5/4/24 Mazi: AMPS 305 +5 88 PMPS 149 +4 188

Did you recheck the amps and +5? It’s entirely possible that both are accurate though. With SLGS you would decrease. I’d recheck the +5.
 
@tiffmaxee No unfortunately I didn't recheck the AMPS. However I noticed when I first put the strip in the alpha meter it had said error. I had pulled it back out and placed it back in (I thought maybe there was something wrong with the placement of the strip on why I got the error). When I replaced the strip, it worked fine, with no error but then I got the 300 reading which is out of Mazis norm.

However Mazi's BG went down to the 60s the other day and I thought maybe the high reading might of had something to do with a bounce from his low reading in the 60s.

I just rechecked his +5, well now +5.5 and it was 86...Hes on SLGS, so I just gave him a low carb snack to boost him back into the 90s.
 
Your new dose is 0.10. Congrats.
units:
49823504036_be8b19dcbc_o.jpg

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg
 
Mazi is responding very well. Congratulations on the reduction.

You asked in a PM about whether the fact that you reduced the amount of food he's feeding means he still earns a reduction. The answer is yes. I presume what you are feeding now will be the amount of calories he's getting going forward and for this amount of food, his dose was too high when following SLGS.

Side note, the amount of food a cat should get isn't based on what the internet says (which is just a guideline to start) but what works for that cat. Cats have different metabolisms, just like us, different activity levels. Neko, at a good weight for her Maine Coon heritage body at 14 lbs, got around 230 calories per day. At one point she got below 13 lbs and the vet said that was too low. So, go by what the vet suggests is a good weight for his body type, and what the scale says his weight is doing on a particular amount of calories. You can ask the vet next week when you go there what is an ideal weight for him.
 
You asked in a PM about whether the fact that you reduced the amount of food he's feeding means he still earns a reduction. The answer is yes. I presume what you are feeding now will be the amount of calories he's getting going forward and for this amount of food, his dose was too high when following SLGS.

@Wendy&Neko when I cut him down to 1/2 can a meal and 1/4 can for a AM/PM snack given at the 1st half of each cycle and he dropped down to the 60's, I took the reduction, but bumped him back to 3/4 can for am/pm meals and went back to giving him 1/4 can during the AM/PM snack at the beginning of each cycle bc I was a little worried I wasn't feeding him enough to slow his peak/nadir and thats why he went down into the 60s.

However, today he dropped down to the mid 80's when eating the 3/4 can BID and 1/4 can BID and he earned another reduction, putting mazi at 0.1U BID.

Last doctors visit in late March when he was 13lbs the doctor said he was about 1 lb over weight. So I'm taking that as mazi should be 12lbs on the high end.

I'll talk to him about it again on Monday, but for the time being I'm just going to go back to 1/2 can BID for meals and 1/4 can snack BID with this new dose and see where that takes us.

Like I said in the PM, I am afraid that making him eat too much food in a short period of time will make him nauseous, vomit, or even trigger a pancreatitis episode.

I would like to get him down to 12 to 11lbs.

Again, Thank you forever and always for your time, patience, and wealth of knowledge. I'd be broke if I had to go to the vet everytime I had a question..lol, You and others in this community has been so Amazing! And I am forever grateful! :):):)
 
Back
Top