5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199 +6/147 pmps 170 +3/242 +5/207

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

second shot at 9u, maintaining a spreadsheet of near-solid yellows for most of 18 days now.

the cats made me giggle at 6am, which is pretty rare. i opened the door to downstairs and they raced up the stairs, neck and neck, and shot through the doorway like little bullets. too funny - punkin moves like an old guy sometimes coming up those stairs, but not this morning.

lots of purring-cheering while making his bowl, no reaction at all from the shot. he was happy that anya left him quite a bit of food this morning! and now the bath has begun.

i never realized what a routine he had in the morning before i was commenting on it here.

Garbage/recycling/yard waste cans are at the curb - i'm back to bed. have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269

Morning!! love the speeding bullets up the stairs. Amazing how when the need is there they can really move. :lol: :lol:

Have a great one today - enjoy the holiday. :-D
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269

Hi Julie,
Just popping in to say "hi" since I've been away so much lately. Glad punkin's been surfing the yellows for so long. Love the race up the stairs this a.m. :lol:

I'm headed to my home town to decorate my mom and dad's graves. Have a nice day!
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269

That's too funny! So who won the race? I'm happy to hear that all is well in Punkin and Anya ville :-D :-D
I hope you have a great day as well. Talk with you when you get up and get moving.. ;-)
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269

julie1220 said:
when i look at the ss for other acro/iaa kitties and compare to punkin's they don't look the same (to my inexperienced eyes.) but, you can't deny that 9 units is a rather hefty dose.

One reason I asked is that acro cats' spreadsheets will often change dramatically like this, sometimes for no reason we can see. That happens because the output of growth hormone can wax and wane, and that makes the insulin needs change quickly too. Punkin was very well regulated on a lower dose, but now is flat and yellow and needing more insulin. If you spend some time studying Jazzy's spreadsheet, you'll find some similar patterns. Of course any cat can lose regulation for any reason (or no reason), so this does not mean anything really, but in Punkin's case it did make me wonder about the acro results.

Maybe you'll get them tomorrow, or maybe the lab was delayed for some reason. I know my results got back to my vet on a Friday, but she didn't return my call until Monday because she wanted to learn about acro first.
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269

I'm glad Punkin and Anya were playing friends this morning....WATCH OUT MOM!!!

Hang in there, Jules. You are doing wonderful and your patience makes me seem much less saintly over the run of flat yellows we had :lol: :lol: :lol: Isn't it weird how they can seem to feel so great at high numbers?

Have a super day. Hope you rest after yesterday!
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199

i feel like the queen of laziness. i slept until it was about +3.25 for punkin and then my inner clock woke me up. i never sleep in, so it feels kind of weird. we have a wild day of no plans today. my dad's birthday was last week so i put new flowers up for both him and my mom then, so don't think i'll go to the cemetery today. someone will have put a flag up for him for memorial day.

they tied coming up the stairs - not bad for a 13 yr old to keep up with a 2 yr old!

i wonder, too, libby. at first i didn't think he had any signs, but now that i'm on alert and noticing everything i keep thinking he might be. sometimes his breathing pattern seems a little labored, like his exhale is harder than normal. his forehead looks a little big to me - his tongue looks positively huge "the better to wash you with, my dear!" but everything is in comparison with anya and she's like a little sprite, reminds me of a tinkerbell type of cat. at 20 lbs, Felix was so much bigger than Punkin that it made punkin look small. so i don't know. the vet will call me as soon as they come in - he did his research on acro before the test. i sent him the links from here to look at.

ah, it's kitty wrestling time! everyone's ears are back, first anya jumped punkin, then there was 5 seconds of wrestling and anya ran off while punkin enjoyed, once again, being the victor. it's a quick match! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199

OMG! Punkin is in bluuuuuue!!! Hooray for your kitter and you too Julie!

I hope he goes down lower for you. Cute on the race up the stairs, and good for Punkin tying the race with a 2 year old!
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199

:lol: :lol: :lol:

i confess, i was thinking "hmm, it's been another hour, i could check him!" but i feel pretty confident he's not going to zoom anywhere dangerous too quickly so i'm going to wait. for at least a few more minutes! ;-)

you & marjorie with such zoomie kitties would have a good reason to check again!
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199

HE DID IT!!!!!!

you & marjorie with such zoomie kitties would have a good reason to check again!

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Yes we do. I'm not sure who has the record fast drop.....Gabby or Gracie....but it's close. I'm like Sienne in that there are some nights I absolutely MUST do a +.5 because she'll drop that fast from PMPS.
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199

Nice to see Punkin pulling some blues today. Have a great day with no plans. That type of day is a luxury in my book. :-D
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199

I can't believe my eyes!!!! Punkin is BLUE!!! How awesome is that? Keep it up Punkin!!!

Have a great Memorial Day!!! :-D
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199

Yay Punkin! Nice blue!!! He's looking good Julie, I am happy to see those blue numbers.

If you FEEL like the queen of laziness for sleeping in.. I MUST be the queen of laziness. It's really (honestly) really difficult for me to wake up before 9 or 10ish even if I go to bed really early.
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199 +6/147

hahaha stephanie, that's funny. my kids all sleep in - don't know how old you are, but my eldest is 24 and she still will sleep til 10 if she has a chance.

he's down to 147 at +6 - i'm glad to finally see some movement of his numbers, even if it did take a sledgehammer to do it! i'll probably check him again in another hour just for fun. for me, not for him! ;-)

yes, it does feel like a luxury to have nothing on the agenda - not even anything with our kids - and none of them are home, so that's even easier.

the sun finally peeked through and now it's up to 60 on the deck. don't even need to go water my plants, though, because there's been so much rain. i could pull out the quilt i was making at the coast and finish it. that'd probably make me feel like i'm less of a slug today!
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199 +6/147

Nice cycle for Punkin...I'm glad you're seeing some movement now!

Quilting sounds like the perfect thing to do on a day like today. Me, I've got about 2 weeks worth of laundry to fold. Who knew 2 people could produce that much in the way of dirty clothing???
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199 +6/147 +8/158

laundry and vacuuming are my 2 fav chores. they have such an immediate gratification - starts dirty, comes out clean. i love folding clean laundry, too - although i haven't done my kids' laundry since they were in middle school, if they have a load drying i usually fold them when they're done. it's just so satisfying!

i think i also like those chores because there's nothing to touch that's oogie. i HATE touching icky stuff - those chores take me a lot longer to get to. usually it takes company coming before i deal with that kind of stuff. :lol:

he's coasting along now. and the sun's still out so we're going on a hike out behind our place. it's an oak savanna on the side of the hill we live on - no idea how many acres, but it's a beautiful spot. one section is heavily fern-covered as well. that's the part we're headed to now.
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199 +6/147 +8/158

Very nice Punkin!

My favorite chore is cleaning the dishes to put them in the dishwasher... we have a really awful/old dishwasher so everything has to be pre-rinsed (which sorta defeats the point). I get all zen and kinda zone out on auto-pilot... it's really nice. I also don't mind cleaning the bathroom and sweeping/vacuuming.

I HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE putting things away-- especially laundry (but also dishes). Most of our stuff is hung up (this is something I've noticed is more of a west coast thing, I never did it growing up in NY) and I hate doing it!!! It takes me like 30 min to hang up a load of laundry the right way!! I leave the dryer empty and a thing of Downy Wrinkle Release around and tell my DH if it's too wrinkled to spray it and toss it in the dryer on the "freshen up" setting because chances of me putting away laundry when it's still "fresh" is slim to none.

When my DH and I split the chores (ie: in a hurry to clean cos someone is coming over) I do the "cleaning" type stuff (vacuuming, sweeping, mopping, dusting) and he does the putting away/organizing and "gross" chores that come up. I like it this way, even though my chores take longer. The only thing is, he never remembers where he puts things when he does ALL of the picking up by himself. I used to try to get him to do the dishes since I cook everyday, but it takes him awhile. I can do the same load of dishes in 25% of the time and make 10% of the mess. Since it takes him awhile he also puts it off too long for my liking which just makes me grumpy. We decided this will probably be a chore to delegate to a mini butler if we ever have one (child).
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199 +6/147 +8/158 pmps 170

i like putting things away, but my problem is i have stuff that has no spot to be away! that's probably my clue that there's too much stuff!

well, happy punkin is down to 170 at pmps - we're back in the game. i wonder if he's going to keep me up tonight or home tomorrrow . . . he's eating like no one has ever fed him before!

didn't get the quilting project out, but i still might after dinner. we'll see.
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199 +6/147 +8/158 pmps 170

All your talk of cleaning is making me tired. :lol: :lol:

And I couldn't resist this one.

funny-pictures-cat-is-in-laundry-basket.jpg
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199 +6/147 +8/158 pmps 170

:lol:

that reminds me there're jeans in the washer! we saw lots of poison oak on our little hike and i'm highly allergic, so the jeans went straight into the washer.

punkin says to thank you, carolyn! ;-)
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199 +6/147 +8/158 pmps 170

:lol: :lol: :lol: I second that photo.
Yeah for Punkin and Blue.. What a nice color for a handsome kitty..
I'm glad your hike went well, Yuck on the poison oak!!
Have a good night Julie :-D
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199 +6/147 +8/158 pmps 170

Hi Julie, Thanks for stopping by Maggie's condo. I'm just catching up on Punkin and what nice blues today. I don't know too much about acro kitties, but you're doing a great job and have some great advisors here, too. I love hearing about your two kitties playing together. I wish I could sleep in, but I bet I am up before all of you in the mornings, and I'm on the west coast. Have a good night.
 
Re: 5/30 punkin amps 269 +3/199 +6/147 +8/158 pmps 170

So glad Punkin has broken those yellows and is into blue!!!! SUPERB!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top