5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72,+9 60,PMPS 74,+4 58, +5 87

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72 SHOOT OR NOT?

Wow....ss looking great. Are you home today? You have shot the 90's and Jez did great. It looks like he is looking for that dose reduction so if you are home to test, have plenty of strips and HC I would shoot. You have to be comfortable though......what do you think? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72 SHOOT OR NOT?

I don't know. When she drops below 60 I think she's hypo.

Here are some of my notes from yesterday...

Behavioral observations over the past several days:
Over 300 - will not eat
Under 60 - very sleepy, wobbly, some lip smacking and general 'out of it-ness'. Basically
very sluggish and reduced responsiveness.
She also will not eat under 60 - has to be hand fed. When her numbers reach 80 - she will
go seek out food on her own. Still learning how to use the timed feeder. But she has finally
accepted that she is not getting any more dry food....so is now really learning to enjoy the
wet. (I believe my other cat has also lost some poundage...prevention is the key for Sassafras).
I don't think under 60 works for her so I lowered the dose to .5 units.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72 SHOOT OR NOT?

Since you already lowered the dose last night I would not lower it again. You don't want to lose any momentum. This number is probably still leftover action from the previous dose.
What do you think?
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72 SHOOT OR NOT?

Can I wait and see what happens with the food? It's already been +25...can I wait until +5 and check her again?
Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72 SHOOT OR NOT?

When stalling we suggest not feeding because you are waiting for a rising number and if you feed your shooting number will be based on a food spike.
You mean wait until +.5 right not +5 I am assuming. You want to stall for 30 minutes which is fine but don't feed.
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72 SHOOT OR NOT?

I already fed her.....
I'll go ahead and give her the .5 u...and watch
Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72 SHOOT OR NOT?

Oops....I kept calling Jez a he....sorry Jez, I realize you are a she. :-D

Debbie....I know it is scary at first when you get those lower numbers but it is all good. I also know you are concerned about the way Jez acts when she goes below 60. I wonder if her body is just not used to lower numbers so that is how she reacts. I don't believe cats can hypo in the 60's but ECID so she may feel something different I am not sure. She is doing so well since off the dry food.
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72

AMPS 72 - Very hungry....
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98

I'll watch her. The 98 is most likely the food...correct?

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +.5 98, +1 84

AMPS 72 - Very hungry....
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98
+1 84

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +.5 98, +1 84, +2 53 QUESTION

AMPS 72 - Very hungry....
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98
+1 84
+2 53

Should I feed or wait and recheck?

Debie 7 Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53, +2.5 51 FEED OR WAIT?

AMPS 72 - Very hungry....
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98
+1 84
+2 53
+2.5 51

Feed or wait?

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53, +2.5 51 FEED OR WAIT?

You've already shot, go ahead and feed. There's no reason to hold food once you've shot. You only wait with food if you are stalling the shot.
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53, +2.5 51

AMPS 72 - Ate 1/2 c FF
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98
+1 84
+2 53
+2.5 51 Fed 1/4 c LC

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53, +2.5 51, +3 57

AMPS 72 - Ate 1/2 c FF
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98
+1 84
+2 53
+2.5 51 Fed 1/4 c LC
+3 57

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53, +2.5 51, +3 57

Sorry if that was confusing.

Basically, if you get a PS number you don't think you can shoot, post -- just like you did. It's always best if you can shoot but you need to be data ready to do so. (See the "Becoming Data Ready" sticky.) The basic "rule" with a low PS is to test at +1 and +2 and you should have strips and HC food on hand, just in case.

Your alternatives are:
  • Stall - if you stall the shot, you don't want to feed. You will re-test in 15 min. or so and repeat until you see that the numbers are either rising or that there's a surf (providing it's not a surf in the 40s!) The reason for not feeding is that when you re-test, you don't want to see a food spike since you won't know if the number is really rising. Once you shoot, go ahead and feed. Remember that with a stall, your shot time for the next cycle is 12 hours from the time you actually shot -- so this can have a big impact on your schedule.
  • Shoot a reduced dose. We call this a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose.
  • Skip the shot. This is the least preferred option since it has the biggest impact on the shed. It may, however, be your best alternative such as if there's a surf in the 40s.

Fundamentally, you want to do what you can to shoot your regular dose as close to your regular shot time as safely as possible. All of the alternatives have an impact on the shed.
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53, +2.5 51, +3 57

Thanks, it was confusing. I thought you test, feed, then shoot.....so now I test...low wait and test again in 15 min. I like the BCS option.....
Will read the sticky on "Becoming Data Ready".

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53, +3 57, +4 64

AMPS 72 - Ate 1/2 c FF
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98
+1 84
+2 53
+2.5 51 Fed 1/4 c LC
+3 57
Small LC snack at +3.5
+4 64

Putting food in the auto feeder....we're going to practice at +6...

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53, +3 57, +4 64

Jez really has this surfing thing down! Looks great, and nice shooting this morning. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53,+4 64, +7 70, +9 60

AMPS 72 - Ate 1/2 c FF
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98
+1 84
+2 53
+2.5 51 Fed 1/4 c LC
+3 57
Small LC snack at +3.5
+4 64
Small LC snack at +6
+7 70
+9 60
Small LC snack at +9

Okay....I will most likely need guidance at PMPS time - whether to shoot or not.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53,+4 64, +7 70, +9 60

looks great, Jezebel is on a mission these days. She wants to be done with insulin soon, now we just have to help her get there. :smile:

Get a +11 and post it, and we'll figure out tonight.
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53,+4 64, +7 70, +9 60

Debie I cannot remember if it was you that said that Jez was afraid of the timed feeder.
The suggestion with my timed feeder said to let the cat eat from it without the timer so they get used to it. Putty was scared of it so I just kept having him eat out of it for a couple of days before I actually set the timer.
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53,+4 64, +7 70, +9 60

No - she's not afraid of it...just something different. That's what I've been doing. Been home all day so I set the timer...when it went off, I took her to the kitchen and she ate out of it every time (except once when her canine brother got there first). The kitchen is now barricaded....lol
Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53,+7 70, +9 60, +11 73

AMPS 72 - Ate 1/2 c FF
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98
+1 84
+2 53
+2.5 51 Fed 1/4 c LC
+3 57
Small LC snack at +3.5
+4 64
Small LC snack at +6
+7 70
+9 60
Small LC snack at +9
+11 73

She has never been this low this late in the day. She has probably eaten more than
when I'm at work.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53,+7 70, +9 60, +11 73

let's see what the +12 number is. Usually we try not to do dose reductions in this quick succession, if we can avoid it. But, if you're concerned that Jez doesn't feel well in these numbers, we can try another reduction to 0.25 units tonight. She hit 51 early, and you gave several snacks today and she is still surfing. Most likely she'll be able to hold the reduction. If she can't hold it and the numbers go back up, we can always increase the dose again. What do you think?
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53,+7 70, +9 60, +11 73

Sounds like a plan...I think I can figure out .25.

Will check her again in 10 min....

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +1 84, +2 53,+7 70, +9 60, +11 73

AMPS 72 - Ate 1/2 c FF
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98
+1 84
+2 53
+2.5 51 Fed 1/4 c LC
+3 57
Small LC snack at +3.5
+4 64
Small LC snack at +6
+7 70
+9 60
Small LC snack at +9
+11 73
PMPS 74

Okay....advice?
Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +2 53,+7 70, +9 60, +11 73, PMPS 74

she is up from her nadir earlier, so this is shootable. You want to keep this surf going for as long as possible. Are you comfortable shooting the new dose of 0.25? This is the same number you shot this morning and that worked ok.
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +2 53,+7 70, +9 60, +11 73, PMPS 74

I gave her .5 this am...and am not comfortable with that. Will give her .25

Could she really be self-regulating this quickly?

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +2 53,+7 70, +9 60, +11 73, PMPS 74

yep, when it happens it often happens suddenly. Things are looking very promising here.
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +2 53,+7 70, +9 60, +11 73, PMPS 74

Should I feed her as well? It is dinner time.
Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +2 53,+7 70, +9 60, +11 73, PMPS 74

yes, when you're shooting it's fine to feed. It's only when you're stalling that you should wait (so you can feed when you actually shoot).
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +2 53,+7 70, +9 60, +11 73, PMPS 74

AMPS 72 - Ate 1/2 c FF
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98
+1 84
+2 53
+2.5 51 Fed 1/4 c LC
+3 57
Small LC snack at +3.5
+4 64
Small LC snack at +6
+7 70
+9 60
Small LC snack at +9
+11 73
PMPS 74
.25 (probably fat) u Lantus at PMPS.25
Fed her LC dinner

I'll be back at +1 to check in on her...

Thanks for being there Libby!
Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +2 53,+9 60, +11 73, PMPS 74, +1 98

AMPS 72 - Ate 1/2 c FF
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98
+1 84
+2 53
+2.5 51 Fed 1/4 c LC
+3 57
Small LC snack at +3.5
+4 64
Small LC snack at +6
+7 70
+9 60
Small LC snack at +9
+11 73
PMPS 74
.25 (probably fat) u Lantus at PMPS.25
Fed her LC dinner
+1 98

Okay...I'll be back at +3.....unless I should check sooner??

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +2 53,+9 60, +11 73, PMPS 74, +1 98

I know you've been testing a LOT today, but you might want to get a +2. So far this looks just like this morning's cycle, and this morning she dropped by then. Hopefully she'll still be surfing at +2, then you can back off some.
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +2 53,+9 60, +11 73, PMPS 74, +1 98

AMPS 72 - Ate 1/2 c FF
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98
+1 84
+2 53
+2.5 51 Fed 1/4 c LC
+3 57
Small LC snack at +3.5
+4 64
Small LC snack at +6
+7 70
+9 60
Small LC snack at +9
+11 73
PMPS 74
.25 (probably fat) u Lantus at PMPS.25
Fed her LC dinner
+1 98
+2 93 Came home to check....... are we surfing? I'll be back in 2 unless I should check in 1...then the family shuffle continues..

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +2 53,+9 60, +11 73, PMPS 74, +1 98

2 hours sounds fine, leave food out if you can. Looks like she's surfing but some food will help be sure.
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +2 53,+9 60, +11 73, PMPS 74, +1 98

I'll get back between +4 and +5 to check her again.
Debie & jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72, +2 53,+9 60, +11 73, PMPS 74, +1 98

AMPS 72 - Ate 1/2 c FF
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98
+1 84
+2 53
+2.5 51 Fed 1/4 c LC
+3 57
Small LC snack at +3.5
+4 64
Small LC snack at +6
+7 70
+9 60
Small LC snack at +9
+11 73
PMPS 74
.25 (probably fat) u Lantus at PMPS.25
Fed her LC dinner
+1 98
+2 93 Came home to check....... are we surfing? I'll be back in 2 unless I should check in 1...then the family shuffle continues..
+4 58 - ate some LC food...hungry again.

Next steps???

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72,+9 60,PMPS 74,+4 58...????

I'd say to test in 30-45 minutes to make sure the food kicked in.
 
Re: 5/31, Jezebel, AMPS 72,+9 60,PMPS 74,+4 58...????

AMPS 72 - Ate 1/2 c FF
.5 u Lantus
+.5 98
+1 84
+2 53
+2.5 51 Fed 1/4 c LC
+3 57
Small LC snack at +3.5
+4 64
Small LC snack at +6
+7 70
+9 60
Small LC snack at +9
+11 73
PMPS 74
.25 (probably fat) u Lantus at PMPS.25
Fed her LC dinner
+1 98
+2 93 Came home to check....... are we surfing? I'll be back in 2 unless I should check in 1...then the family shuffle continues..
+4 58 - ate some LC food...hungry again.
+5 87 - hungry again...gave some LC food

Will try and wake up and check in a few hours.
Debie & Jez
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top