5/30 Dimi - AMPS 71, +7 70

Bobbi Kraham

Member Since 2022
Dimi had another great week in green. He is due for a reduction to .75 units tonight, but really need guidance on how to move forward given upcoming travel plans.

In 3 weeks, We will be out of town for a week. Dimi will have a new petsitter (which I'm so nervous about) who will be coming in twice/day to feed him and give him his shots. She will not be testing his blood glucose, and the Libres have been unreliable lately. Since she won't be testing, and I don't expect him to eat well while we are away, I was thinking that he should receive a lower (vacation) dose. My concern is that if he stays in green the next 3 weeks and I keep reducing, a vacation dose will be impossible.

I want to do whatever I can to avoid a hypo while we are away. Should I skip the reduction and continue on current dose of 1 unit for the next 3 weeks so the petsitter can give him a vacation dose of 0.5 units? I don't want her to have to eyeball an in between dose (i.e. 0.25 units), as I don't think people who aren't dealing with this regularly understand the precision required.

The other option would be to continue on our current trajectory (assuming greens continue) - reduce to 0.75 units tonight, 0.5 units in a week, 0.25 units in 2 weeks, and then no dose while we are away. Would it be crazy to have him off insulin entirely if his glucose isn't being tested? Would the stress of being on his own increase his blood glucose? If so, would we risk another DKA if he isn't receiving any insulin for a week?

Ugh, so stressful.


Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-29-dimi-amps-72-4-61-pmps-62.263908/#post-2956980
 
I think you need to continue following TR until about a week before you leave. At that point a vacation dose or no dose can be figured out. He could earn more reductions. There is a drop dose that is easy to measure but we are way too early fir a plan. You will only be away for a week so don’t stress about this now. I know easier said than done.
 
Three weeks is a long time away and a lot can happen to a dose between now and then. Take the reduction to 0.75 units tonight. Post about petsitter dose 2-3 days before you leave.
 
Ok, thanks to both of you for the reassurance. I'm a planner and a stresser, but will try not to think ahead.
 
Back
Top