5/31 Champ PMPS 255, +3 178

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone!!! Long time no "see." There's been just about nothing to report so I haven't bothered to post a Champ condo in quite a while. He's been doing pretty well, though we haven't seen many greens lately. On the other hand, we've seen very little pink so I'm not going to complain too loudly. :-D

I ordered Lantus from a Canadian pharmacy for the first time. The Lantus did have to travel all the way from Turkey to Las Vegas and I was pretty apprehensive about how it was going to handle the trip. I tried to order when the temperatures around the globe would be the mildest (after the coldest months, but before it got too hot here in Las Vegas). They give you such a wide timeline for delivery, saying it will be delivered in 8-12 business days. We don't have mailboxes curbside at our houses here in my community. There's a central area where all the mail is delivered into your individual mailbox. Of course, the mailbox is metal, just in case you do have anything mailed to you that can be damaged by heat so it gets the full oven effect while it sits there!!! I have a bad habit of not checking my mail except a couple times a week (who needs to see bills arrive everyday for goodness sakes!!) and no one else in my household bothers to check it either. I was trying to remember to check it every day when I was expecting the insulin, but skipped two days. Of course, the Lantus was in there waiting for me so I don't have any idea how long it was sitting there. It could be as short as half a day or as long as 1.5 days. The temperatures had gotten up to the high 80's/low 90's on the day before I checked the mail. The insulin was in a cooler with gel packs, though the packs weren't frozen. The inside of the box, the inside of the cooler, and the box of five pens all felt cool to the touch, though, so I think everything is okay. I've been using the insulin since the PM cycle of May 12 and Champ's BGs have seemed no worse than they were prior to that. I do think he needs more insulin so we can start seeing more greens, but his first dental of his life will be tomorrow and I'm holding off on an increase until after that has been done.

Now, onto my questions.... I know there are certain medications that I'm supposed to make sure Champ never gets, but for the life of me I can't remember the name(s). If anyone can give me that info, I'd appreciate it. I know one med has a black box warning, but that's all I remember.

I was given instructions for Champ's food and insulin for the morning before the procedure. Since Champ has his morning meal divided into multiple meals, my vet said to feed him his first 1 oz of food with half his usual amount of insulin in the morning (7 a.m.), have him at his office between 8-9 a.m. , and the procedure would be performed around 10 a.m. He will be checking Champ's glucose before and after the procedure to make sure he's in a good range. Dental x-rays will be taken. If any extractions are performed, do I need to ask him to perform additional x-rays to check for fragments or is that something that's done automatically? Also, if no extractions are done, do I need to request any pain meds (or anything else) to take home with me? If extractions ARE done, what do I request for pain medication and/or antibiotics? The vet says Champ's teeth don't look bad at all and he doesn't anticipate any extractions, but he did say that you never know until x-rays and an anesthesized exam is done (which, of course, I already knew from the info on this board!!).

I've told the vet's office staff that I'm going to be staying while the procedure is done. My reason is because it takes about 20 minutes or so to get to their office. If something were to go wrong (GOD FORBID), I would never be able to get there in time to say goodbye to my best friend. So I'm staying. I'll bring a good book and some snacks (Weight Watcher's friendly!!) and just camp out.

If there's anything else I should ask the vet, please let me know. I want to make sure I do everything right so I can worry less!!!

I've got a busy, busy day at work today because I need to do tomorrow morning's work too. If I don't visit your condo today, I'll certainly have time when I'm sitting at the vet's tomorrow!!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 222, +3 245 - ??'s about dental tomorrow

Good to hear from you! :YMHUG: Best of all possible outcomes for champ's dental tomorrow.

The two drugs you do not want are Metacam and Convenia. Metacam (Meloxicam) is for pain and has the black box warning, it has caused sever kidney damage in cats. Convenia is a long acting antibiotic and is only labeled for skin problem, not dental! It is often used because of the ease of one shot as opposed to pilling, but some cats are allergic to it and it is impossible to stop it's effects unlike just ceasing to give the pills. Even if a cat has had it in the past they can develop a sensitivity to it. Here's a link to Dr. Lisa's page on it.

Even without extractions there can be pain, bupe seems to be a good choice. You can keep it on had in the fridge if not needed.

Have they already done blood work? I think that is usually done prior to anesthesia to make sure it is safe.

Sienne has a lot of good info on dentals. PM her if she doesn't pop in here today.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 222, +3 245 - ??'s about dental tomorrow

Hi Patty and Champers!! Long time no talk, sorry to hear Champ isn't his usual 'green' self. Hopefully his dental will solve that problem. When Leo had his dental I asked for pre and post op X-rays just to make sure everything was alright and there were no roots left. We also got 3 days worth of bupe, which I gave every 8 hours for the first day, after that it was every 12 hours. But then again Leo had 3 toothies pulled, maybe Champ will just need a cleaning.

I'll send you and Champ some good dental thoughts and check in with y'all tomorrow. Be brave Champ!!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 222, +3 245 - ??'s about dental tomorrow

Thanks for the good thoughts!!! I forgot to add that I took Champ into the vet's yesterday to get a full lab panel done before his dental tomorrow. I just got a call that his blood work all looks excellent and he is good to go for tomorrow. Of course, I'm going to ask for a copy of the blood work and I'll probably post all the results in a condo tomorrow so I can get feedback on it.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 222, +3 245 - ??'s about dental tomorrow

Ask if they can email it to you. Much easier to post and they don't have to printit out.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 222, +3 245 - ??'s about dental tomorrow

Good luck with the vetty visit Patty! I am sure Champ will be fine!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 222, +3 245 - ??'s about dental tomorrow

Bupe does not need to be refrigerated :-D If he has any extractions, I'd ask for Clindamycin AB.

Good luck with the dental...sending many great dental vetty vines. Please keep us posted.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 222, +3 245 - ??'s about dental tomorrow

No advice but big hugs for you and scritches for Champ that it all goes well!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 222, +3 245 - ??'s about dental tomorrow

Patty, sending good Vetty vines for Champ. Maggie had Bupe for pain for her extractions. We'll be watching for updates tomorrow. Give Champ some scritches from us.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 222, +3 245 - ??'s about dental tomorrow

You've got the info on meds -- no Metacam for pain or Convenia as an antibiotic. Clindamycin is also what my vet uses as an AB after a dental, if needed.

You absolutely want to get post-dental x-rays if extractions are done. It's the only way to know if there's a fragment left.

Personally, I'd either cut Champ's dose in half or skip the shot in the AM. Anesthesia lowers BG. I would hate for him to have to be on a dextrose drip because his numbers tank during the procedure. You might want to double check this with your vet.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 222, +3 245 - ??'s about dental tomorrow

Hi Sienne!! Thanks for stopping by. Yes, the vet did say 1 oz of food WITH HALF HIS NORMAL AMOUNT OF INSULIN. So he'll get just shy of 0.75u.
 
Hi there! We haven't met yet, but just wanted to stop by and wish you guys luck with Champ's dental tomorrow! Paws crossed for you guys that all goes well :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top