5/31 Gus PMPS HI

Status
Not open for further replies.

bev5477

Member Since 2011
Looks as if getting a +12 on Gus has become part of our routine. Everyone have a great day. At least it isn't Monday ;-)
 
Re: 5/31 Gus +12=52/AMPS=223

How much later did you end up shooting? That's quite a jump.

The way this is noted on your SS, it looks like the 52 is your PM +11.
 
Re: 5/31 Gus +12=52/AMPS=223

I got up early to check Gus' +11 because it was so low yesterday. Yesterday's AM+11 was 78. I see that I incorrectly noted the time in the today's subject line. I'll correct it. I waited one hour and checked his BG for his PS and it was 223. And I agree, it is quite a jump. I'll be testing again shortly. Do these low numbers indicate that I should lower his dose by .25U?
 
Re: 5/31 Gus +11=52/AMPS=223

I am no dosing expert - but with his AMPS and PMPS being higher, I wonder if sticking with what you're doing but adjusting feeding times would be the way to go for the moment? Perhaps a snack at +10 would help smooth things out with his late nadirs.
 
Re: 5/31 Gus +11=52/AMPS=223

Wow! Hard to believe this is Gus!! It's nice to be worrying about low numbers versus high numbers, though, huh? Of course, with low numbers you get far less sleep!! :-D Can't wait to see where he heads to today. Gus' numbers are always interesting to watch these days.

Have a great day, Bev!! :-D
 
Re: 5/31 Gus +11=52/AMPS=223

I would not feed past nadir. If you feed during the time when the action of insulin is waning, you will end up with higher numbers by PMPS.

You may need to start getting a few more PM tests (if possible) so you know whether Gus is going lower than what you saw this morning.

One thing I would do is double check the test. If the +11 is in keeping with earlier numbers then it's likely to be an accurate test. If it seems out of sync, I'd re-test. Ditto for the pre-shot. Sometimes, our cats throw us odd numbers. Other times, it's our testing/meter (too much blood, not enough blood, etc.), a glitch, the way the stars are aligned, whatever.
 
Re: 5/31 Gus +11=52/AMPS=223

Hi guys .. I have to say, that is quite a jump! Looks like others are giving out some good advice .. and I also agree, this is hard to believe it's gus with these numbers .. how exciting!!
 
Re: 5/31 Gus +11=52/AMPS=223

Go Gus! Very nice numbers out of him these last few days now that his poor little infected mouth is healing.
 
Re: 5/31 Gus +11=52/AMPS=223

Looks like you're having odd numbers today too..I wonder what that's about? Tommy through a huge drop on me last night.. Good luck with Gus today.. 223 is not a shabby start for him by any means.. I hope that infection clears up real soon.
Have a good day Bev. :-D
 
Sienne, when you say 'nadir' are you referring to +6 or Gus' actual nadirs, which seem to be occurring at +11 or so. When I have seen such a low # at +11, I don't feed. I wait until the # goes up by itself. If you mean that he not eat from +6 to PMPS, that's impossible, however, I don't feed him from AM +10 'til PMPS. His IAA tests came back negative. No word on the acro yet.
 
that's great news that the IAA is negative! One test down, one to go.

This is a new pattern for Gus, but it is starting to look like he may have a late nadir. As the bouncing starts to settle down, it will become easier to see.

What Sienne means is that some cats (especially those that are carb sensitive) can't handle much or any food after their nadir. The jury is still out as to when Gus' nadir is, but if you are feeding late in the cycle and see big jumps in the numbers, you can try rearranging his meals to see if that helps.
 
Awesome news on the IAA. How frustrating with that PMPS!! You kinda want to look him in the eye and say, "make up your mind, buddy." I hope the bounce clears quickly and he returns to the lower deck!! You're doing an absolutely amazing job of handling all this with the highs and the lows. You should feel accomplished that you're hanging in their quite well!! :-D
 
good news on the IAA test results! yes, one down, hopefully news on the acro test soon.

and what the heck is he doing back up there at HI? silly boy! hopefully he's come down by now - i'm late getting around to see people tonight.
 
bev5477 said:
Sienne, when you say 'nadir' are you referring to +6 or Gus' actual nadirs, which seem to be occurring at +11 or so. When I have seen such a low # at +11, I don't feed. I wait until the # goes up by itself. If you mean that he not eat from +6 to PMPS, that's impossible, however, I don't feed him from AM +10 'til PMPS. His IAA tests came back negative. No word on the acro yet.

What was the value on the test results for IAA - the number will be a percentage - under 20% is considered negative.
If you know the number, it could be important. A value quite low is good, but if the value was something like 17% or closer to that 20% cutoff, you may want to keep it in the back of your mind because the test results are really just snapshots at a given point in time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top