5-4-20 Moey AMPS=211 *Labs*

Briere Fur Mom

Member Since 2019
Last Post

Good morning. I hope everyone has a beautiful day. Kitties be good and surf safely:cool::D Prayers for all:bighug:

Well, we got Moey's results. I've updated his SS w/ the results. I will also attach the file to view them "as received". I need a lot of opinions on this. He's not hyperthyroid. His chemistry panel is incredible for a cat of his age, who went into acute renal failure ~12yrs ago. I'm absolutely amazed. His CBC is another story. It points to some sort of bone marrow involvement, likely cancer.
Our vet is willing to anesthetize him and get in his mouth to see what can be done, if anything. Most vets wouldn't touch Moey, just ship him out to a specialty hosp. I'm fortunate that our vet is willing, as long as Moey is(and I get to assist during sx). So, that's where we are now. Not sure what to do or how much to put Moey through.
Moey is doing good. Same ole same ole. Eating good, perky. Doesn't seem to be in pain. Taking his fluids like a champ. He's a fighter. That's smthg that's never changed with him. I told him on the way home from the vet, "Moey, you've got to start gaining weight. You need to eat more than normal." When we got home he scarfed down nearly 2 cans of food in one sitting. That is smthg he doesn't do. He's a grazer. It's like he understands me and is saying, "I'm trying mom." I don't think he's ready to give up but, I'm just unsure about everything.
Days like these really SUCK!

@Marje and Gracie when you have a chance, do you mind taking a peek at Moey's labs and giving me some feedback?:bighug: TIA
 

Attachments

Last edited:
From your previous posts, it sounds like he's eating a ton, but still losing weight. Have you though about getting a GI blood panel? Specifically testing for B12 and folate. Did the vet mention an ultrasound or other procedure to see what's inside? GI issues can also cause weight loss. Have you noticed any change in the lump in his mouth? Sounds like Moey is still being Moey which is good. :bighug:
 
You are smart, and darling Moey is one lucky guy to have you helping and making decisions for him. It's true, much of his bloodwork looks awesome, like a dream for a lot of these kitties. I like the idea of your vet checking Moey's mouth more thoroughly, if it could be a very light anesthesia. And I'm curious about a possible ultrasound, like Wendy mentioned.
Sending you more strength and love - to all of your household:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Have you though about getting a GI blood panel?
No, I didn't really consider that because it seems the issue is stemming from his mouth.
Did the vet mention an ultrasound or other procedure to see what's inside?
No. Unfortunately the vet we use isn't equipped for diagnostics beyond preventative maintenance. We have to go through other channels to get workups. The downside to going through other channels is they require vaccine hx and Moey is waaay overdue for rabies vac. There are no exceptions with this facility.
Have you noticed any change in the lump in his mouth?
I've noticed an increase in drooling and he will paw at his mouth, while eating, from time to time. This has started to occur over the last day(pawing). The swelling in his jaw resolved with the course of ABs he was previously on. The swelling is gradually returning. The swelling is in the entire lower jaw. The DH and I are getting a new video of his mouth shortly to reevaluate the mass.
Sounds like Moey is still being Moey which is good
He is doing good despite the "new" mouth issues. It doesn't slow him down eating or seem to bother him.
Thanks for your reply Wendy.
 
I'm sorry that was inconclusive...holding your breath for days... and still not knowing.

You'll have to weigh the pros and cons...I hate being in that position....but only you know in your heart what's best for Meoy.

Sending you support and healing prayers for Moey. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You are smart, and darling Moey is one lucky guy to have you helping and making decisions for him. It's true, much of his bloodwork looks awesome, like a dream for a lot of these kitties. I like the idea of your vet checking Moey's mouth more thoroughly, if it could be a very light anesthesia. And I'm curious about a possible ultrasound, like Wendy mentioned.
Sending you more strength and love - to all of your household:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you Jan
An ultrasound could shed some light on the weight loss. Getting around vaccine protocols to have an ultrasound performed is another story.
This is where going with your beliefs, against state ordinance and recommended vaccine protocols bites you in the butt. Our Vet overlooks these things, other Vets are extremely proactive. I understand and don't blame them for being unwilling to handle a "sickly" unknown animal. I have my Rabies vaccine just because of that(our employer looked out for us, god rest his soul).
I think getting a good look in Moey's mouth will help shed some light on at least that problem.
 
Back
Top