5/31 Wonton AMPS=164 +6=117 PMPS=140 +3=117

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wonton

Member Since 2012
Wonton has surprised me today with all numbers in the 100's. I've reduced her to .5u since yesterday morning. I'm thinking this is a good thing, her numbers between 164 and 117 so far since 6:15am. I have a feeling I need to check her right before I go to sleep as she might dip low tonight. Are these good numbers and also being pretty flat?
Hope everyone is having a good evening.
 
These are some very nice numbers for Wonton - especially with the latest reduction. We usually don't reduce until a kitty has "earned" it by dropping below 50, but Wonton does continue to respond so nicely.

At this point, I would start going a bit slower with reducing her dose for sure - ie, I'd hold her at .50U for now. In general, we do like to see kitties more in the greens, BUT, being able to shoot consistently twice a day is very important. If you're currently comfy with the .50U and are able to regularly do that twice a day, then that's great. Keep gathering data so you can see how she's responding. She made need to go up in dose again before she can go back down, but shooting a consistent dose twice a day will get her "there" more quickly than skipping shots.

I'm glad to see an update from you guys. Have a great evening - and yes, getting that test before hitting the sack is always a good idea!
 
Hi Amy, Yes, I will stay at .5u/2x daily and see how she responds. Isn't it difficult to keep a kitty in the greens? Wouldn't they be very close to going below 50 and being in danger? To be honest, my thinking is being in the 100's is good and she's not in danger, and of course I would test her 3-4 times daily. Do I have the wrong idea?
 
Yup. Wrong idea!!!

If you look at the SSs of some of the cats that are either close to or on an OTJ trial, you'll see that the drop between pre-shot and nadir is small. Once a cat is becoming better regulated, the Lantus "curve" flattens out. Also, the more time Wonton spends in green numbers, the more opportunity her pancreas has to heal. Remember, not all blues are equal. A 170 is blue but it's not within the normal BG range.
 
100s aren't bad at all - she'd be below the level where glucose toxicity is a concern. But, the normal range is 50-120, and most of the cats who go OTJ (off the juice) do run in the lower end of that range. I see how well Wonton is responding, and while I can't predict the future, well...I do wonder if she's a good "candidate" (anti-jinx). You DO get used to having a kitty run in the greens, once you learn how they respond to insulin.

Take a look at Trix's SS if you have a chance...I try to keep her in the safe greens as much as possible, although there are times that she definitely has her own ideas. Last summer was the best example of my goals with her. You'll see I've even shot her with PS's in the 50s, but I only did so when I knew I'd be around to test, and when I had enough data to know how she'd respond.

But, you do have to do what you're comfortable with...no pressure from us at all!

I'm a little tired tonight, so I'm probably not explaining things really well...I'm sure someone with a better vocabulary will come along!

PS - Listen to Sienne...she's one of those who has a better vocabulary than I do!!!
 
Just before going OTJ MIkey's numbers were between 52 -127. The lowest I have tested him since OTJ is 69.

I like to be closer to green. Her numbers look great! Paws crossed this dose works for her.
 
My understanding is that for the pancreas to heal you want to be in normal numbers (about 50-120) so although by keeping her in the 100's you are preventing organ damage I'm not sure that you'll be getting the healing required to go OTJ. Assuming that OTJ is your aim, if it's not then she is quite nicely regulated.

Vyktor was almost completely green as he headed OTJ with nothing above the mid 100's and although he went as low as 32, apart from being hungry, he didn't have any hypo symptoms. The lowest he has tested since OTJ is 47. Don't be scared about hitting 50 it's not unsafe. If they go lower than that on insulin you want to get them above 50 again but cruising in the 50 to 100 range is great :mrgreen:
 
Thank you all for your replies. :YMHUG: I definitely would like to see her get OTJ, so I will continue to that goal. I'm becoming more at ease with her lower numbers, even though they've mostly been in the 100's. I have noticed when she was in the 60's that she meows to eat and very persistent, and her pupils are very large. So I guess I have those signs to look for which is a very good thing to keeping her safe. I didn't post yesterday's numbers but am doing so now, and also today's.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top