icesnow
Member Since 2015
yesterdays post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-30-belle-amps-385-pmps-351-2-379.158675/
AMPS @ 11am, BG 381,
o.5u + food
AMPS @ 11am, BG 381,
o.5u + food
Sorry to confuse you. There are a few ways to find out if he's overdosed:
I, personally, think the first option is the best just in case he suddenly needs more insulin...it can happen. While I think the increases when he earned decreases has likely caused an overdose, I could be wrong and I'd hate to see him stay in high numbers if his insulin needs have suddenly changed.
- Leave the dose and test more to see if he's dropping low at night and then bouncing up; you'd have to grab some tests more towards midcycle for 3-4 consecutive nights in case he is bouncing for six cycles and clearing at night
- Reduce the dose slightly ....say to 0.25u; that way, he is still getting insulin but you'd also have to grab some nighttime tests
- Stop insulin and give him a solid six cycles in case he's bouncing off ally low numbers
Does that make more sense?
I know it is difficult for you to get any more night cycle tests, but I'm afraid if you raise the dose you'll be giving him too much insulin and he'll go too low at night. If that's true, he'll keep bouncing.
Here is what Marje suggested the other day.
That was just one option. You'll need to give him several cycles to see if it works. A higher dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles.yes, i hv reduced his PM shot back to 0.25 as U & @Marje and Gracie suggested.