? 5/31 Celia (newbie): No shot since Mon. morn. bc low BG's, Why??

Angie & Celia (Cruz)

Member Since 2023
Hi. Can someone pls glance at my SS? Trying to figure out wth is going on & if I should take her to vet. Been waiting for BG to rise since Mon. morning (last shot) , but is still in the mid 100s (?). Is this bouncing or should I take her in to vet? And sorry, still have not had time to do spot tests or curves because when not work, I am suffering from a yet undiagnosed illness that causes such fatigue & pain that I am lucky if I can awaken hours after work to feed everyone again much less anything additional and until I get a day off work when I don't have to attend to something equally as critical such as major car repair, urgent med. appt., etc. But will be doing curve very soon bc vet wants them biwkly. Former curve available on her SS, but that didn't seem to assist last time at any rate, except that she was responding well to the insulin at that time. Thanks.
 
I’m sorry that you are not feeling well. We do need more tests to give an intelligent answer though. In the meantime I would just do what you are doing. If you were able to test to get nadirs my suggestion would be to shoot a lower preshot. I’m not comfortable suggesting that given her bg is not spiking. I don’t think it’s a bounce though. I think it’s possible her pancreas is sputtering. Feel better.
 
I’m sorry that you are not feeling well. We do need more tests to give an intelligent answer though. In the meantime I would just do what you are doing. If you were able to test to get nadirs my suggestion would be to shoot a lower preshot. I’m not comfortable suggesting that given her bg is not spiking. I don’t think it’s a bounce though. I think it’s possible her pancreas is sputtering. Feel better.
Thank you. Sorry, what do you mean by sputtering? I'm hoping to find out what's going on via the curve either tomorrow if I can get Leave approval or Sat. or Sun.
 
I think it might be working some and healing. He still needs insulin and two times a day would be ideal but at this time I would keep doing as you are. It would be good to get a curve after an injection rather than a skipped dose I think. But any data is good data. :bighug:
 
I think it might be working some and healing. He still needs insulin and two times a day would be ideal but at this time I would keep doing as you are. It would be good to get a curve after an injection rather than a skipped dose I think. But any data is good data. :bighug:
I've since done a curve. Would you mind checking it because she just went from Sunday 6/4 till 6/8 without insulin because was too low to shoot (or so i thought? @150-). And If I'm supposed to lower her shoot # on this SLGL, how am I supposed to know when or how much? Did I miss a memo here somewhere? Thanks
 
If you take a look at the dosing methods sticky, with SLGS doses are raised or lowered by 0.25u.

Celia's numbers look good but they are not in a normal range at the times you're testing. Like Elise noted, we need more data! Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle, not on the pre-shot numbers. She may be in lower numbers but so far, from the curve data you have, a dose reduction isn't warranted.

The instructions for SLGS are:
The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Generally, Celia is in the 90 - 149 range. That means you should be giving her insulin. While the dosing sticky indicated you don't shoot if numbers are lower than 150, that is generally what we tell someone who is very new to managing their cat's diabetes. In order for a cat to go into remission, you need to be seeing numbers that are in the normal range (50 - 120). That typically means you begin shooting when numbers are lower than 150. If you compare SLGS to TR, with TR you shoot pretty much any number over 50. I'm not suggesting you do that, but it's a comparison. You may want to look at other members spreadsheets to get a feel for how they are managing their cat's diabetes.

Anything you can do to get more tests in will be helpful!
 
Back
Top