5/4 Champ AMPS 320, PMPS 278, +3 146, +5 114, +6 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

I haven't gone to bed yet because I've been up all night trying to fix some software problems on this stupid *&$%@# computer so I could finish working. It's going to be a loooong day!! I will need a lot of this ~O) ~O) ~O)

Champers is in a good mood this morning, like usual. He waited patiently until it was time for his breakfast. I went to the refrigerator to get out the insulin and, crap, it wasn't there. For the first time, I left the insulin out on the counter. Good thing my house is 68 degrees and it was sitting on a granite counter so it still felt nice and cool. I'll be keeping an eye on Champ's numbers to make sure the insulin is okay.

Now time to get back to work. I hope everyone has a wonderful day!!
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320

Good morning guys .. sorry to see champ up on the pink floor this morning .. hope he comes down soon .. I hope your insulin will still be good, sounds like it was still nice and cool .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320

Oh wow Patty, if i was up all night working and tried to post a condo this morning i probably wouldn't make much sense. Get yourself and Champ a much needed nap this afternoon........a cat nap!

Have a great day and hopefully Champ comes down into some nice numbers today!
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320

Sorry about the pink , but it is a low pink. Good luck on the computer issues. I hope you have it all sorted out by now.

BTW, on the chicken discussion yesterday. I guess I "blanch" rather than parboil, as I dip it in ice water right away to stop the cooking. I looked the terms up in Wikipedia. :lol:
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320

Sometimes there's not enough ~O) ~O) ~O) in the world to jolt me into being focused. I hate the days that follow an 'up all night'. I feel so like crap when that happens. Looks like Champ and Gus were hangin' out together again and decided to start the day at 320! Sounds like your insulin should still be good. The only thing is that it might lose it's integrity a little quicker than if it hadn't been left out. But doesn't sound as if it isn't good to use. Not like it's ice cream or anything :lol: Have a good Patty, I'm sure we'll be checking on each other through the day.
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, +4 294

Not much of a decrease, that's for sure, and Champ typically doesn't decrease anymore after this point. Can't wait to see what happens ;-)

Ann, you crack me up :lol: Nice to know you blanch instead of parboil. :lol: :lol: :lol: I just took a chicken breast out of the freezer and I'm going to see if Champ likes it completely raw better than partly raw. Gotta make sure that kitty gets what kitty wants!!
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, +4 294

Ok Champ...you and your friends need to come down today!! SOrry you didn't get any sleep last night Patty. That's really hard when you have to work...zombie land for sure. And Champ is probably laughing about it...WHAT??? It's not my fault you didn't sleep Ms. Bean! Wait till I give you something to stay up about! Hope your day improves!

Hmmm...so isn't blanching what comes after parboiling???

zombie-cat2.jpg
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, +4 294

Ackkk!!! Marje!! Where the H E double HOCKEY STICKS did you get that picture :lol: :lol: I'm pretty sure I might have nightmares after that one :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, +4 294, +7 281, PMPS 278 DOSING ??

I have a dosing question...I've been consistently increasing Champ's dose by 0.25u every three days (6 cycles) per the protocol. I'm pretty sure I should continue to do this, which means I should increase his dose tomorrow morning. Please confirm, after looking at Champ's SS, that I should increase. If you feel I should leave it where it is, when should I increase it?
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, +4 294, +7 281, PMPS 278 DOSING ??

I hope Libby or someone more experienced will be around to comment on dosing. I'm not sure I see why you shouldn't continue to follow the protocol and increase. It looks to me like it's working. Usual questions, though, would be... are you around tomorrow to monitor? Can you get some tests?
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, +4 294, +7 281, PMPS 278 DOSING ??

Hi Patty,
I'm not a dosing expert, but just looking at Champ's SS I think you could easily increase his dose by .25 of a unit tomorrow. Wait for confirmation, but that's what I would do if Champ were my kitty.

How old is your insulin? If it's pretty new, I don't think leaving it out overnight would harm it. Many of us have done this. But if it's nearing the bottom of the pen or vial, it's potency might be compromised. Don't forget that the manufacturer specifies that humans keep the pen outside of the 'fridge after they have opened it. The reason we keep it in the 'fridge after it is opened is to prolong it's useful life, since our kitties are generally on very small doses in comparison to the doses human's get.

Get some sleep tonight!! Send Champ to the party. He can help on the Kitchen Krew.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, +4 294, +7 281, PMPS 278 DOSING ??

Hi guys - gone one day and you miss all kinds of stuff: chickens and blanching and parboiling... I haven't a clue... :lol: :lol:

And bummer on the all-nighter! and the computer issues. I hope all worked out ok. and that there was enough ~O) ~O) ~O) there is no way i could do that - I would look like that cat in the photo - really scary. :lol:

I too don't see why you shouldn't increase, though I am certainly no dose expert. I hope some one will be along soon for you.

have a great night - Looks like Champs is starting out well. :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, +4 294, +7 281, PMPS 278 DOSING ??

I agree that you have room to increase by 0.25.

FYI, I usually like to slow down the dose increases to every 8-10 cycles once some blue starts showing up. Champ only has had one blue on this dose and it wasn't a low blue so I have no problem increasing now, but soon you might be getting to a point where you'll want to slow down a bit.
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, +4 294, +7 281, PMPS 278 DOSING ??

Awesome everyone!!!

Libby, I'll keep that in mind...as soon as I see more blue, I'll slow down the increases to every four to five days, four days if the blues are mid range, five days if the blues are low range. And just as an aside to you, Libby, looking at Lucy's SS has helped me tremendously in the patience department. Her travel on the FD road at the beginning isn't much different from Champ's so it's shown me that OTJ can most definitely be in Champ's future. Thanks for all your help. You're a peach :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, +4 294, +7 281, PMPS 278 DOSING ??

thanks for the comments about Lucy. I'm sure I was anything but patient while we were doing the FD dance, but I learned a lot from Lucy. I'm always happy to hear that her spreadsheet is helping someone else.
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, +4 294, +7 281, PMPS 278

I posted these pics in Leo's condo cuz Tracy and I were talking about shaving our kitties. Thought I'd post there here too so all of you can have a laugh :lol: There has to be a better way to upload pics. If anyone wants to let me know, that would be great!!
 

Attachments

  • 0616091402.jpg
    0616091402.jpg
    174.3 KB · Views: 1,262
  • 0616091107.jpg
    0616091107.jpg
    8.8 KB · Views: 1,262
  • 0616091359.jpg
    0616091359.jpg
    173.1 KB · Views: 1,264
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320,+7 281, PMPS 278 SHAVED KITTY PICS

Oh my godness...I almost peed my pants when I saw his face and the tie! :lol: :lol: :lol: He does not look happy at all! Poor thing
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320,+7 281, PMPS 278 SHAVED KITTY PICS

OMG.. The humility Champ looks like he is suffering in the photo with what definitely appears to be his belly button..
I have to ask.. Why did you shave that beautiful Kitty Cat..
I too agree with you, when i look at Lucy's SS.. inspiration sets in and i know that Tommy can beat this.. But man i tell you, I had no
idea i had this much patience in my bod..
Goodnight Patty, Your doing just great with Champ. Yellow for Pmps, not too shabby :cool:
Insulin left out.. I think we've all done that given the sleep deprivation we all have :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320,+7 281, PMPS 278 SHAVED KITTY PICS

OH. MY. I've never seen a cat de-dignified before! hahahahahahhaha - why in the world did you shave him? and his "socks"? bwahahahaha - oh . . . . that is too funny.

actually there are hairless breeds of cat, he kinda looks like that.

btw, i love it that you take pictures of your cat on your lap in your robe. you are my hero! :-D
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320,+7 281, PMPS 278 SHAVED KITTY PICS

Well, Julie, I wish I was really your hero, but that's my daughter in the picture. The world is not ready for me in my robe!!! :lol:

I've shaved Champ for the last two summers because he has a very dense undercoat that starts to shed out about April. The hairs are almost invisible, but get in my eyes and I have severe allergic reactions to it. The membrane that covers my eyeballs swell so much they come OUTSIDE my eyelids. It looks like globs of clear jelly!! My eyes turn bright red and it's very painful. I tried brushing out the undercoat, but there is no ending to the amount of hair; it just piles up. I'm not even exaggerating. I use a deshedding comb and in ten minutes, I'll have handfuls and handfuls of hair and it never reduces or ends. It just keeps coming out. It's not warm enough here yet for me to have him shaved so I'll brush him out and take a picture of the hair so you all can see what I'm talking about. But my eyes were so bad a couple of times, I couldn't even go out in public without keeping my sunglasses on. The upper and lower eyelids cracked and bled and my eyes were so bloodshot. Very ugly. You know I love my cat when I go through that!! The ophthalmologist said that he would never tell me to get rid of my cat, but I might never want to have another one.
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320,+7 281, PMPS 278 SHAVED KITTY PICS

well, that is a whole nother story! i'm a very allergic person and i totally get doing anything that makes you feel better!

there are some breeds of cats that bother people with allergies less than others - so i wouldn't rule out ever having another cat again.

punkin's been making me crazy lately, not for allergies, but the hair is absolutely everywhere. i comb and comb him and he sheds and sheds!
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, PMPS 278m +3 146, +5 114 YIKES!!

Anyone still up?!! Just in case?!! We've never been this low before so I might need some advise/moral support.
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, PMPS 278, +3 146, +5 114 YIKES!!

Thank goodness you're here!! Champ's never had a number this low before so I'm thinking to check him again at +6 (midnight my time) to see if he's still going down. At what point do I give him something? I have some of his old wet food here (friskies with gravy), karo, Temptations.
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, PMPS 278, +3 146, +5 114 YIKES!!

I looked at his SS and his nadir is near +6 so I wouldn't give him anything at all unless he comes much much lower than 114. He's at a very safe number. It's ok....I'll hang out with you. Let's breathe :lol: You're fine..he's fine. If you want to send me a quick post that you're ok, then I'll check back in at midnight...ok??
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, PMPS 278, +3 146, +5 114 YIKES!!

Well, looks like he didn't want to be that low!!! I just checked his BG and it's now 162. Oh, well, at least I can work a little and then go to bed. Thanks for waiting up with me!!! It looks like "the incident" is over :lol:
 
Re: 5/4 Champ AMPS 320, PMPS 278, +3 146, +5 114 YIKES!!

No problem. We were outside in the spa and had just come in to test Gracie. I didn't think he'd come too much lower this late. And just remember what you said on D'Artangnon's condo today about nailbiting numbers!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: You may get that wish soon....but I promise that after the first time or two, you'll handle it like a pro. The first few times are spooky scary but then you learn how he reacts and you're cool as a cucumber.

Don't work too late...you were up late last night, too. No more zombies (oh...and I just googled cat zombie for that pic :lol: :lol: ). Love Champs new cut....bet he is cool up there in Vegas.

Hugs...sleep tight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top