5/4 Darcy AMPS 140, +? 60 (vet), PMPS 92, +3 104, +4 87, +5 68 - Darcy is a free cat!

Suzanne & Darcy

Member Since 2020
Hello everyone. Darcy and I are now at home and relaxing after ten days of IV fluids (with Sundays off). The vet has released him to stay home! We will do sub-q fluids at home now and re-check his kidney values in a week. The vet said his BG dropped to 60 today (although I'm not exactly sure what time). They seem to checkhim at about five o'clock so I put it in my SS as 5:00? Now he's hitting 60 on the reduced dose of 4 units. I'm going to have to cut his dose again. I have no idea what to shoot (again) tonight as his PMPS is only 92. I think I will give only a token dose. One unit? I don't want to stay up tonight. I think I will re-test him now to see if he's on the rise, as that was about half an hour ago.

I'm still cautiously optimistic about his kidney values, which have gone down again but are still elevated. His BUN is 48, Creatinine 5.7 and Phosphorus 5.8 (within normal limits). That is a far cry from when he was admitted with a BUN over 130 that couldn't exactly be measured because it was too high. The numbers need to continue coming down. The phosphorus is within normal limits, but, optimally, it would be better do see it drop down even more.

All in all... I am very happy. Now if I only knew what caused the kidney damage to begin with.
yesterday's: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-3-darcy-pmps-105-dont-know-what-to-shoot.246911/
 
Awesome report on Darcy! :joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful: So happy he's recovered that much.

As for insulin dose, maybe 3.0 units tomorrow? See where he is in the morning. The depot from the 7.5 units doses would still be influencing today. Hopefully you get some good sleep tonight.:bighug:
 
Awesome report on Darcy! :joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful: So happy he's recovered that much.

As for insulin dose, maybe 3.0 units tomorrow? See where he is in the morning. The depot from the 7.5 units doses would still be influencing today. Hopefully you get some good sleep tonight.:bighug:
Yes. I just gave a token one unit dose tonight.
 
This is fantastic news!! I love your title, makes me wish we had thought to give him a hashtag #freedarcy :cat::cat::cat:
if I only knew what caused the kidney damage
and for this you need the magic crystal ball (I worked with someone from the Netherlands who translated it to 'glass sphere' which I have embraced as a saying) - this will also explain what makes Minnie suddenly go from 'fine' (but unregulated) to 'hospital-cation' in record time. Whatever it was, so good to see that he has worked through it and is now back in the cool-kitty dosing territory. He can lead the way.

Hope you get some good sleep tonight. Min and Sam had 1.5 sardines each. The half was an honorary sardine for Darcy....the 'darcine'
 
This is fantastic news!! I love your title, makes me wish we had thought to give him a hashtag #freedarcy :cat::cat::cat:

and for this you need the magic crystal ball (I worked with someone from the Netherlands who translated it to 'glass sphere' which I have embraced as a saying) - this will also explain what makes Minnie suddenly go from 'fine' (but unregulated) to 'hospital-cation' in record time. Whatever it was, so good to see that he has worked through it and is now back in the cool-kitty dosing territory. He can lead the way.

Hope you get some good sleep tonight. Min and Sam had 1.5 sardines each. The half was an honorary sardine for Darcy....the 'darcine'
I like the glass sphere! And darcine!
 
Now he is down to 68. What is he doing? This is just not my cat. Maybe aliens abducted him from the vet and they replaced him with a different cat?
 
Refresh my memory, was IAA positive?

A few things. If IAA positive, it's breakingl. Now using Levemir. Using cabergoline and it's working.

It all adds up to a wild ride. Keep holding on.
 
Hello everyone. Darcy and I are now at home and relaxing after ten days of IV fluids (with Sundays off). The vet has released him to stay home! We will do sub-q fluids at home now and re-check his kidney values in a week. The vet said his BG dropped to 60 today (although I'm not exactly sure what time). They seem to checkhim at about five o'clock so I put it in my SS as 5:00? Now he's hitting 60 on the reduced dose of 4 units. I'm going to have to cut his dose again. I have no idea what to shoot (again) tonight as his PMPS is only 92. I think I will give only a token dose. One unit? I don't want to stay up tonight. I think I will re-test him now to see if he's on the rise, as that was about half an hour ago.

I'm still cautiously optimistic about his kidney values, which have gone down again but are still elevated. His BUN is 48, Creatinine 5.7 and Phosphorus 5.8 (within normal limits). That is a far cry from when he was admitted with a BUN over 130 that couldn't exactly be measured because it was too high. The numbers need to continue coming down. The phosphorus is within normal limits, but, optimally, it would be better do see it drop down even more.

All in all... I am very happy. Now if I only knew what caused the kidney damage to begin with.
yesterday's: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-3-darcy-pmps-105-dont-know-what-to-shoot.246911/
Suzanne, such wonderful news in so many ways. Just had to pop in and say hello, this makes me smile for both of you. Love and prayers for continued healing for both of you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top