5/30 Charlie AMPS 266

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
We increased Charlie's dose today to .15 units. It's unbelievable how much a fraction of an amount of insulin can impact. I can still hardly see the difference between .10 and .15 so my partner fills all the syringes so we have some consistency. A week without enough greens and blues so I think an increase is the right way to go. Do you agree?

Sienne: Your gut feeling on this one was right. I think you said the protocol when you're down in the low units is to let her crash 3 times before reducing? That's going to be hard on us parents over the next weeks, but I guess we can give that a try. I just hate imagining what she must feel like when she crashes and goes low (especially if we're at work and can't even help her).

Have a great Friday everyone. TGIF, seriously!

Jill
 
Good luck with the increase.

One of the methods of reductions for cats who fail reductions is to let them go between 40-50 on three separate days. This is not considered as allowing them to crash. But keep in mind it is more aggressive and we usually suggest caregivers take the dose down by .25u if they use this reduction.
 
5/30 Charlie AMPS 266, +10 72, PMPS 98

Marje,

How do you take a .15 unit dose down by .25?

Do you mean that once they get between 40-50 three consecutive times, that in this case I would then decrease to zero?

What if We are not home to cath her at 40?

P.S. She is doing well on the new dose. Will update her sheet later, but her numbers today were good. See subject line.

Jill
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top