5/31 George PMPS 276 (dental today)

Hshray

Member Since 2021
Yesterday

@smorgasbord I know I can’t actually believe how long it’s been since I posted before yesterday! I was scrolling through catching up on the kitties yesterday though :) I need to catch up on your move too!

George was not a happy camper this morning. He acted like we were definitely abusing him by withholding food after midnight…he apparently thought jumping on our bed and pawing at the door + meowing would eventually win him some food. The vet said he was “angry” which isn’t surprising because he absolutely hates when we take him in the car, and especially when we end up at the vet.

I hate to bring him in too, but his breath started smelling so figured it was time for a dental…turns out he needs five extractions! They said four of his bottom teeth are bad plus one other one. These will be his first extractions, and they’re doing them now. I’m hoping this will help him stay on the up and up. Poor guy.

I’m wondering if this is what they were talking about in regards to a Cerenia drip:

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6042506/

Looks like possibly a short duration of IV administered Cerenia prior to giving medications that can cause vomiting. I’m admittedly very unfamiliar with all of this, as this is only George’s second dental.
 
Yikes on 5 extractions! Good that you got him in. He'll feel so much better afterwards. Are they giving you anything for pain afterwards? They should, and my vote would be buprenorphine.

I have heard of the occasional cat being nauseous after a dental, but that has never been my experience with any of my crew. Maybe it depends on the anaesthesia drugs used? There is also some anti inflammatory properties with Cerenia, which could help.

Sorry I wasn't around to chime in yesterday, but Neko went to a dental specialist vet. She could eat up to 1/3 of her breakfast until 6:00 AM and only half shot in the AM. I once only did a token dose and she still almost earned a reduction from the tests taken at the vet's office. :rolleyes: Note that I did have to remind the front desk of the dental vet that she was diabetic and to ask the vet, otherwise the instructions were no food after midnight.
 
Yikes on 5 extractions! Good that you got him in. He'll feel so much better afterwards. Are they giving you anything for pain afterwards? They should, and my vote would be buprenorphine.

I have heard of the occasional cat being nauseous after a dental, but that has never been my experience with any of my crew. Maybe it depends on the anaesthesia drugs used? There is also some anti inflammatory properties with Cerenia, which could help.

Sorry I wasn't around to chime in yesterday, but Neko went to a dental specialist vet. She could eat up to 1/3 of her breakfast until 6:00 AM and only half shot in the AM. I once only did a token dose and she still almost earned a reduction from the tests taken at the vet's office. :rolleyes: Note that I did have to remind the front desk of the dental vet that she was diabetic and to ask the vet, otherwise the instructions were no food after midnight.
Thank you! This is good to know. Seems like protocols are a little different everywhere. George is home now. Definitely still out of it, but he was very stressed there so they wanted him to be able to come home as soon as possible. They sent him home with gabapentin. I didn’t see this beforehand or otherwise I would’ve asked for buprenorphine like you suggested. I may still if the gabapentin doesn’t seem to be doing the trick.
 
Good to know he's home! Is he eating? Only small bits spaced out should be given. With extractions he may want something soft like all meat babyfood or TikiCat Mousse. I would test him now, then again at PMPS. Some anaesthesia induction drugs lower the BG. If you have that happening, plus sore mouth/not wanting to eat as much, can make for too interesting a night for you.

Vets seem to be more reluctant to prescribe buprenorphine these days and more into gabapentin. I tried both for Neko and for her bupe was better.
 
Good to know he's home! Is he eating? Only small bits spaced out should be given. With extractions he may want something soft like all meat babyfood or TikiCat Mousse. I would test him now, then again at PMPS. Some anaesthesia induction drugs lower the BG. If you have that happening, plus sore mouth/not wanting to eat as much, can make for too interesting a night for you.

Vets seem to be more reluctant to prescribe buprenorphine these days and more into gabapentin. I tried both for Neko and for her bupe was better.
He hasn’t really eaten yet but seems like he wants to :(. He’s still a little out of it but does keep going to his bowl…just can’t quite bring himself to actually eat yet. I’ll pick up some baby food and see if that helps.
 
Baby food worked for Max. We’re you given an antibiotic? Max got bupe as well. Poor George getting 5 pulled! Once Max had two. That was when he was younger and before fd.
 
Baby food worked for Max. We’re you given an antibiotic? Max got bupe as well. Poor George getting 5 pulled! Once Max had two. That was when he was younger and before fd.
He’s eating now, yay! I was a little worried about him being almost 13 and undergoing anesthesia, especially since he seemed fine minus the bad breath…I’m glad we got it taken care of though, I had no idea how bad it was!

PMPS was 276, which is a number we haven’t seen in a long time, but to be expected with the day he’s had.

No, they didn’t give us an antibiotic, just the gabapentin. I asked about an antibiotic and they said they weren’t going to give him one unless he also had a UTI or other infection, which he didn’t. Do you think I should have pressed for one?
 
My vet does give an antibiotic if a tooth is pulled. The last dental he gave a shot of convenia which I was not happy about.
 
Hi Hilary , how is George doing today. I hope he's not be n that much pain. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you! He seems to be doing pretty well at the moment! This morning he was hiding under the bed most of the morning, and I was only able to get half of his gabapentin in him, so it wasn’t great, but he just came out and initiated play and is being very social :) He seemed to get his appetite back last night, but he hasn’t really eaten very much today (just a few licks here and there), so I need to get him to eat some more. I have three small portions of options out for him now in case he becomes interested.
 
Thank you! He seems to be doing pretty well at the moment! This morning he was hiding under the bed most of the morning, and I was only able to get half of his gabapentin in him, so it wasn’t great, but he just came out and initiated play and is being very social :) He seemed to get his appetite back last night, but he hasn’t really eaten very much today (just a few licks here and there), so I need to get him to eat some more. I have three small portions of options out for him now in case he becomes interested.
I'm glad he seems to be doing pretty good. I hope he'll eat one of the options you put out for him. I feel so bad for him that he had to have 5 teeth pulled ♥
Keep us updated on how he's coming along :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top