5/31 FAX PMPS 317 first cycle @ 5.25u +3 311

Status
Not open for further replies.

roisin and fax

Member Since 2011
Laurie - thanks for the tip on the food - I did notice that it has more calories than what he was eating but if I keep him to just less than a can of the new stuff that is very near what he was eating of the M/D. Any tips on how to ignore frantic meow hungry man (other than giving him more food!)?
I can't wait until he is regulated again so he's back to himself and any extra meals will be caught by him in the backyard!

Have a great day all!
 
Re: 5/31 FAX AMPS 450

roisin, i'm wondering how long you should stay at this dose before increasing it, given his high numbers. his numbers have been pretty consistently over 200-300. you've switched his food to low carb and he's been 100% there for a couple of days now, hasn't he?

if i were you, i'd ask those more experienced than me about dosing for tonight now - you can edit your first post's subject line. it just seems like if he were going to drop significantly from the food change, that it would have happened by now.

when did he last get high carb food - and was it dry food?
 
Re: 5/31 FAX AMPS 450

Hi Julie
He hasn't eaten dry food in a long time (except if he manages to steal a couple of kibbles from angus which doesn't happen often as we referee meals).
He has been on 100% low carb food - this will be his third day.


Does anyone think its time for a dose increase tonight? And if so, how much do I increase by?
 
Re: 5/31 FAX AMPS 450 DOSING Q

I agree with Julie. If Fax has been on all low carb food, I'd bump the dose. Dose increases/decreases are usually in 0.25u increments. When you have a chance, review the Tight Regulation sticky (and the links) for the details.

If Fax is wanting more food, if you are not already spreading his food out over the first half of the cycle, you may want to think about doing that. Feeding mini-meals has the advantage of not overwhelming his pancreas at shot time. He'll also think he's getting more food if you are feeding over several hours.
 
Re: 5/31 FAX AMPS 450 DOSING Q

Hi guys .. lots of good advice here regarding feeding/dosing stuff so I'll just say .. come on down fax, we know you can do it! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/31 FAX AMPS 450 DOSING Q

i'm glad you asked, roisin. might as well move the little guy along before he gets too comfy in those high numbers. so sienne is saying you could increase by .25 tonight.
 
Re: 5/31 FAX AMPS 450 DOSING Q

i was reading through the tight regulation protocol stickies and i would like to ask: seeing as Faxy's nadirs have always been quite high and also because he is already on a significant dose should i be increasing by 0.5u instead of 0.25u?

thanks everyone for your advice and support - fax is trying real hard to get better!
 
Re: 5/31 FAX AMPS 450 + 7 311 DOSING Q

No, you should be increasing by 0.25u because he has had nadirs in the 200s. His dose is not that high yet.

I suspect that he is bouncing today from the low yellow number last night. I would increase tonight if the bounce has cleared.
 
Re: 5/31 FAX AMPS 450 + 7 311 DOSING Q

Hi, Roisin!

I found some information about dose increasing, which was found in the Sticky - Lantus & Levemir - Tight Regulation Protocol that Sienne posted earlier in your condo:

Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I hope that helps, and good luck with the new dose. :) All the stickies are excellent sources of information. Also, welcome to the board! :)
 
Re: 5/31 FAX AMPS 450 + 7 311 DOSING Q

laurie - how do i know if the bounce has cleared?
i'm reading stickies and trying to absorb all of this information but there's just so much!
 
Re: 5/31 FAX AMPS 450 + 7 311 DOSING Q

Hi Roisin and fellow Canadian (we are in Montreal)

I don't post much lately but I am a heavy lurker.
My Max is OTJ for the past year and his dose ran pretty high compared to most here
in LL. We went up to 6u, then crashed down.

Thought you might want to have a look at his spreadsheet for some emotional support.
I totally understand what you are going through.

BTW just a reminder for checking ketones with these higher numbers.
Hopefully Fax will find his good dose and break those reds soon.
 
Re: 5/31 FAX AMPS 450 + 7 311 DOSING Q

He looks like he is following the same pattern as 5/29, his numbers sliding gradually down toward PMPS, clearing the bounce. When I posted earlier, I only saw the test early in the cycle, I didn't see the 311. It looks like he will be fine to increase.

Don't worry about trying to learn everything at once....it takes time to absorb everything.

I'm glad Randi posted....Max's SS is a good one for you to look at. I'm glad she mentioned the ketone test too....saved me from bugging you today! ;-)
 
Re: 5/31 FAX AMPS 450 + 7 311 DOSING Q

THanks for posting Randi - it looks like you went through the similar weeks/months as myself and Fax. Very encouraging to see your guy is OTJ now, I have fingers and toes crossed that Fax can get there again.
I will increase tonight to 5.25u. Going to do a preshot here in a few minutes.
Only saw him eat one mouse tonight...
 
Re: 5/31 FAX PMPS 317 first cycle @ 5.25u

I increased fax's dose to 5.25u
He caught another mouse today at +11 and did a spurt of running while outside.
Nice to see him a little perkier again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top