5/30 - Shakespeare

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
Hi everyone
Well I messed up yesteday moring and gave a fur shot! damn!
so last night he was at 494PMPS
I am assuming that with Levemir, it is a lot worse when yuo give fur shots
His amps was 435 and his pmps tonight is 359.
so it appears that the 1 units is bringing him down....
I think maybe I should hold until tiomorrow and then assess and raise if he is still on the 300's
any input on that, or so you think I should raise tonight?
 
I decided to hold at one unit because yesterday when he was at 350 and I shot one unit
it was a fur shot so I am not realy sure what would have happened.
I will try to take a +5 or +6 tonight to see what he is doing
I also figure that the one unit took him from 494 last night to 359 tonight
that is a decent drop for one unit
 
It will help you if you make a note on his spreadsheet when you give a fur shot.

The insulin is working, but the fur shot is like starting over this early in switching to Levemir.

Please check for ketones. We have to stress when switching insulins that ketones be checked every other day at least. The incidents of ketones developing during an insulin switch is pretty high on the board. Since he was receiving a higher dose of previous insulin, that also puts him at higher risk for developing ketones. Make sure he is eating well and has plenty of water available, even mix it in his food if he will eat it that way.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top