5/30 Gabby PMPS~248, +2~268, +4~184

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
Yesterday's Condo

Everyone in this household was up too late last night. Gabby had a run of great numbers and even after going btb for an hour this morning, I'm still tired. Gabby started her day with headbutting and bunny kicking a catnip lemon.
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223

Morning Sienne! Wow, I was up early, and I looked at Gaby's ss, and you had some pajama party. Did you start high carbing early on when you saw that she might go low to keep her from earning a dosecrease, or just making sure she's safe? I remember you saying this one time....about not earning too many dosecreases or something...not questioning it but trying to understand. Hope I'm making sense as I've been up too early! I hope Gabby gives you permission to get some rest today.
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220

Don't worry about questioning! I tested early (PM +0.5) and started adding carbs for two reasons. Gabby's PMPS was 100 points lower than her AM +9 (and she was stalking me every time I went to the kitchen between +9 and PMPS -- and giving me a "feed me now" look.) At PMPS, I assumed that this was a dropping number with momentum behind it. I wanted to test early and intervene early if I needed to since Gabby is prone to early plummets in her numbers.

The other reason is that I try to not let Gabby earn reductions. She hasn't always held reductions well so I do what I can to make it harder. If she rapidly drops into the 30s, it sets up a bounce -- something I'd like to see less of. I want her body to get used to lower numbers.
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220

What a pj party you guys had. Hope you manage to get lots of rest today.

Enjoy the holiday Monday
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220

Thanks for explaining Sienne. I see now why the early carbing at the PM +0.5 with such a drop of 100 points and then Gabby begging for more food, indicating she would even drop more! I can see why, too, you would need to make it harder for her to earn a reduction with the bounces and not holding the dose. Thanks again. And Ms. Gabby, no reading your condo. Have a nice, and hopefully restful day.
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220

Hope you're able to get some cat naps in at some point today. That was some night last night!

Just so I can learn, why did you decide to shave Gabby's dose a little this morning?
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220

Quite some time ago, Jill suggested that I work to prevent Gabby from dropping. The flip side of that approach is that if I'm having to work really hard to keep her numbers up, I give Gabby the decrease, which is usually shaving by a drop. Both last night and 5/28 were those kind of cycles. Ordinarily, because she's a long term diabetic, I would reduce if Gabby drops below 40. (She doesn't seem to do well with the "three times below 50" approach.) What I've been seeing is that if I'm working to keep her numbers up, it's a good indication that if I wasn't being diligent, she would drop below 40.

The caveat here is that I have tons of data on Gabby. I don't try to over interpret her numbers and I will reduce to make sure she's safe.
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220

Morning - and wow - quite the night last night. Managed well as always, you never cease to amaze me in understanding and reading Gabby, always on target. I love the +9 thru +11 tests, for the reasons you said. They really do give one a heads up on what to expect for the upcoming cycle. I hope that Gabby and her bean enjoyed the PJ party. :-D

Have a great day today - I hope your holiday is an enjoyable one.
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220

I just peeked at Gabby's ss.....looks very nice.
It is nice when you know your cat so well that you can almost predict what the cycle will be like.

Have a good day Sienne.
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220, +4~196

Good morning!!! I'm glad Gabby did so well and she feels perky today. I hope you can get a nap in.

Very interesting info on your condo today. I'm glad to see Gabby is quickly kicking the bounce and giving you some blue already! Her SS does look really nice. You've done a great job controlling her. Do you think her numbers last night being so low were due to her shed? Or do you think she was trying for a reduction on her new dose already?
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220, +4~196

I honestly don't know, Marje. I tend to think that after 3 cycles, her shed would have been at the previously lowered dose. Sometimes with Gabby it's just too hard to tell. My other concern is that I go back to work tomorrow. I may have erred on the side of safety.

On the other hand, Gabby's turned the corner back to blue this cycle. What I was thinking at AMPS was that if she was in the pinks, I would have shot the old dose and probably reduced tonight. As it was, given the low 200s, the start of the cycle was ambiguous and I don't like shooting through what might not be a bounce. I fully expected that Gabby's numbers would continue a gentle rise into the pinks. Instead, Gabby surprised me.
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220, +4~196

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

if this is now Gabby's "bounce," I'll take it! (anti-jinx).

Nice job last night.
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220, +4~196

I always enjoy a session at "Sienne and Gabby''s School of Diabetes Training"
You may be talking about your cat, Sienne, but ya never know what someone else is learning from your experiences.
Thanks for sharing with us.
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220, +4~196

Thanks, Sienne. Looks like you made a wise decision.....and you can see what she does the next few cycles. Congrats on the new reduction and I hope it holds. You've come a long way with her! Thanks for your thoughts on our condo,too!
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220, +4~196

Very interesting Sienne, I learned a few things this morning from Gabby's condo today, so thank you ;-)

Love it when the kitties bunny kick, it's so cute.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220, +4~196

Very interesting Sienne! I am glad I stopped in to check up--- I never stop learning from you! I often pull up Gabby's spreadsheet when hit with a moment of "What might Sienne do in this situation?" I hope the reduction holds.

Have a happy memorial day!
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220, +4~196

What Stephanie said!
I've got a dilemma now. I looked to see "what would Sienne do", when going away for days at a time. I know DPS shoots, but can't test. Difference is, gabby's dose can be lowered, for safey. Checkers' can't.
And yes Sienne, I know that your rules are specifically for Gabby. I gleen what pertains to Checks and me. :smile:
I will explain my current problem in Checks condo.
 
Re: 5/30 Gabby AMPS~223, +2~220, +4~196, +8~238

Very educational condo! At first, all of this was just so overwhelming...now, I can't get enough new info!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top