5/31 Rupert PMPS 482 +4 462

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72113&p=782875#p782875

good grief!!!!!!!!!!! Rupert keeping me on my toes. going to stall the shot for an hour. of course he's eating breakfast so I know that will affect things but he was so very very hungry and I fed him AS I tested, not expecting that number at all of course!). kinda freaked now wondering where he went last night and of course expecting a massively huge bounce from this one. fingers crossed that maybe THIS will be the time he doesn't go crazy. I think he may have been out all night hunting bunnies again although no bodies this morning!

I have to go to work by 9 so if he isn't coming up by +2 I'll skip I guess. dammit. or shave the dose a little.. but then that seems to defeat the whole goal of getting him down and keeping him into those green numbers. 2.25 does seem to be the dose for him for that. if he wasn't such a diver it wouldn't be so confusing!

WCR: beyond BEBT this morning. Bossy, vocal, zoomy, sleek and shiny. very hungry. Wish I could somehow leave food out for him to graze on all the time, I really think it would help with the dives but with Oliver-Dyson and the rest of the gang it's pretty tricky.
 
Re: 5/31 Rupert AMBG 91 !!! stalling

Nice green Rupert! Finally giving mummy a welcome gift!
 
Re: 5/31 Rupert +12 91 AMPS 142,

up to the blue so I"m going to go ahead and shoot, one hour late nailbite_smile will go feed the horsies, test at +1 and probably +1.5 before I head out the door. I'll be back for +5 maybe sooner if I have concerns. Interesting things going on. his nadir has really shifted lately, used to be that I could tell by +2 or +3 where things would go.... last little while it's been around the +4, +5 mark... I'm hoping that's actually a good sign, suggesting the insulin is working slower and more evenly. Then again, it could just be Rupert psyching me out!!! gonna give him a bit more of a snack now, he's had Friskies Salmon Pate this morning, nom nom.
 
Re: 5/31 Rupert +12 91 AMPS 142 +1 158

+1 and holding steady in the blue...am gonna give him another snack before I leave in half an hour.
 
Re: 5/31 Rupert +12 91 AMPS 142 +1 158

Wow! Rupert really is Mr. Unpredictable. Nice AM number, it's too bad you weren't able to shoot and observe. Now if only he would do that again on a weekend. Surf the blues Rupert!
 
Re: 5/31 Rupert +12 91 AMPS 142 +1 158,+4.5 156

still surfing that blue at +4.5 yay! hope he stays there till PMPS.
 
Re: 5/31 Rupert +12 91 AMPS 142 +1 158,+4.5 156

Pip

I'm glad to see Rupert in nice numbers. However...(you knew there would be one)....you could have shot this 91 on time. You've been around long enough and you should start shooting lower numbers.

Yes....this appears to be a dropping number but with no tests last night really, then we don't know....it could be a second dip. BUT you are experienced enough to shoot a dropping number when it's this high; you have data to
know if he spikes and how he responds to food. While we don't encourage brand new members to shoot dropping numbers, you have the experience to....and then feed and let his numbers rise.

So I think next time he gives you a number like the +12 and you will be there to monitor....SHHHOOOOOOOOTTTTTTTT!!! :-D Shoot low to stay low.
 
Re: 5/31 Rupert +12 91 AMPS 142 +1 158,+4.5 156

It's wonderful to see Rupeert in those lovely blue numbers! Surf on Rupert!
 
Re: 5/31 Rupert +12 91 AMPS 142 +1 158,+4.5 156

Marjorie, i stalled because I would NOT be home to monitor him, all I would've been able to get was a +2 and then gone till +6 . If it was a weekend or any other day when I was not working I would've shot that number. Thanks for the input though
 
Re: 5/31 Rupert +12 91 AMPS 142 +1 158,+4.5 156

Hi Pip - thanks for visiting Mannie today - much appreciated. Ann answered your question about Camp Stu there.

What beautiful day for Pip - such nice steady even blue cycle. Well done Pip! As far as shooting this morning - the bottom line , for me, is that one needs to be comfortable with what they are shooting and when - this includes daily schedules that allow monitoring when needed. If there is ever any doubt, concerns, or you simply can't be there to alleviate those fears with testing, then it just isn't worth the risk. They will recover from a missed shot, or a reduced one. You did what you had to do, whether or not it was a shootable number.

have a great rest of the evening.
 
Re: 5/31 Rupert +12 91 AMPS 142 +1 158,+4.5 PMPS 482 sigh.

so much for my vague hope that he would perhaps not bounce so high this time. kerboing! here we go again. Oh well. weekend is coming up and we know what he likes to do on a Friday night so maybe tomorrow we'll see something. grrrrrrrrrrrr. so very very very frustrating. I've cancelled one away horse show so far this season, we are hoping to make one at the end of July, would be nice to have him more closely regulated by then. We have qualified for, and are planning to go to, Nationals again this year in Idaho... it's not till end of September so I"m hoping things are more settled at least by then. My trip to my sisters was great but also showed that it's going to be tricky leaving the cats with anyone else when we both go away. Bumley barely ate whilst I was gone even though Stu was home and she loves him. The others usually manage since they are younger and will actually eat. Rupert was fine other than one dip and if we went away I'd lower his dose to something 'safe'.. just would be nice to know just exactly WHAT that would be! oh well. we have time. Just getting so frustrated with the bouncing so it's good to hear stories from others who had kitties that bounced badly and then levelled out. Will get a +4 tonight to make sure I don't get a surprise tomorrow morning again!
 
another bounce for Rupert tonight. sigh. +4 and 462.... hopefully he'll clear it overnight and give me a decent number tomorrow.

off to bed now, hope everyone has a great evening!
 
Sorry about the bounce, Pip! Dealing with frustrating bounces myself, and the emotional highs and lows are def draining. :-| Hope they do clear out eventually for ya, and paws crossed for a good AMPS ;-) Night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top