5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 PMPS 167 (2nd test 154)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Becky & Morlei

Member Since 2012
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70185

Julie, I didn't see your post until this morning. I should have given her a full dose last night because now she's high, I only gave 3 units bc the numbers weren't rising. Gave her a 1/2 dose this morning.
She is now at the vet, no metacam, they don't use convenia, the dr will intubate herself and look for any tissue growths and will use a smaller tube, and she said she'll take the food but giving it to her depends on what time I'm picking her up. Poor baby came out of the carrier then walked right back in and gave me a look that said "shut the door, let's go home."
Now the waiting begins.....
 
Re: 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

Paws crossed here for all to go well. Sounds like your vet is on top of things. Keep us updated!
Liz
 
Re: 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

Yes Paws & fingers crossed for a good easy dental--Will be looking for her vetty report! Hugs & I know you are nervous-It's worse for us waiting than for Morlei, she's sleeping ;-)
 
Re: 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

Just called, they're putting her under now...I'm a little pissed that they aren't already done, but I knew the vet's claim of "we try to get animals like Morlei done first thing bc of their other issues" was too good to be true.
 
Re: 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

Just wanted to let you know I'm waiting with you too Becky. It's always so nerve wracking but not so bad when you're not alone.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

Called the vet again, they said they had just finished/are finishing the dental and that she's not awake yet. When she's awake they'll call to let me know and give me a time to pick her up. Since the vet didn't call during the procedure that means no extractions yay!!! Now I can finally eat, my stomach has been in knots the whole morning.
 
Re: 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

Sending lots of easy dental vibes to you and Morlei.

I'm so familiar with this....
Poor baby came out of the carrier then walked right back in and gave me a look that said "shut the door, let's go home."

(((Becky)))
 
Re: UPDATE 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

Yayyyy! I'm glad she didn't need any extractions.
 
Re: UPDATE 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

Got the call, she's awake and doing ok. I didn't get to talk to the vet, the tech said she's dealing with an emergency, totally fine and sending vines to the pet she's with right now. They did X-rays like I asked and everything looked good. And no extractions! She said I can pick her up at 4:30...I'll probably get there around 4.
 
Re: UPDATE 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

just home from work and wondering how she did - so glad it's over and done with. hope her recovery is quick! no extractions will make it easier, that's for sure.
 
Re: UPDATE 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

We're home!!! She's already trying to take the bandage off her leg and is very hungry, she just scarfed down the small spoonful of food I gave her. I'll give her a little more in a 1/2 hr. The tech said she gave her a 1/2 can of the food I brought around 2:30-3 and she only took a few bites. That's ok, I'm just happy they offered it to her.
She is purring up a storm and is now very intently cleaning her paws.
+9 302
High but what I expected after her two reduced doses.
Thanks everyone for the words of support, made my day a little easier! :smile:
 
Re: UPDATE 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

what was the report on the condition of her teeth and gums? no extractions, but was there gingivitis, resorption, bad tartar . . . . any comments from the vet?
 
Re: UPDATE 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

Hi guys,
We are very happy that all went smoothly (or, as smoothly as possible). Morlei must be very glad to be home. Enjoy the evening.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: UPDATE 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

Glad Morlei has clean teeth now. Is she smiling like this?

Cheshirecat.jpg
 
Re: UPDATE 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

julie & punkin said:
what was the report on the condition of her teeth and gums? no extractions, but was there gingivitis, resorption, bad tartar . . . . any comments from the vet?

The vet said she had bad tartar on her back teeth and these were the "questionable" ones she had told me about on Monday. But once the tartar came off she said they looked perfect, no extractions needed. She didn't say anything about gingivitis or resorption. She showed me the x-rays and said the roots looked great, the edges were defined, and there were no worrysome dark areas.

Here's a pic I took when we got home. It's her woozy pirate look haha.
mamacat-2.jpg


The boys came over to sniff her and nobody hissed so that was good. Skittles started cleaning her and she didn't object so that's good too. I can't wait to take a look at her pretty teeth in a few days!
 
Re: UPDATE 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

CD and BigMac said:
Glad Morlei has clean teeth now. Is she smiling like this?

Cheshirecat.jpg

Oh yeah, she'll be showing off her perfect little smile to all the neighborhood cats when they get together for their huge Cinco de Mayo party. :smile:
She curls her lips sometimes and it really looks like she's smiling like the Cheshire Cat...it can actually get a little creepy looking haha, next time she does it I'll get a picture.
 
Re: UPDATE 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

Becky & Morlei said:
She curls her lips sometimes and it really looks like she's smiling like the Cheshire Cat...it can actually get a little creepy looking haha, next time she does it I'll get a picture.
Ooooh! You better get a photo and then send it to ME! I'd love to have that for my files! :cool:
 
Re: UPDATE 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

that's all great news - she looks a little drugged in the picture. punkin is still looking odd. keeps licking his chops like he's fishing for his missing fangs.

love the cheshire cat photo! :lol:
 
Re: UPDATE 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

That's such good news Becky! I'm so glad. Poor baby looks so drowsy and out of it. :smile:

Do you brush her teeth?

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: UPDATE 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 DENTAL TODAY

MelanieAndRacci said:
That's such good news Becky! I'm so glad. Poor baby looks so drowsy and out of it. :smile:

Do you brush her teeth?

Melanie & Racci

I tried to start brushing her teeth about a month ago but her teeth were already caked with tartar and I couldn't get it off. Now that we have a clean slate we'll start brushing her teeth a few times a week I think.

PMPS 167
??? Awesome number but I have no clue what to do about her dose! Is this the anesthesia? Or more of what we saw last night??
Just tested her 10 minutes after that number...154
I don't know what to do.
 
Re: 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 PMPS 167 (2nd test 154) NEED DOSE AD

3rd test 155
I don't really know what to call it because her 1/2 dose this morning was at 8 am when we normally do it at 10. I guess it's a +14.5?
I'm just worried if she goes low later I may not be able to make her eat...guess that's what the Karo syrup is for.
We're going to go for it if she can finish at least a 1/2 can of FF...I'm scared but this is why I did her dental on a Friday...I wanted the next three days to watch her.
Too much anxiety this week!
 
Re: 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 PMPS 167 (2nd test 154) NEED DOSE AD

I got her to eat a 1/2 can of FF with the help of some deli ham...wow she loves that stuff. Gave her a full dose and I'm going to get a test every hour to see where she's going.
 
Re: 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 PMPS 167 (2nd test 154) NEED DOSE AD

Deli ham! That must be ymmy!
Dont worry Becky! As long as you are testing & got HC ready, Morlei will be fine!
 
Re: 5/4 Morlei AMPS 287 PMPS 167 (2nd test 154) NEED DOSE AD

tortie58 said:
Deli ham! That must be ymmy!
Dont worry Becky! As long as you are testing & got HC ready, Morlei will be fine!

Thanks, I'm just nervous to shoot these lower numbers but I know I gotta shoot low to stay low! +2 was 179 so I think we'll be ok, I'm still going to set an alarm and get a few more tests.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top