up when i would expect him to go down, so i thought that was still the bounce.


What i really should be asking, which i was going to ask tomorrow, is about dosing punkin this weekend. I have a vet tech coming Fri am/pm, Sat am/pm and Sun am/pm - she's going to come mid day at +6 to test him also.

I think food-wise I'm going to try the frozen pucks, so when she feeds them in the morning she'll set out the normal food, test & shoot him, and leave a frozen puck for later morning. I hope they'll eat that.


So because i'm getting ready to leave for th weekend, and i know usually people decrease the dose, should i still increase it now? What is a good dose for him while we're gone? btw, i doubt he'll be off on his food - he more than likely will jut eat all of anya's as well. oink oink oink. :lol:

see how i'm trying to make sure ya can find my questions!?! :lol:

+10=270 :sad:
 
Re: 5/4 punkin amps 229 +2/241 +6/249 2nd Q on vacation dosi

It's my guess that you shouldn't increase the dose until you get back from your mini vacation. I know I wouldn't want Champ to have the possibility of going into the greens when I'm not home, or someone knowledgeable isn't there, to check his BGs often. I can't wait until one of the experts get back to you so I can see if my common sense is finally kicking in where FD is concerned :lol:
 
Re: 5/4 punkin amps 229 +2/241 +6/249 2nd Q on vacation dosi

Hi Julie - If it were me I'd wait to increase until you're back. Just a personal preference, as I'd want to be there to monitor him. Good luck with your decision. and enjoy your time away. :-D

I am looking forward to seeing what punkin does tonight, such a flat yellow cycle, and if what they say is true - that flat yellows means pending action - we may see some great things.
 
Re: 5/4 punkin amps 229 +2/241 +6/249 2nd Q on vacation dosi

Julie, i have to agree with the others, I would also wait until you get back so that you can monitor.. You sure are opening up wonderful discussions lately. I'm having trouble keeping up.. I think i've run out of book markers on my computer :lol: :lol:
Punkins lovin the sunshine today.
I'm so glad you got to hear your daughter speak today. That's pretty cool that you could be there.
Not to sound too dumb but what is a frozen puck.. I have frozen bowls of food before for Tommy.
Trying to visualize a hockey puck made out of cat food :-D
Have a wonderful time on your "vacation"
Ni Ni,
Squirrel & Tommy ;-)
 
Re: 5/4 punkin +2/241 +6/249 pmps 288 2nd Q on vacation dosi

i was too dismayed by the numbers, so i went up to 7.25 - that was, of course, before i saw everyone chiming in to not increase today! oy!

guess we'll see what happens in the next little while.
 
Re: 5/4 punkin amps 229 +2/241 +6/249 2nd Q on vacation dosi

julie1220 said:
I think food-wise I'm going to try the frozen pucks, so when she feeds them in the morning she'll set out the normal food, test & shoot him, and leave a frozen puck for later morning. I hope they'll eat that.[/size][/b]

DON'T WAIT....TO HOPE THIS WORKS! TRY IT NOW!

As a professional pet sitter...honestly ...don't 'test' stuff on the sitter.

You need to KNOW now.
 
Re: 5/4 punkin +2/241 +6/249 pmps 288 2nd Q on vacation dosi

wow, i'm gonna guess that was really important! :lol: :lol: made me laugh, but i got the message. I think i'll just have her leave more food out when she's here anyway - then i don't have to worry about anything.
 
Re: 5/4 punkin +2/241 +6/249 pmps 288 2nd Q on vacation dosi

Julie,
Have a great mini-cation! I have wondered about hiring a vet tech to come to my house. Do you mind my asking, is it expensive? We pay our regular sitter $60/day to come morning and evening (that was before FD--haven't been anywhere since the DX. :YMSIGH: )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top